We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hungry in Holland” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bastion Deluxe Hotel Maastricht / Centrum

Save Saved
You added Bastion Deluxe Hotel Maastricht / Centrum to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bastion Deluxe Hotel Maastricht / Centrum
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boschstraat 27, 6211 AS Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 38 hotels in Maastricht
Chester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hungry in Holland”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Having stayed several times in the past, due to its convenient location, the somewhat tired standard of the rooms was not something new and to be fair, for the price, the hotel provides reasonable value for money by Maasticht standards. Limited facilities but adequate for short stay and staff are friendly. A disappointment this time though were the confusing signals in the restaurant where it went from feast to famine with the first night overwhelming portion sizes and the next night having to walk out after waiting for such a long time without any attention/service at all. Fortunately the Markt square, with its abundance of good eating places, was only a few minutes away.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Maastricht / Centrum, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. Such comments supports me and my colleagues to provide our guests a good service. The Bastion Hotel Groep strives to always meet and exceed the expectations of our guest.

I hope to meet you again in one of the hotels from the Bastion Hotel Groep.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    43
    64
    21
    10
See reviews for
16
47
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I will be very specific in my review just to make it very objective.
Starting from expectations I have to mention that when you book into a 4* property you expect certain room size and quality as well as amenities such bar, restaurant, gym etc.

When for a single room or double room you get a room with 4 permanent beds you realize this is not 4* property.
Bathroom is tiny with terrible shower gel and soap not to mention the broken toilet seat. The towels were that kind with plastic that don't dry out the water on you!

The entrance lobby is bar, restaurant and breakfast area and therefore before getting out of the hotel you get the "nice" kitchen scent of fried food, that is if don't go near the smoker's lounge and get the combined kitchen-cigarette scent!
The gym, forget it! One treadmill, cross trainer and bicycle and steam bath in the attic in a very tight area! Not to mention that they looked run down !
So, it's a NO WAY !
They were trying to explain me that this is a city hotel and therefore 4* is different. REALLY?

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Maastricht / Centrum, responded to this review, October 8, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our employees in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you can accept my apologies.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
redditch
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We had a 2night stay here last weekend. We enjoyed the proximity to the Markt square,just a 3/4 minute walk.The room was clean and modern with a new bathroom,there is a nice bar where you could get a late drink,and staff were friendly.We didn't eat in the hotel,we thought the breakfast was slightly expensive with plenty of cafes nearby.A minor issue was an apparent reluctance to stock the tea and coffee tray in the room with more than one milk or sugar sachet per guest.We will certainly use this hotel again on a future visit to this attractive city.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front a little noisy due to smokers by the front door and noisy pedestrians late at nig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Maastricht / Centrum, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for the positive comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. Such comments supports me and my colleagues to provide our guests a good service. The Bastion Hotel Groep strives to always meet and exceed the expectations of our guest.

I hope to meet you again in one of the hotels from the Bastion Hotel Groep.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

There is nothing "deluxe" about this hotel. The reception area is friendly enough, but the room we got had seen its good days ages ago. Charges for use of the parking facility, which I suppose is fair enough. It does, however, also charge €15 per person (and child) for breakfast, which is such a negative bore - especially when the price already is rather high compared to quality. Location is good, though, even though other hotels are even closer to the city centre. You might want to consider one of those instead of this one.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Maastricht / Centrum, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am very sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our employees in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you can accept my apologies.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Hotel is located adjacent to the bassin area, a redeveloped small "marina" with moorings for boats and quayside cafes and restaurants. It is a 3 minute walk upto the Markt square and a further 5 minutes to the Vrijthof for a wonderful selection of open air restaurants and cafes.
Room was usual business standard, functional rather than design oriented. Air conditioning was excellent and worked perfectly and relatively quietly. I have worked in NL for 2 years now and 2 single beds pushed together is the norm in Dutch hotels when rooms are described as double so no need to get excited about that! I agree that toiletries were budget and there was no hand lotion as is usually available. Free wifi was efficient and useful and parking just around the corner was in underground car park costing €15 per day (relatively cheap for Maastricht). You need to pull up outside the hotel in the 2 bays reserved for dropping off and obtain an access ticket from reception, the car park is first left turn and 50 metres on right behind roller shutter doors. There is only one lift which should be updated it seemed quite slow.
Due to this I was happy to have a room on 1st floor and use the stairs except when checking in and out with luggage.I am surprised to hear complaints about the staff, the 2 blonde ladies on reception were friendly and helpful to me on many occasions and the barman was more than adequate. If the reception is left unattended as others have written I can only assume that was in the quieter periods as during my time it was always staffed with 2 people. I did not eat in restaurant as their are many available with outside seating in the town centre. The only thing I did not like was the smoking room adjacent to the bar which contained a pool table and as the name suggests smelt of smoking but it was behind a sliding door so not an issue normally just if you wanted to play pool. Overall an adequate hotel that was good value for what I paid.
I think some of the native English speakers are reading too much into the "Deluxe" in the hotel name, it is a relatively standard 3/4 star hotel not deluxe or 5 star.

