We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good business hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of NH Maastricht

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added NH Maastricht to your Saves list
NH Maastricht
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Forum, 110 | Randwyck, 6229GV Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5% EXTRA DISCOUNT
Ranked #10 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“good business hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

The hotel is located in a business district of Maastricht and in walking distance to the university hospital. If this is where you are heading, it's a good place. Although the hotel offers bicycle and scooter rentals, it is not optimally located if you mainly come to Maastricht as a tourist.
Public spaces and rooms are of contemporary design. My room and bathroom were of adequate size, clean and comfortable.
WiFi access was free in the lobby and moderately priced in the room.
Staff was very friendy and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    233
    88
    18
    8
See reviews for
54
178
19
131
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milano
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

Good hotel in a quiet part of Maastricht but with lack of free parking (there is a big parking at the entrance of the hotel but I don't know why you're not allowed to leave your car there). Rooms are clean and confortable and breakfast is very rich! Worst thing is the staff, really cold and not much interested in making you feel at ease. Anyway I recommend this place if you want to visit the beautiful Maastricht

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Coming to this hotel because we for once wanted to visit Maastricht was mainly because of the room price- we found a special offer that seemed an offer we couldn't refuse. I was pleasantly surprised. The staff seemed to be more personal and more in charge than elsewhere. They made me feel actually welcomed as a person instead of treated as a one of the many customers. They were at ease and so I was. Breakfast served is very good, with different tastes. All of the family enjoyed a long healthy and fullfilling breakfast.
The hotel is located just outside the city center, next to the (straight away ugly) MECC, the hospital and near the Bonnefanten Museum - which is BTW a good museum in a beautiful structure!
But you can reach the center fast enough by car or (rental) bike. Don't expect to park your car inside the city center though (unless you want to pay for the parking). Best is to park your car just outside the center at P+R spots rated per day instead of per hour. Maastricht is a joy to wander through walking!

Room Tip: A double bed usually means twin beds here. If you are very attached to your bedpartner and don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loppem, Bélgica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

Although located further away from city centre then aspected, quality hotel with great staff, very nice breakfast. Bike rental service is absolute plus !!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with NH Hoteles

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

I've stayed at ca. 20 different NH hotels in different countries and this is the worst of them...by far.
To begin with, wrong signalization of the parking (it says left but it's actually right) meant my late arrival just got lenghtier. The whole hotel saw much better times in general, it looks like no-one has invested a single cent in anything, walls are older with scratches, TV set still that big old box, etc. etc.
The main thing that disturbed me and on its own reason enough not to ever set a foot there again was the gym. You have to ask reception to open the gym if you arrive there before 8am, they kindly did that, without telling me that they charge for that, which I found out at check-out. It was even stranger as I had spent the night before in the NH Düsseldorf Nord... and they didnt charge me for that...anyway, nothing like the school of life to teach you :-)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Very rich breakfast, Parking is not free, free wi-fi only in the loby.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

Claire at the front desk should not be facing clients. She didn't help me with my currency exchange. She didn't know where my conference was. She didn't give me any tips in what to do in their city. I had a large euro bill which my bank in the States gave me. I had no way of breaking this since I could not even pay a cab. I was going to pay my hotel with this bill but Claire refused to break it. I needed to use a computer at the business center and she said I either pay with a smaller bill or not use the computer! She even said "Why didn't you bring your computer?!" Rude rude rude.

The hotel's restaurant had good food for the event we were at. The room was a decent size but for those who are going to European hotels for the first time, know that the beds are two tiny twins pushed together so there's a gap in the middle of the bed. If I were to go to Maastrich for pleasure, I wouldn't go to this hotel.

The fitness center is mediocre. The business center wifi was crawling and since you are paying by the minute, you end up wasting 5 minutes of your money before you can even get a browser to locate Google. It is frustrating if you forget your computer and have to use their old versions of everything - MS Office, IE, etc. The worst is that there is no English translation so if you don't speak Dutch, no one is around to help you since there are 2 computers with a printer stuck on a hallway to the gym. If you're in this city for business, don't go to this hotel. It is unfriendly to business people.

Room Tip: go to another hotel but if you must stay here, get a room facing the street so you have some view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antoine S, General Manager at NH Maastricht, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
At first we want to apologize for the experience you had in NH Maastricht and we are very sorry to hear about your complaint.

At NH Maastricht we try to do our utmost to make sure that the guests enjoy their stay and give the best service possible.

However in your case we were not able to change the note of 500,00 euro to pay with , just because nowadays as from a safety matter we do not have so much cash anymore in the cash register .

The fact that the receptionist asked whether you had brought your own computer was that the receptionist wanted to offer you then a free wifi voucher that you could have used in the lobby otherwise , and not to be rude

We will take your comment into account about the business corner and we will speed up the use of the programs on the computer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to NH Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Maastricht

Address: Forum, 110 | Randwyck, 6229GV Maastricht, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Maastricht
#5 Business Hotel in Maastricht
#6 Family Hotel in Maastricht
#7 Romantic Hotel in Maastricht
#8 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located next to the Maastricht Exhibition and Congress Center (MECC) and the Randwyck Railway Station, and directly outside the historical city center, the NH Maastricht provides a sophisticated gateway for business and culture. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, NHHotels, Despegar.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your NH Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Maastricht Hotel Maastricht
Nh Hotels Maastricht

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage NH Maastricht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.