We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel, we would not hesitate to book again.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Tulip Apple Park Maastricht

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Golden Tulip Apple Park Maastricht to your Saves list
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel, we would not hesitate to book again.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

During our trip to the Netherlands we booked a two night stay at the Golden Tulip Maastricht but didnt expect too much as it was not somthing we researched before hand and got a really inexpensive deal on it .. What a pleasant surprise we had, this is a very nice hotel. Great value, pleasant staff and the whole place was very clean. The location is good for acess to the cycle paths which will have you in the city within 15 minutes. There are places to eat near by if you dont fancy the hotel menu/prices and safe security watched parking. ( a little pricey but worth it) As we found with all hotels in the Netherlands hotel meals are quite expensive so we did not use the restaurant - I would not hold this against the place.
The only real warts we had and it started to become a real issue was the design of the shelf behind the bed. It was so badly designed it made sitting up in bed to read or watch television a really painful experience. Either you were gouged in the back by the edge of it or like my husband and I you will leave with badly bruised elbows where you reach for the lamp or somthing and bang yourself.
The other problem was that the room was very dark with low wattage bulbs, a problem we had in every hotel we went to so if we returned here again I would take my own small plug in lamp.
Overall our stay was fine to the point that we actually booked and stayed a further two nights at the same hotel . I liked the little touches that the Golden Tulip had to offer such as a good map of the city, a couple of delicious cookies to take away with you when you left and a cute little rubber duck for my grand children. We wont forget this one!

Room Tip: If possible ask for a room without the large bed ledge. Behind this is a couple of pictures so as w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    76
    57
    18
    13
See reviews for
30
80
6
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

I booked this hotel for a meeting and the meeting ended up being cancelled. Not aware that the price I booked was a non cancellable. Tried to work with the hotel but the Manager was not cooperative in any way. I asked if I could change the dates to the new meeting date and was told NO.
I was charged the full amount with no consideration that I would bring them more booking in the future, if they would work with me.

BEWARE!

Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

We went there on Dec. 17, 2011. Maybe Maastricht is a big attraction during Christmas. I didn't know. What I do know is that there was NO hot water for the morning shower!! It's pretty horrible to have a cold shower in December. After this disappointment, we went for breakfast to get over it, then found out it's so overly crowded that we spent quite some time to find a table, and even after I put my plate full of food on the table, somebody else claimed the table after we went to get some drink... So we didn't have a table and we didn't have cutleries... In the meantime more people came in and we were in a highly competitive game -- Find a table!!! Besides, I'm mad because my plate of food was simply thrown away. The attitude of the waitress is rude. And the manager didn't control the flow of crowd which caused a very chaotic situation.

Even though the hotel room is OK, the cold shower and extremely chaotic breakfast together with some arguing left an unnecessarily ugly scar in our Christmas holiday... Apparently, this big hotel is not prepared for its claimed capacity. You never know when it's over its hot water capacity or breakfast capacity. So my suggestion is: don't stay there to be on the safe side.

Room Tip: My suggestion is: don't stay there to be on the safe side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2012

Just depends on what you're looking for: affordable stay, close to business areas and not too far from the city centre, then you're OK for this hotel. Anybody looking for anything like a romantic hideout or a classy hotel in the city's centre should find another place. Hotel's staff is friendly and takes care of your needs. Good place for conferences, next to the highway, nothing special, somewhat outdated lounge, bar and restaurant. Good business facilities, but stay away when a football match is on in the stadium which is next to the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

We went to Maastricht again on 20th Jan 2012, and again stayed in the Apple Park, once again the stay was very enjoyable, the staff were very helpful and very freindly, the room was excellent and very clean, and rarely for a European Hotel they ahd English channels on the TV!
The food was good, and the breakfast is almost all you can eat for 18.50 Euros.

If you visit Maastricht, this hotel is a 5 min drive from Town, and a very good location.

Recommend without hestitation.

Room Tip: Executive Rooms tend to be very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gliwice, Polska
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

Very easy to find with large parking space. Beautiful restaurant interior, nice rooms. Good breakfast but very expensive. Our eyebrows raised the fact that I was given the net price, at the end they added of course additional taxes and fees that was some 130 euros more ... That was very unpleasant surprise. So always ask there for final price with all taxes!Maastricht impressed me : the order, purity, well organised, beautiful gardens and homes. Really nice soothing place. We visited a nearby krigloops which was interesting experience. It is a very nice place to go for weekend.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maarssen, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

The hotel is located directly on the highway. Taxi's to the city centre are available at a special rate, so no public transportation fuss to deal with.

The hotel itself offers paid 'secure' parking (parking lot with a gate, but anyone can just walk in), but in the very near vicinity there is free parking that in my honest opinion is just as secure.

The rooms are clean and sober and therefore not suitable for ‘stay-in-room’ romantic weekends and the like, but for anyone that only uses the hotel for sleeping, it is absolutely recommended!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Tulip Apple Park Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Apple Park Maastricht

Address: Pierre de Coubertinweg 3, 6225XT Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip Apple Park Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy this 4* plus design hotel. The hotel features 166 modern hotel rooms, free & paid (secured) parking, fitness facilities, WIFI (partly free), banqueting & meeting facilities. And the famous Dreamz, Restaurant & Bar, where you can enjoy either fine dining a la carte or the casual 'all you can eat & drink' concept. For extra comfort enjoy the executive rooms, located on the quiet executive floor. Rooms feature many free extras such as bathrobes, slippers extended bathroom amenities, iron & ironing desk, coffee & tea making facilities. Executive guest also enjoy priority parking, priority check-in and access to the Executive Lounge with free Wifi, computer use, free waters, sodas, fruits & evening snacks. The hotel is both suitable for business travelers as for leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Golden Tulip Apple Park Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Maastricht
Maastricht Golden Tulip

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Tulip Apple Park Maastricht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.