We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Botticelli

Save Saved
You added Hotel Botticelli to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Botticelli
Papenstraat 11, 6211 LG Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 38 hotels in Maastricht
Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“An excellent experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

This charming hotel is centrally located, there is parking nearby and the service was just as hoped for, excellent. From checking-in, to asking about where to eat, through to the breakfast the next morning, the reception was always friendly, helpful and professional.
Our room was huge, with a great bathroom. It felt like a suite and the bed was very comfortable.

I recommend this hotel and would return.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    19
    10
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
20
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2012 via mobile

Hotel is situated perfectly in the centre of Maastricht. The staff was very friendly and professional. When the weather is nice you can have breakfast / drinks outside on the terrace and it feels like being in the country side in Italy. An true oasis in the heart of a big city!
Breakfast is very good and with the welcoming staff in a relaxed environment is a perfect start of the day. Standard rooms are good and clean. We will definitely be back! Thank you for the nice stay.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waalre, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

We booked our room on-site approximately 3 months ago, when we visited Maastricht on another occasion. We asked for a spacious and quiet room. Reservation was made for Room #18, in a building away from the street overlooking a charming patio. Confirmation by e-mail was received. When we arrived for our stay at Botticelli, the person doing check-in took us 3 stairs up to room #7. It appeared that no notice had been taken to put the correct room reservation into the system. Fortunately room 18 was still available, so we were allowed to change (be it with some muttering of the check-in person). We felt overall hospitality was a bit "flat", a somewhat warmer welcome at arrival and goodbye at departure are easily done. During our one-day stay we rarely noticed any staff around.
Room #18 is a proper size room (in floor space dimensions), taking into account that space is confined in this old townhouse building. Room standing height may however be somewhat challenging to those with claustrofobia: the room is only about 2 meters high. We were notified about this prior to reservation, so it didn't really bother us. Disadvantage is however that the shower doesn't offer room to stand upright (unless you are no taller than 1.70 meters). Getting to the room requires mastering a narrow and steep staircase to the first floor, especially when carrying luggage that poses a challenge too.
Buffet breakfast is good, offering a decent selection, but it's price holds a bigger promise. It took a few minutes before we were noticed and were asked about coffee or tea. We don't know if any hot breakfast is served, it wasn't offered.
Botticelli's true value is its location in the middle of downtown Maastricht, right next to the Vrijthof square. You probably won't find anything better than this. Parking is conveniently close by in the underground carpark under the Vrijthof, but beware it quickly runs out of available space on weekends and festive days.
Overall: Botticelli is a good hotel with an excellent location, but not entirely living up to its promise.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

I was in Maastricht for one night, arriving at noon; the hotel is small but very friendly.
We reserved a suite, which was the correct room size for us (not to compare with a suite in standard hotels chains..); very good and fresh breakfast, nice and friendly staff, small garden in the back of the hotel (courtyard) which must be a must in summer.
Location is excellent, public parkings in the vicinity

Room Tip: Check with the hotel for parking facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed here for the Andre Rieu Concert
Perfect spot two minutes from Vrijthof
Room and Hotel absolutely spotless
Room plenty big enough for two
Very Quiet
Take your favourite DVD's with you to watch when in your room
Only discovered English News Channel on last day
Staff very friendly
Shame we were in an attic room and the window was too high for any view
If you are not very agile the stairs may be a problem as there is no lift but most of the older Hotels in Maastricht are the same.
I would stay again
Nothing to do with Hotel but please note shops shut on Sundays

Room Tip: Ask for a room on lower floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vlaardingen, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

We've stayed here for 1 night. it is a nice old looking hotel at a perfect location in the centre of maastricht. the street it's on is surprising quiet. We didn't have breakfast at the hotel. But we passed it wen leaving and it looked good. If we go back to Maastricht we will book again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
overijse
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2011

An unexpected stay in lovely maastricht. A city to love. Botticelli Hotel advised by
friendly Famouse Restaurant. Near het Vrijthof, the centre of Maastricht.
Charming hotel, but the "honeymoonsuite" is a simple junior suite for the price of 250 eurosI It was the last roomand a did get a price of 150. The room is really not special, apart from the bed with curtains..
No bathgown, no romantic lightning, not a room nor bathroom for a honeymoon!
Breakfast oké, nothing special. Too expensive for the room, but the location is fantastic. Must be lovely in summertime.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Botticelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Botticelli

Address: Papenstraat 11, 6211 LG Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 38 hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL and HotelsClick so you can book your Hotel Botticelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botticelli Hotel Maastricht

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Botticelli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.