We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay...shame about the service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Maastricht

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added NH Maastricht to your Saves list
NH Maastricht
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Forum, 110 | Randwyck, 6229GV Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
€15 for your next stay
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good stay...shame about the service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

My granddaughter and her friend stayed here in July 2013. The hotel is a short walk from one of the train stations in Maastricht and is very modern and clean. However, it is quite a walk from the town centre. They both enjoyed their stay but at the end of the week when they paid their bill they were overcharged city taxes. The hotel billed them for four people instead of two. They realised when they got home and emailed the hotel who said that they would refund it to my grandaughters friends credit card. However they have still not received the refund and their most recent emails were ignored this is nine months later. Appalling customer service!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    229
    87
    18
    8
See reviews for
53
177
18
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Hotel was beautiful. Excellent quality service, rooms, and breakfast. Staff were among the friendliest I have ever met at a hotel. The only disappointment was the Wifi service. It is only "free" for a limited amount, and after that guests must pay to use it.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwich, Connecticut
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
109 hotel reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

I was here for a conference. It was one of those typical hotels that a city places far from the city center and for some reason groups continue to hold events. The hotel was very average. The rooms were clean and ikea-like. Biggest complaint is you had to either take the train to the city center or walk the 2 mile path to the city. I do not mind walking at all but when you are dealing with norther Europe's chilly May weather then it doesn't make for a pleasant walk. Bottom line--if you are here on business then you probably have no other choice so you stay there but if you are on vacation do not stay here. The central town is exquisite and to waste a stay out in the middle of nowhere would be a shame.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

A fine business hotel, should you have to be at MECC or, as I did, at the university. There is nothing fundamentally wrong about the place, everything is clean and the breakfast was very good. Several busses go to the city centre, though you can also walk there in about half an hour. Found the decor to be stuck in the 1990's and, as in many hotels, there were no sockets next or anywhere near the bed. Reception staff bit slow and not very communicative (had a reservation but had to give them all our personal details again). So no place to keep your smartphone or tablet close at hand. In summary, an OK hotel though nothing soecial (hence the average rating).

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Located right next door to the convention centre this hotel is perfectly situated if you are attending a conference. If however, like us, you are a family on vacation, it will also serve your needs well. It is on the outskirts of the city but there is a bus stop opposite the hotel with a number of buses passing regularly. If like us you preferred to drive you can drive into the centre of the City in 10 mins. There is parking at the hotel but it does cost €12 per 24 hours. The hotel bedrooms were very clean and spacious with excellent power showers. There are kettles in the room but no minibar or safes. Very comfortable beds and duvets. We all slept extremely well (we had two rooms). We paid €200 for two rooms, local bedroom tax, overnight parking and buffet breakfast which for Maastricht represented very good value. The buffet breakfast was very good and worth having if the room wih breakfast included price is reaonable. You can make your own eggs which was a first for us! The staff spoke excellent English and were very helpful. There is free wi-fi but it offers limited access (just suitable for google searching and email downloads). You can pay to have a bigger package if you want to watch movies or download big files. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2014

We like this hotel, modern, friendly and a very good breakfast. If you want to be in walking distance from the city it's not for you but it's either 5/10 mins bus ride, 1 stop on the train or less than EUR 10 in a taxi. Get a good deal including breakfast and the price is very reasonable indeed....

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Myself, partner and another couple travelled to Maastricht in December. Initially when looking up hotels we were surprised by how expensive hotels in the centre of Maastricht are. As we didn't intend on spending much time in the room we booked the NH Maastricht and were very happy with the huge saving we made by staying out of town! We arrived by car, checked in and travelled into the city by bus, there are multiple routes stopping outside the entrance and it took 15 minutes to get there but only about 5 mins coming back by taxi which cost 12 euro. The room was modern, purple decor, reminded me of a Premier Inn in the UK, looks like the rooms have been upgraded judging by previous photos on tripadvisor. We didn't eat in the hotel so can't comment but did enjoy a nightcap in the bar. One thing I will say is I don't recommend travelling to Maastricht for the christmas market alone, it's really small and not very good at all, we walked around it in 15 mins max but Maastricht is lovely and the bars and walks around the city itself is good enough reason to visit and the shopping streets are very nice. Both sides of the river are worth exploring, nice places everywhere. Make sure you try the Limburg Vlaii (traditional pie) when out and about! Having visited a number of dutch cities it's way up on the list and you can't go wrong with staying here even taking into account the bus and taxi fares.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Maastricht

Address: Forum, 110 | Randwyck, 6229GV Maastricht, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Maastricht
#5 Business Hotel in Maastricht
#6 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
#7 Family Hotel in Maastricht
#7 Romantic Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to the Maastricht Exhibition and Congress Center (MECC) and the Randwyck Railway Station, and directly outside the historical city center, the NH Maastricht provides a sophisticated gateway for business and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, NHHotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your NH Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Maastricht Hotel Maastricht
Nh Hotels Maastricht

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Maastricht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.