We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bed for the night, nothing more” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bastion Deluxe Hotel Maastricht / Centrum

Save Saved
You added Bastion Deluxe Hotel Maastricht / Centrum to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bastion Deluxe Hotel Maastricht / Centrum
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Boschstraat 27, Maastricht 6211 AS, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 37 hotels in Maastricht
UK
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A bed for the night, nothing more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

We stayed here for a long weekend in Maastricht. The rooms are utterly basic, just enough room for a moderate sized double bed, but not big enough to make much room for sitting in the two chairs, which are not designed for comfort.
We ate out, every meal, because the Markt square is a two minute walk and offers a huge variety of better and cheaper options, even for breakfast.
The staff are cheerful, professional and helpful, mostly. Our room was not well-serviced, and the safe didn't work, even after several visits by staff.
You'd stay here for a base, but not for luxury.

Room Tip: Avoid the front rooms, overlooking the cobbled street. Cars on cobbles are always noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Maastricht / Centrum, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies ,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    16
    42
    63
    19
    10
See reviews for
16
46
6
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights in June and couldn't really fault it. While it's definitely not a 4 star it was clean and wasn't missing anything. The rooms weren't massive, about what you'd expect in a European city. The location is excellent, less than a 5 minute walk to the Vrijthof. Staff were fairly friendly. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Maastricht / Centrum, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again in one of our hotels.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yonkers, New York
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We had a very good stay here and would have happily stayed longer. A "5" rating might be a bit generous, 4.75 might be more realistic, but for a large chain hotel it is very good indeed. Our rooms were very clean, sensibly furnished and designed, and the beds were quite comfortable. The furniture may not have been elegant, but it served the prupose, was in good condition and having a second easy chair was a blessing. The front desk staff was pleasant, helpful and efficient, but busy. The buffet breakfast was very nice indeed, as were the box lunches we ordered one day. The hotel is on the edge, rather than in the center, of the historic area but is a doable and pleasant walk to most of the sights. The bathroom including the tub/shower was good, although a very short person might have difficulty stepping into the very high tub. One quibble, hand and bath towels are provided, but not wash clothes.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Maastricht / Centrum, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again in one of our hotels.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

This hotel is in a great position but it is not a Deluxe Hotel, the rooms are very small, bathroom not on a deluxe standard, the bath is very very deep to step into and over bath shower, the shower is not a power shower in fact hardly any power at all!!. The position of the spare toilet roll is hilarious you have to be a giant to reach it. I complained about the lack of air con and it was sorted before we got back that night, most staff very helpful, breakfast is extortionate for what you get, fried egg or omelette, the usual meats, cereal, bread £14 euro!!!. waited half an hour this morning for omelette, this being served by the Manager, she forgot!! on checking out the same Manager asked if everything had been ok, when i went on to tell her my suitcase lock had been taken out of suitcase she basically called me a liar, she didn't handle this at all well, it took her about 5mins of verbal altercation for her to tell me she would look into it. I mean you go into a hotel with a lock on your case put it inside your case and then its gone!! what else are you expected to think, she was having none of it. So it must have been the fairies!!!! BE WARNED. This was not a cheap stay either, 3 nights stay and 3 breakfasts £644.50 euro not worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Maastricht / Centrum, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you wrote on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to hear that we did not meet your expectations. I assure you that I will take appropriate actions in order to improve our services. We regularly train our associates in assuring our perfect service and taking ownership.

I hope you accept my apologies ,

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Very good hotel not far from the center.Marvelous breakfast. Rooms not to large but enough. Pitty that no hot water in lavabo (in bath everything ok) Have two large towels for two persons in stead of one should be better. But overall, it is a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Maastricht / Centrum, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again at our hotel in Maastricht.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Looked ok hotel clean very close if not in the centre of the city without the noise. They have free wifi but that didn't cover our room. Car parking reasonably priced and free on Sunday until midday. We didn't have breakfast or visit the gym. Went home with a rash on my body so not sure whether I picked up something from the hotel or if the bedding was non-allergic. Only have twin beds and no doubles.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bastion Hotel G, Owner at Bastion Deluxe Hotel Maastricht / Centrum, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you for the comments which you left on Tripadvisor. We try to meet the expectations of our guests and I believe we did achieve this.

I hope to meet you again at our hotel in Maastricht.

With kind regards,
Maik Willems
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bastion Deluxe Hotel Maastricht / Centrum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bastion Deluxe Hotel Maastricht / Centrum

Address: Boschstraat 27, Maastricht 6211 AS, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Bastion Deluxe Hotel Maastricht / Centrum 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bastion Hotel Groep stands for a personal atmosphere, hospitality, comfort and good facilities for an attractive rate. The Bastion Deluxe Hotel Maastricht/Centrum offers a 24 hour front office, comfortable rooms and an extensive choice of dishes from the a la carte menu in the atmospheric restaurant. Guests are always welcome in the cozy hotel bar or smoking lounge. This lounge contains an LCD television, air-conditioning and relaxing lounge chairs. The hotel also offers wellness facilities, which guests can use for free, air-conditioning and free wireless internet in the entire hotel. In the lobby the hotel has a computer available, for guests, for free use of the internet. Domestic animals are not allowed. Location / accessibility Bastion Deluxe Hotel Maastricht/Centrum is located in the centre of Maastricht. Maastricht knows twenty ages of history, that are still visible in the town centre. The churches, treasure rooms and houses show a rich history, together with the city walls and the tunnels. From the hotel cities like Liege and Aachen are well accessible. Rooms The hotel has 115 comfortable deluxe rooms, 4 family rooms and 4 suites. The deluxe rooms are equipped with a television, a modem, a bureau, a safe, free coffee and tea making facilities and a bathroom with bath, toilet and hairdryer. The family rooms have the same facilities as the deluxe rooms, but there are 4 individual beds. The suites are more spacious and are extra fitted with 2 separate beds and a sleeping sofa. Food & Beverage The hotel serves breakfast on weekdays from 06:00 to 09:00 and in weekends from 07:00 to 10:30. The hotel has an attractive restaurant with an extensive a la carte menu. The restaurant is open from 11:00 until 23:00 for lunch and dinner. The hotel bar is open until 23.30. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Bastion Deluxe Hotel Maastricht / Centrum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bastion Deluxe Hotel Maastricht Centrum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bastion Deluxe Hotel Maastricht / Centrum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.