Room Tip: I would not take a room on the higher floors as you can wait a long time for the lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Maastricht / Centrum, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again in one of our hotels.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Maastricht is small and can be easily walked or cycled, but this hotel is close to the river, the town square and charming cobblestone sidestreets that lead to it that are dotted with boutiques, restaurants, cafes and the Basilica. The rooms are spacious but completely basic. The toiletries offered are limited to tiny tubes of hand soap and bath gel so bring your own. Breakfast was excellent but I did not spend time at the hotel otherwise. The reception is manned by the same person who might be simultaneously replacing coffee or making omelettes at the breakfast bar so be patient, the staff is friendly but multitasking. Munch on the great mints in a bowl at the front desk while you wait...
I was given a ground floor room which I would change if I were to come again because I did not like keeping the curtains drawn all the time I was in, also, it can get a little rowdy outside on Saturday nights.
I would come back to this hotel and Maastricht though.

Room Tip: Do not select ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Maastricht / Centrum, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again in one of our hotels.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Merits a 2 star, dirty, shabby hotel with unfriendly staff. Rooms dirty, reception area had dirty dishes. We had booked 3 nights and immediatley asked for a refund which they refused. No refund - total scam! We booked into a hotel a block away for the same rate but far superior!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Maastricht / Centrum, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies ,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bastion Deluxe Hotel Maastricht / Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Deluxe Hotel Maastricht / Centrum

Address: Boschstraat 27, 6211 AS Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bastion Deluxe Hotel Maastricht / Centrum 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bastion Hotel Groep stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive rate. The Bastion Deluxe Hotel Maastricht/Centrum offers a 24 hour front office, comfortable rooms and an extensive choice of dishes from the a la carte menu in the atmospheric restaurant. Guests are always welcome in the cozy hotel bar or smoking lounge. This lounge contains an LCD television, air-conditioning and relaxing lounge chairs. The hotel also offers wellness facilities, which guests can use for free, air-conditioning and free wireless internet in the entire hotel. In the lobby the hotel has a computer available, for guests, for free use of the internet. Domestic animals are not allowed. Location / accessibility Bastion Deluxe Hotel Maastricht/Centrum is located in the centre of Maastricht. Maastricht knows twenty ages of history, that are still visible in the town centre. The churches, treasure rooms and houses show a rich history, together with the city walls and the tunnels. From the hotel cities like Liege and Aachen are well accessible. Rooms The hotel has 115 comfortable deluxe rooms, 4 family rooms and 4 suites. The deluxe rooms are equipped with a television, a modem, a bureau, a safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with bath, toilet and hairdryer. The family rooms have the same facilities as the deluxe rooms, but there are 4 individual beds. The suites are more spacious and are extra fitted with 2 separate beds and a sleeping sofa. Food & Beverage The hotel serves breakfast on weekdays from 06:00 to 09:00 and in weekends from 07:00 to 10:30. The hotel has an attractive restaurant with an extensive a la carte menu. The restaurant is open from 11:00 until 23:00 for lunch and dinner. The hotel bar is open until 23.30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Bastion Deluxe Hotel Maastricht / Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastion Deluxe Hotel Maastricht Centrum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bastion Deluxe Hotel Maastricht / Centrum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.