We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht to your Saves list
Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nijverheidsweg 35, 6227 AL Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence 2014
copenhagen
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Really good hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

This is a hotel that I stay in often when I am in Maastricht. There are really a lot of good things to say. One when traveling from France to Holland up the route de soleil this hotel is one days drive from beaune in burgundy. This means that you can rest here after one days drive. The kitchen is open until 22.00 so it also means you can get food after you long drive. The hotel itself is comfortable and has all the things you might wish. I believe that all the rooms have now been newly refurbished and that makes for a modern touch. The staff are friendly and helpfull. There is a short distance to the citycenter but you can get taxi coupons at the front desk. In the weekends there is a free shuttle service to the city. Even though the breakfast was not included I think its a very good hotel. Stayed her 7 times and have not had one complaint.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    74
    131
    38
    9
    2
See reviews for
42
105
7
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

The rooms have recently had a makeover and look contemporary. Bed is very comfortable and the rooms are clean. A very pleasent and relaxed stay.
Breakfast is not included and really should be.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
Not centrally located (though ideal for the conference centre), but parking is free. bus and train to centre and takes 5 minutes.
If you want to experience Maastricht then there are more central hotels, but if you want to be away from the centre a surprisingly good choice.

Room Tip: the cheaper rooms are overlooing the motorway, though there is little problem with noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Stayed at the van der Valk for 2 nights. The hotel looks good and the rooms are spacious and clean. The location is not optimal though with some regularity buses to downtown depart. Breakfast was not included and in my opinion is that a service that the hotel must provide. The front desk was curt and breakfast cost about 14 euros, in my opinion too expensive. By the poor service I will not go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges, Belgium
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2012

We had a nice stay at this hotel for one night.
The hotel has a free parking and is only about 3 km from the city center.
Parking in the center of Maastricht is expensive, but there is a shuttle service from the hotel to the center what is very convenience.
The hotel is very well maintained and clean. There is carpet in the hallways and rooms .
The standard room is large enough with 2 separate beds pushed together. The beds are a little too soft to my liking but acceptable/
The view is a little disappointing but then we didn’t come to sit in our room looking out the window on the 5th floor. They are currently building new roads and the side we were staying at.
There was no mini bar in the room, there is a safe and large closet space.
Bathroom with shower and bathtub, very spacious bathroom and extremely clean.
Friendly house keeping staff and overall helpful .
Gym on the 3th floor,, nice bar at ground level were you can also have something to eat.
Did not eat at the restaurant but the breakfast was very good and plentiful.
Overall a pleasant stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

I was impressed by the cleanliness of the room. The bathroom was equipped with both rainshower & bathtub in our case. All furniture was brand new and the decoration very minimalistic and relaxing. Very comfortable bed. Although the hotel is situated near a highway, it is really, really quiet. The staff was ultra polite. The hotel provides free parking. Overall, an impressive hotel for that price we paid.

On the bad side: the hotel provides a bit expensive breakfast (it was 15 euros if I'm not mistaken) and the view of our room was not so nice. Also, this hotel is situated 5 minutes drive from the city center - in case you don't have a car you have to reach the city center with a taxi.

Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel and I would book again in case I visit Maastricht.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murcia, Spain
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

The Hotel is 10 minute driving from Maastricht City center, ideal if you arrive by air at Maastricht, Eindhoven or Dusseldorf (1 h). Rooms are good and wide, with all necessary for a confortable stay, mini bar was not available; a little gym is also present with fair equipments The very best things in my opinion are the breakfast (excellent!) and the restaurant (good menu, a little poor in wines...). I stayed for a training and facilities, coffee breaks and venue are very good.The worst: wifi internet is not free and rates are expensive, it is a pity for an Hotel with this category.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wassenaar, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

I was in Maastricht for one night as I was working in the city the next day and I chose the Van der Valk as it was one of the only hotels I could find that had free parking. It was very easy to get to and the staff at reception were really helpful and friendly. I was also very happy with my room - it was large and comfortable with a really good bed and a spacious bathroom with a shower and a bath. The breakfast was one of the best that I've ever had in a hotel in Holland with a great choice of breads, meats, eggs, fresh fruit salad etc.

I didn't use it but I was also told that there was a free shuttle service to the centre of town.

I would definitely stay in this hotel again if I have to go back to Maastricht on business.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht

Address: Nijverheidsweg 35, 6227 AL Maastricht, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 190
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.