We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine Boutique Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Botticelli

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Botticelli to your Saves list
Hotel Botticelli
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Papenstraat 11, 6211 LG Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 39 Hotels in Maastricht
Groningen
Level Contributor
168 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Fine Boutique Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The Botticelli is a fine boutique hotel in the very heart of Maastricht near the famous Vrijthof (city square). The hotel facade is unassuming; once inside you're in for a nice surprise. A beautiful courtyard garden, finely decorated public rooms, a well-appointed breakfast restaurant. There's an easily climbable grand stairway up to the bedrooms (no lift, though).
The bedrooms (ours was #7) are spacious and comfortable with everything you might need; A TV but also to our delight a good, modern radio. Spic-and-span sizable bathroom
Beds though not as comfortable as you might want though large enough. But with a soft sagging; terrible on one's back.
Absolutely superb breakfast!
Very welcoming staff; friendly and efficient.
Fine hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stoic1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Ireland
Level Contributor
177 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 630 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

I took my mum to Maastricht for a weekend recently. Had booked Hotel Botticelli due to its location and my initial instinct that it would be a nice place to stay.

The hotel is situated on a relatively quiet street directly behind the Vrijthof. No on-site parking, but parking available at the 24 hour carpark under the Vrijthof. I was surprised to find that they didnt have an agreement with the carpark to offer a reduced overnight rate as quite frequently happens with hotels with no parking. €24 for 24 hour parking could be classed as relatively cheap for an overnight park city centre, but the €24's would quickly mount up if staying longer than a night or two. This trip wasn't about budget - it was about giving my mum a special treat for her 75th birthday, she enjoyed herself and that's the main thing.

My initial email interactions with Hotel Botticelli were efficient, warm and engaging, and I was particularly impressed when they easily facilitated my sister as an addition to our booking. Of course we paid a surcharge - but again, it wasn't about the money.

On arrival, our reception was cold, unwelcoming and not a pleasant experience whatsoever. It would appear we were imposing on the Reception lady and inconveniencing her somewhat with our earlier than check-in arrival. We had arrived around 1pm as I was anxious to get city-centre before road closures due to the concert taking place on the Virjthof that evening. She facilitated us by taking our luggage, but no interactions whatsoever. Formal, cold and functional. It was refreshing that the gentleman who engaged with us when we returned later in the day was in stark contrast to his colleague.

Our room was a delight on the first floor. Lots of space for the three of us, with the additional bed an extremely comfortable bed settee. That and the king sized bed ensured that the three of us had 2 good nights sleep. Bathroom had the ususal amenities and it fulfilled our needs adequately - however extra toiletries to cater for 3 people rather than 2 would have been welcomed. Fortunately we had some of our own and didn't need to request more. Everything spotlessly clean and in keeping with a quality establishment.

Breakfast on both mornings was taken in the beautiful Courtyard. A continental type fare with freshly brewed coffee and teas. I got the impression though that it was one pot only and there was no offer of more to either ourselves or adjoining tables. Was it worth €16 per person? On this occasion yes as it was handy for my mum and easier than having to find somewhere in the vicinity. Good quality meats, cheese, pastries and breads, but not worth the price for the three of us. There are lots of options in the vicinity for a cheaper breakfast.

We didn't have much engagement with staff as we were on a whistlestop trip and out and about most of the time. However, I can't but feel that our welcome left a slightly sour taste in my mouth. Based on the interactions and the efficient replies to my queries before our stay, I had taken a gift from Ireland for the staff. However, I kept them (and we ate them ourselves) due to the impersonal welcome we received.

I struggled as to whether to give Hotel Botticelli an Average or Very Good score. It got what it did because, as mentioned earlier - this trip was all about my mum. She enjoyed herself and is still talking about her trip. That in itself merits a "very good" score as Hotel Botticelli was an integral part of our trip.

The three of us really enjoyed Maastricht. In all honesty we enjoyed Hotel Botticelli too. I plan to return to the city with my husband in the future and would consider staying there again - but will be checking out other options as well.

However, should I decide to return for a second stay, I'll know not to expect a warm welcome, but will enjoy the luxurious surroundings in wonderful city.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank LittlePumpkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I have just stayed at The Hotel Botticelli and I cannot praise it enough. It is centrally located alongside the Vrijthof Square, and provides a beautiful base from which to explore a captivating city. The staff are friendly & helpful, the public rooms beautifully decorated and also features a stunning garden terrace. The two rooms used by my party were well appointed, charmingly decorated and very clean. Breakfast each morning offers a wide choice and is well stocked. I cannot praise this hotel enough, and I will return.

Room Tip: Room 10 is a duplex, so be prepared for stairs to the bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StuartMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alderley Edge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Location superb, some of the staff unhelpful, unfriendly and quite arrogant. Room no. 10 unsuitable for unfit over 60-year olds, in fact it is quite dangerous. I felt the hotel should take the trouble to inquire about ages before allocating the room. There is a very pleasant garden for those rare sunny days in June!

Room Tip: Room no. 10 has a steep flight of stairs to the bathroom, not suitable for unfit over 60's!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fmhamil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daylesford, Australia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed 6 nights during the coldest May on record. The hotel is centrally located in the old town, one street back from main square, many quaint streets, great shopping, bars & restaurants within 5 minute walk - we loved Cafe Madrid. We stayed in room 4, junior suite overlooking the courtyard - a great room, good free wifi, good heating & bathroom. Hosts Marlou Charles & Jana were great, including excellent breakfasts, early if required. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 4 is great. Laundry off site - a 5 minute walk, 10 euro, washed but not ironed - fine with me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copley, Ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Room was quaint, super clean with beautiful view of patio courtyard. Staff was extremely helpful and attentive. Location so close to the square, market and shopping. Could not have been more pleased...this coming from the ultimate hotel snob!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kott_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

If you can afford, book the honeymoon suite. Beautiful classic room with a large king bed, fireplace, sofa's and a nice huge bathroom. However a honeymoon suite needs al least a jacuzzi but bath was oke. You will get the best room overlooking a small inner Italian courtyard. Breakfast room is really cosy. Breakfast is sufficient but it could be better. Hotel itself is situated at the center of Maastricht. No parking or valet service. Other service was excellent.
Botticelli, we loved it.

Restaurant "Wijnrestaurant mes amis" also a tripadvisor winner, is just on the corner.

Room Tip: Honeymoon room, do it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kuprasm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel les Charmes
Hotel les Charmes
#11 of 39 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 75 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Pauwenhof
Hotel de Pauwenhof
#19 of 39 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
0.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel Grote Gracht
Boutique Hotel Grote Gracht
#22 of 39 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel St. Martenslane
Hotel St. Martenslane
#17 of 39 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 212 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Au Quartier
Hotel Au Quartier
#27 of 39 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 36 reviews
0.7 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#6 of 39 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Botticelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Botticelli

Address: Papenstraat 11, 6211 LG Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 39 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Botticelli 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Botticelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botticelli Hotel Maastricht

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing