We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Efficient, no-frills and very well-located” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bastion Hotel Maastricht Centrum

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Bastion Hotel Maastricht Centrum to your Saves list
Bastion Hotel Maastricht Centrum
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boschstraat 27, 6211 AS Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 39 Hotels in Maastricht
Cairo
Level Contributor
75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Efficient, no-frills and very well-located”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Maastricht is small and can be easily walked or cycled, but this hotel is close to the river, the town square and charming cobblestone sidestreets that lead to it that are dotted with boutiques, restaurants, cafes and the Basilica. The rooms are spacious but completely basic. The toiletries offered are limited to tiny tubes of hand soap and bath gel so bring your own. Breakfast was excellent but I did not spend time at the hotel otherwise. The reception is manned by the same person who might be simultaneously replacing coffee or making omelettes at the breakfast bar so be patient, the staff is friendly but multitasking. Munch on the great mints in a bowl at the front desk while you wait...
I was given a ground floor room which I would change if I were to come again because I did not like keeping the curtains drawn all the time I was in, also, it can get a little rowdy outside on Saturday nights.
I would come back to this hotel and Maastricht though.

Room Tip: Do not select ground floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yasmine_Motawy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Maastricht Centrum, responded to this review, August 20, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again in one of our hotels.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Troon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Merits a 2 star, dirty, shabby hotel with unfriendly staff. Rooms dirty, reception area had dirty dishes. We had booked 3 nights and immediatley asked for a refund which they refused. No refund - total scam! We booked into a hotel a block away for the same rate but far superior!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank carol s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Maastricht Centrum, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies ,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Maastricht hotels

UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend in Maastricht. The rooms are utterly basic, just enough room for a moderate sized double bed, but not big enough to make much room for sitting in the two chairs, which are not designed for comfort.
We ate out, every meal, because the Markt square is a two minute walk and offers a huge variety of better and cheaper options, even for breakfast.
The staff are cheerful, professional and helpful, mostly. Our room was not well-serviced, and the safe didn't work, even after several visits by staff.
You'd stay here for a base, but not for luxury.

Room Tip: Avoid the front rooms, overlooking the cobbled street. Cars on cobbles are always noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank InningsUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Maastricht Centrum, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies ,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in June and couldn't really fault it. While it's definitely not a 4 star it was clean and wasn't missing anything. The rooms weren't massive, about what you'd expect in a European city. The location is excellent, less than a 5 minute walk to the Vrijthof. Staff were fairly friendly. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeanneG2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Maastricht Centrum, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again in one of our hotels.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We had a very good stay here and would have happily stayed longer. A "5" rating might be a bit generous, 4.75 might be more realistic, but for a large chain hotel it is very good indeed. Our rooms were very clean, sensibly furnished and designed, and the beds were quite comfortable. The furniture may not have been elegant, but it served the prupose, was in good condition and having a second easy chair was a blessing. The front desk staff was pleasant, helpful and efficient, but busy. The buffet breakfast was very nice indeed, as were the box lunches we ordered one day. The hotel is on the edge, rather than in the center, of the historic area but is a doable and pleasant walk to most of the sights. The bathroom including the tub/shower was good, although a very short person might have difficulty stepping into the very high tub. One quibble, hand and bath towels are provided, but not wash clothes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vinny46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Maastricht Centrum, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again in one of our hotels.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel is in a great position but it is not a Deluxe Hotel, the rooms are very small, bathroom not on a deluxe standard, the bath is very very deep to step into and over bath shower, the shower is not a power shower in fact hardly any power at all!!. The position of the spare toilet roll is hilarious you have to be a giant to reach it. I complained about the lack of air con and it was sorted before we got back that night, most staff very helpful, breakfast is extortionate for what you get, fried egg or omelette, the usual meats, cereal, bread £14 euro!!!. waited half an hour this morning for omelette, this being served by the Manager, she forgot!! on checking out the same Manager asked if everything had been ok, when i went on to tell her my suitcase lock had been taken out of suitcase she basically called me a liar, she didn't handle this at all well, it took her about 5mins of verbal altercation for her to tell me she would look into it. I mean you go into a hotel with a lock on your case put it inside your case and then its gone!! what else are you expected to think, she was having none of it. So it must have been the fairies!!!! BE WARNED. This was not a cheap stay either, 3 nights stay and 3 breakfasts £644.50 euro not worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cazza321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Hotel Maastricht Centrum, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies ,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.6 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#5 of 39 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 1,019 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
0.6 mi away
Hotel Beaumont
Hotel Beaumont
#4 of 39 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 850 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
NH Maastricht
NH Maastricht
#9 of 39 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 761 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#1 of 39 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 stars 653 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kaboom Hotel
Kaboom Hotel
#3 of 39 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 stars 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bastion Hotel Maastricht Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Hotel Maastricht Centrum

Address: Boschstraat 27, 6211 AS Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Bastion Hotel Maastricht Centrum 4*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bastion Hotels stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive rate. The Bastion Deluxe Hotel Maastricht Centrum offers a 24 hour front office, comfortable rooms and an extensive choice of dishes from the a la carte menu in the atmospheric restaurant. Guests are always welcome in the cozy hotel bar or smoking lounge. This lounge contains an LCD television, air-conditioning and relaxing lounge chairs. The hotel also offers wellness facilities, which guests can use for free, air-conditioning and free wireless internet in the entire hotel. In the lobby the hotel has a computer available, for guests, for free use of the internet. Domestic animals are not allowed. Location / accessibility Bastion Deluxe Hotel Maastricht Centrum is located in the centre of Maastricht. Maastricht knows twenty ages of history, that are still visible in the town centre. The churches, treasure rooms and houses show a rich history, together with the city walls and the tunnels. From the hotel cities like Liege and Aachen are well accessible. Rooms The hotel has 119 comfortable deluxe rooms and 4 family rooms. The deluxe rooms are equipped with a television, a bureau, a safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with bath, toilet and hairdryer. The family rooms have the same facilities as the deluxe rooms, but there are 4 individual beds. The suites are more spacious and are extra fitted with 2 separate beds and a sleeping sofa. Food & Beverage The hotel serves breakfast on weekdays from 06:00 to 09:00 and in weekends from 07:00 to 10:30. The hotel has an attractive restaurant with an extensive a la carte menu. The restaurant is open from 11:00 until 23:00 for lunch and dinner. The hotel bar is open until 23.30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Bastion Hotel Maastricht Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastion Deluxe Hotel Maastricht Centrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing