We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Boutique Hotel in Good Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel de Pauwenhof

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel de Pauwenhof to your Saves list
Hotel de Pauwenhof
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   70, Boschstraat, Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Wexford
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Quaint Boutique Hotel in Good Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This boutique hotel is quaint due to the style of the building and interior. It is an old building with lots of character. The hotel and its facilities are kept to a high standard.

The bedrooms are very comfortable, characteristic, clean and warm. There is also an Nespresson machine in the bedrooms for coffee lovers! The rooms are not overly luxurious, which is reflected by their competive prices, however we we not left needing anything and fully satisfied.

The rates were competitive in comparison to other city centre hotels, that were not as nice. My friends stayed in a more central hotel by the train station which was far more expensive and the rooms were not nearly as nice or finished to as high a standard as Hotel de Pauwenhof. The hotel also offers limited private parking which is reasonably priced, advice booking in advance.

Breakfast offered a good range of food which was very fresh.

It is in a good location, within walking distance of all central and major landmarks. It is a 7-10 minute walk to Vrijthof Square.

Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Overall a lovely hotel in a good location offering good value.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    32
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
11
33
2
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

In my serach for a hotel in Maastrich, I found a lot of trendy options with reviews about noise, thin walls, etc. I choose Pauwenhof, and it was is good choice. The hotel is charming, the owner helpful, and the location amazing. And, we slept great, and only saw and heard other guests in the morning at breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room, at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, Ca
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I stayed here during a recent business trip and found it to be very much as described by others on TA. Nice, small boutique hotel, wifi and breakfast were included in my rate, but based on other reviews that seems to vary. Staff were helpful and friendly, some more than others knowing more about local tours/attractions. Location was excellent, close to old town, but also the bus stops which could take you elsewhere around town. Breakfast was a nice variety. I would definitely recommend the hotel to others.

Room Tip: If you can not manage flights of spiral stairs make sure to book a room on the ground floor, the lif...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grindleford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2012

For anyone wanting to spend a few days in this lovely city then this Bed & Breakfast hotel is a must. The hotel is so very homely and the management and staff cannot do enough to make the absolute best of your stay. The recomendations for restaurants as well as suggestions for things to do were second to none. The location is ideal, just off one of the squares. The only problem we had is on arrival, by car, in finding the hotel. We would definitely stay here again if for nothing else but the wonderful breakfasts.

Room Tip: The garden rooms are very nice indeed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

The hotel is right next to the Markt, about 15 min. walk from the central train station and only a few minutes walk to all the fun places Maastricht has to offer. It is very easy to find.

We planed on staying for 2 nights, but ended up adding an extra night :)
The staff was very friendly, the room was nice, the shower was amazing and the location was incredible. There is a Nespresso machine in the room, and although the bed wasn't the best, everything else was great. There is a mini bar in the room and a Jambo supermarket near by - very convenient. A map of the city was left in our room along with a magazine suggesting fun things to do in the city.

Unfortunately there was no free internet :(

The only thing you should know is that there is a city tax - Per Person Per Night. Perhaps it's in all the hotels (I don't know), but it wasn't fun to have extra 22.5 Euro extra on our bill... I know it's not much, but this amount made our bill almost 400 Euro for 3 nights... It was a bit expensive for us.
(If you are staying for one night - it's ok, but if you're traveling with a partner and staying for several nights, you should take this under consideration).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

A nice smaller hotel with character in the centre of Maastricht (all on walkable distance), garage nearby, which is out of the ordinary in the sense that it is cosy and not frequented by many tourists. Building is out of the 18th century with all its characteristics. Rooms therefore are larger then a usual hotel room with a high ceiling. All for a reasonable price.
The breakfast room is very nice and all is being offered for a luxury breakfast. That though comes for a price of EUR16 a person. The living room is cosy and invites guests to have a stay at 'home' but who would with a city as Maastricht is?
Bathrooms offer all one needs although these slowly are getting older (though no issues were found!).
Staff tries to comfort you and help wherever possible; ensuring a relaxed stay.
When I would need to make a remark it would be the noise level, meaning that neighbors can be heard! We enjoyed our stay and certainly will be back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

De Pauwenhof..... lives up to its description in the Portfolio guide. We were impressed by the comfortable, well-appointed rooms ; friendly and helpful staff ; and wholesome breakfast. A wonderful and nice place to stay which is very near to square.. Enjoyed our stay there

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel de Pauwenhof? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Pauwenhof

Address: 70, Boschstraat, Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Pauwenhof 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel de Pauwenhof reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Pauwenhof Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel de Pauwenhof, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.