We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hotel near Maastricht” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Randwyck

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Randwyck to your Saves list
Hotel Randwyck
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Endepolsdomein 30, 6229 EM Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 47 Maastricht B&B and Inns
Driehuis, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Clean hotel near Maastricht”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

The bed was very nice and soft (which I prefer personally). The double room is spacious enough. It looks like that the bathroom was renovated recently and looks really nice. They offer you a shower cap, razor blades and a toothbrush as well as toothpaste. All the rooms have different styles. Accessibility by car is not too good; the train station "Maastricht Randwyk" is less than 5 minutes walking and it takes three minutes from this station to Maastricht "Central" station. Wi-Fi is for free, but my iPhone couldn't connect to the network whereas my iPad could.

The bar has different kinds of drinks, varying from liquors, champagne or coke. We have seen British and Flemish guests during our stay.

The staff was not extremely friendly, but still kind and good knowledge of the surroundings and the facilities. Breakfast (Sunday between 7 and 10 AM) was sufficient. They offer prosecco and salmon, as well as fresh croissant and sugared waffles but they don't offer "basic" items such as scrambled eggs or bacon. Coffee is good, although the juices they offer are bottled and from which I know they are incredibly sugared artificially.

The surroundings of the hotel are not very nice. If you use this hotel just to spend the night in the neighborhood of Maastricht, this hotel is worth choosing. The hotel has got five stars, although I would personally give them only stars.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timnij
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Romford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

The bed bases could have been bigger to support mattress as matress overlapped bed base. The rest of the stay was very satisfactory, staff very courteous and helpfull could of not wished for a better hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Knocker S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Really nice hotel with and lovely staff. This Hotel is very near the Rhandwyck railway station. It has many 2 bedroom suites, with a refridgerator but unfortunately no cooking facilities, so not great if you want a place to cook. Not very close to the city centre (10 min by bus), but if your at a conference or visiting MU it is a perfect location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mdvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke
Level Contributor
82 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Saff were helpful and friendly. Good with directions and for taxis into town etc.

Good size room in a quiet part of town adjacent to the conference centre.

Has a bar and limited food options (nuts etc) although breakfast was quite good.

It is away from the town centre but can be walked easily and the second half of the walk is along side of the river. Pleasant 15 - 20 minute walk on a sunny day.

Would put as 3 star at a push but adequate for us as we were on a one night "stop over" on a motorcycle trip.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikie346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

I'll certainly never return here. Not only were things stolen from my room (from inside my bag!), but the front desk staff was incredibly unhelpful and EXTREMELY rude about it. I was promised that at least an email would be send to the manager (who could not be reached for such an unimportant problem such as theft inside the hotel), and that he would in turn send me an email, but to this date no email has reached me. I wouldn't recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marianamsbom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Maastricht hotels

Palo Alto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

I went to a conference there about a month ago. I chose this hotel because it was close to the train station (5 minutes walk to Maastricht Randwyck station), and it had free wifi. I made the reservation through an email. The staff responded with the confirmation promptly. I was happy about that. The staffs working at the front desk were nice and helpful. The room was big enough for one person. The breakfast cost 13 euro extra per day, but was good. There is no restaurant in the hotel. It is about 30 minutes walk or 10 minute bus ride to the middle of the town where you can find plenty of good restaurants. There is a fitness center on the ground floor. There are treadmill, bicycle and eliptical machines there.
Now the problems. I have the same experience as another reviewer about the bathroom, wifi and house keeping. However, the worst part was that I got bug bites in my room. Originally I thought I got mosquito bites, but after the third night I was convinced that they were from the bed. There were over 30 bug bites over my legs and arms. They looked like bed bug bites when I compared them to the images on the internet. I also found ink like stains (these are bed bug feces) on the sheet. I told the front desk, and I got changed to a different room. I did not get more bite, but the itch and rash lasted over 2 weeks.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trip4Mi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Bad surprise.

I went to Maastricht to attend a conference lasting a week. We had the choice between the NH hotel and the Ranwyck. Both were roughly at the same price, both were claimed to be 4*, and both had mixed review on Tripadvisor. There was free wifi at the Randwyck, hence my choice. That was an error. It is not a 4* hotel. It is a 2.5*.

The room was reasonably large, however the bathroom was tiny. There is only a small shower (of the type "hole in the floor"), with no separation from the rest of the bathroom, which therefore got drenched each time. There is a small sink, without any place where to put toiletry articles. I was forced to use the toilet, which fortunately is very close to the sink. There was a minibar with a couple of beers, coke and water, but it is not refilled, whatever the duration of the stay. Same thing for the tea and coffee. I had 2 teabags for the week. Room cleaning was erratic. The tea-cup were changed every other days. Some days the towels disappeared. Another day I got three sets.

There is no restaurant at the hotel and one has to go to the nearby NH hotel or further in-town. There is a very small bar, with a dozen of beverages. The breakfast was very good though and complete though. This is by far the best feature of the Randwyck. The wireless was free, but very weak in my room, probably because I was at the extremity of a corridor.

But mostly, the hotel is not up to the game. It is old and battered, and badly maintained. The lift is extremely slow. All the corridors reek of sweat. It looks like a student accommodation rather than an international hotel.

Compared to the nearby NH, with its modern bar, restaurant and spa, we are in a different universe.

Room Tip: Weak wifi at the extremities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lenov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.1 mi away
NH Maastricht
NH Maastricht
#9 of 39 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 761 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Maastricht
Novotel Maastricht
#11 of 39 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 663 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Beaumont
Hotel Beaumont
#3 of 39 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht
#17 of 39 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 472 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
1.1 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#5 of 39 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 1,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Randwyck? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Randwyck

Address: Endepolsdomein 30, 6229 EM Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 47 B&Bs / Inns in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Randwyck 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel Randwyck reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Randwyck Hotel Maastricht

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing