We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and Pleasant.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Colombe

Save Saved
You added Hotel La Colombe to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel La Colombe
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Markt 30, 6211 CK Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 38 hotels in Maastricht
Hastings, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable and Pleasant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

As a family we found this hotel very comfortable, the central location was a great thing for us. The room was clean, the mattresses on the beds, were of very good quality, therefore enabling a good nights sleep after our Andre Reiu concert. It made our visit to Maastricht very pleasant. The breakfast was excellent, and varied. We would certainly stay there again. No negative comments whatsoever. Good value for money !!!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    3
    11
    8
    8
    6
See reviews for
5
17
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

Lovely little room, nothing fancy, absolutely brilliant view of the square, right in the centre is a brilliant location, lots of pubs and clubs

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

I was reading some of the other reviews for this hotel and as usual they are all over the map from great to terrible....I am going to tell you the TRUTH. I go to Maastricht every April to attend a Papermoney show in the nearby village of Valkenburg (12 minutes away on the train) and I have stayed at the Hotel LaColombe on 5 seperate occasions between 2006 and 2011 (one year they were sold out). Since April is still the low season, the prices are not too high and I paid 63 euros per night every time I was there for a single room. My reservations were always made in advance (by mail) and my rate never changed from year to year. This is a VERY GOOD price for what you are getting in this city. Maastricht can be very expensive and it is easy to pay 180-200 euros per night. Sure, the other hotel may be a little nicer, but is it that much better for the extra money? I don't think so! I believe this hotel only has 22 or 23 rooms and I have never got the same room. I have been there 5 times and on only one occasion did I actually get a single all of the other years I was upgraded. All of the rooms are shaped differently depending on how high up you go and you do have to walk up some rather steep stairs and there is no elevator. The hotel and furnishings are kind of old but I found all of the rooms to be comfortable. I think the particular room you get depends more on WHEN you arrive than any other factor. The rooms are clean and what else do you want? The hotel is over a restaurant/bar that they own and has a fun atmosphere and the food is good. There are tables outside and they will serve you outside or in the bar area. There is a continental breakfast that is free and excellent!! When you arrive at the hotel you check in at the bar as there is no front desk. The hotel is in a great spot in the city itself being right on the market square. It is approximately 1km from the train station (right acrossed the Maas river) and there are buses and taxis and things are really close enough that you can just walk places. There is lots of shopping, grocery store, post office, lots of places to eat and drink right outside the door of the hotel. There is a traveling market (like most European cities have) that sets up twice a week on Tuesdays and Fridays. On a scale of 1-5 I would give this place a definite 4.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

I can now understand why payment was demanded upfront. Had we seen the room first we would have walked out on the spot. We stayed only one night and are thankful for that.
The room was dirty, smelly with torn curtains, noisy. Beds are a joke. The first thing we did arriving in Delft the next day and booking in at the Hotel de Plataan (a very nice and comfortable hotel, a godsend after the Hotel La Colombe) was have a shower. Steep narrow and very dark stairs to the second floor. Shearing quarters in the Australian outback are of a much higher standard. The person booking us in over the bar was pleasant, but for whatever reason highly critical of Andre Rieu. Service was no service. The place is a disgrace to the hotel industry.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

The manager and staff made us feel at home. Our room was comfortable and clean with a good all round view of the square.. We had an en-suite bathroom. breakfast was fine, with a choice of meats, cheese, boiled egg, cereal, a choice of bread rolls, a choice of coffee and of teas.

We were here to see Andre Rieu. La Colombe is just a few minutes walk from the concert. It was particularly nice to return about 12.30 am to find the hotel still open so that we could unwind with a nightcap before retiring to bed. Staff were keen to know how we had enjoyed the concert.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

We booked this hotel trough Booking.com. It was 80 euros pwer room per night. We booked for 2 rooms. when we arrived there, they asked us to pay in advance, kept our booking papers and charged 84 euros to our friend room. Our room was as wide as 2 single beds wirth a small bedside table in between, with the afternoon sun shining in one of the beds, and no mother place in the room to stay. The bathroom was smelly, and you could sit on the toilet, shower and brush your teeth all at the same time. It was also on the second floor with no lift, you had to carry trhe luggage up the steep and narrow stairs. After leaving the room we found another hotel and enquiried about 2 nights sstay. We then decided to write off the 160 euros payed to La Colombe and moved to the other hotel, much better and just slightly more expensive.

Room Tip: stay away from this hotel....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

The location of this hotel is very central, but I would not recommend this hotel because it is so noisy. You can hear other guests talk and move in their room. Also the rooms are very basic and small. We experienced the service and friendliness of the staff as poor.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel La Colombe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Colombe

Address: Markt 30, 6211 CK Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 38 hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel La Colombe 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Hotel La Colombe reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Colombe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.