We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stop and eat” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Colombe

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Colombe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel La Colombe
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Markt 30, Maastricht 6211 CK, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 37 hotels in Maastricht
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Good place to stop and eat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

Firstly to state that I did not stay at this hotel, I just used the restaurant downstairs. Food was in substantial portions and contained more than the menu suggested. However beware if dining as a group as it seems their till system can't split a bill onto multiple credit cards.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    11
    6
    8
    5
See reviews for
5
14
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I stayed in this wonderful accommodation a few months ago and it was a fabulous experience. Everything was beyond my expectations - the food, the rooms, the building, services of staff, etc. No issues regarding cleanliness or location. The property is well maintained and beautiful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

Location is top, but very noisy. A disco on the opposite side of the street with noise till 4am and street cleaners starting at 8am. The hotelrooms are small, and so is the bathroom. Breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

As a family we found this hotel very comfortable, the central location was a great thing for us. The room was clean, the mattresses on the beds, were of very good quality, therefore enabling a good nights sleep after our Andre Reiu concert. It made our visit to Maastricht very pleasant. The breakfast was excellent, and varied. We would certainly stay there again. No negative comments whatsoever. Good value for money !!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Lovely little room, nothing fancy, absolutely brilliant view of the square, right in the centre is a brilliant location, lots of pubs and clubs

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

I was reading some of the other reviews for this hotel and as usual they are all over the map from great to terrible....I am going to tell you the TRUTH. I go to Maastricht every April to attend a Papermoney show in the nearby village of Valkenburg (12 minutes away on the train) and I have stayed at the Hotel LaColombe on 5 seperate occasions between 2006 and 2011 (one year they were sold out). Since April is still the low season, the prices are not too high and I paid 63 euros per night every time I was there for a single room. My reservations were always made in advance (by mail) and my rate never changed from year to year. This is a VERY GOOD price for what you are getting in this city. Maastricht can be very expensive and it is easy to pay 180-200 euros per night. Sure, the other hotel may be a little nicer, but is it that much better for the extra money? I don't think so! I believe this hotel only has 22 or 23 rooms and I have never got the same room. I have been there 5 times and on only one occasion did I actually get a single all of the other years I was upgraded. All of the rooms are shaped differently depending on how high up you go and you do have to walk up some rather steep stairs and there is no elevator. The hotel and furnishings are kind of old but I found all of the rooms to be comfortable. I think the particular room you get depends more on WHEN you arrive than any other factor. The rooms are clean and what else do you want? The hotel is over a restaurant/bar that they own and has a fun atmosphere and the food is good. There are tables outside and they will serve you outside or in the bar area. There is a continental breakfast that is free and excellent!! When you arrive at the hotel you check in at the bar as there is no front desk. The hotel is in a great spot in the city itself being right on the market square. It is approximately 1km from the train station (right acrossed the Maas river) and there are buses and taxis and things are really close enough that you can just walk places. There is lots of shopping, grocery store, post office, lots of places to eat and drink right outside the door of the hotel. There is a traveling market (like most European cities have) that sets up twice a week on Tuesdays and Fridays. On a scale of 1-5 I would give this place a definite 4.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel La Colombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Colombe

Address: Markt 30, Maastricht 6211 CK, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 37 hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Colombe 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelsNL so you can book your Hotel La Colombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Colombe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.