We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All the charm of Maastricht” 5 of 5 stars
Review of D Orangerie

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added D Orangerie to your Saves list
D Orangerie
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kleine Gracht 4, 6211 Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
florida
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“All the charm of Maastricht”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

I didn't know what to expect,I was pleasantly surprised. This boutique hotel is charming. It is perfectly located in walking distance to everything. Each evening the hotel lite up with beautiful candles,which reflected its eclectic dacor. There attention to detal showed. The room we had was on the second floor, it was newly decorated and spectacular. I would return to this hotel Over and over again.

Room Tip: The room we booked was the junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    39
    18
    12
    6
See reviews for
10
45
3
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

From the outside the hotel doesn't look all that inviting but once you enter its doors you begin to be charmed by the old Dutch style; chandeliers, dark wood paneling, antique furnishings and ambience aplenty. Our room was well equipped (though inexplicably the only soap in the room was in a dispenser in the shower) and spacious but marred by a lack of a good light - the room was always in gloom as it lacked a central light fitting and one of the free standing lights (a cheap steel standard lamp) was broken and another lamp needed a new bulb.

Sleep quality wasn't great as we could hear loud creaking of floorboards from the room above, some noise from other rooms close by and noise from nearby businesses and people on the street. Take some ear plugs is my advice.

Cleaning of the room was cursory - glasses used were only washed once during our three night stay, bed sheets were not changed and if you open the large windows the exterior of them is very dirty: though you really didn't want to open them that often as there is a lot of noise from street level and neighboring businesses.

Breakfast is very nice with a good choice and served in a lovely room steeped with a feeling of history - though seating is somewhat cramped. The staff were very polite and professional. The breakfast experience isn't laid back - 'stuffy' is a bit too harsh but if you like old world manners and deference then this may be perfect for you.

A side point - whether you agree with people smoking certain substances or not, I would argue that the mayor of Maastricht has got it all wrong by banning foreign tourists from the coffee shops - you will see signs all around the city explaining how Maastricht is different to every other Dutch city. The hotel is situated close to the waterfront and near a couple of said coffee shops but that was not a problem in our experience. The problem was the drug dealers hanging around very near the hotel on street corners looking for foreigners who want to buy some weed. How this is better than letting people enjoy their interests in private, legal shops is beyond me as we had to walk the gamut of the dealers every time we wanted to go to the waterfront and this marred our experience of the city.

Having said all of that Maastricht is a lovely place with plenty of cool bars and restaurants, and the people are very friendly and open. There is plenty to see and do and if you like shopping you will not be disappointed.

Note - there is no night porter at the hotel and last check in is at 11pm. We would like to thank the young man who waited for us as we arrived on a marathon trip from the South of France at 11.10pm!

If we stayed in Maastricht again we would certainly consider this hotel: staff are friendly, the hotel has charm and it does have secure parking (though that comes at a price of 20 Euros a night!) as well as a great location only five minutes walk from the centre of town.

Room Tip: High floor to minimise street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

The hotel is located just off Market Square, Maastricht. The street itself is neither shabby nor chic, but us three Irish ladies felt perfectly safe walking about this lovely Dutch city. The hotel is literally minutes from the train station, across the old bridge to the old part of the city and perfectly placed for walking around the city. It is also minutes from the square where Andrew Rieu holds his concerts, the main purpose of our visit to Maastricht. Back to the hotel, the bedroom on the third floor, (no lift) was of good size as was the bathroom. Unfortunately the lighting in the bathroom/bedroom was very poor for ladies trying to put on their makeup. There was a coffee making machine, a fridge, television and phone. We also had free Wi-Fi in the bedroom. The small courtyard was lovely for a coffee/beer/cake. We did not partake of the breakfast (15 euro) as the market square has numerous restaurants with breakfasts options from €7.00, and we didn't have to get up at silly o'clock to be down for an expensive breakie. There is a funky bar/lounge, the staff are very friendly and I would have no hesitation of recommending this hotel to other travelers.

Room Tip: ask the hotel to book a taxi to pick you up if you are coming from the airport as there are only two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

I tell you now this is one of the best little hotels I have had the pleasure to stay in . The staff are so so nice very helpfull and very freindly . The breakfast was just perfect so much to choose from and the location perfect . The beds and pillows are fab but as i said befor the staff are top AAAAA I would love to stay there again I have stayed in many hotels all over the world 5 star on many occasions this hotel is not 5 star dosent clam to be but the staff the location and the breakfast brill felt like staying with a friend

Room Tip: we were on the third floor fine for us dident mind atall kept me fit but no lift so if you dont wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

1:19 AM still awake, pissed off enough to write a review.
Extremely noisy hotel, I can listen in on neighbour conversations, you hear the TV playing in the room next door, water running, toilets ... just awful. Very poor sound insulation. Don't stay here if you want some actual sleep.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We chose this hotel because of its affordability and proximity to the old market square. I realised that it was situated near a major road, but decided to risk it. What a surprise it was! The check in was efficient and friendly. All our questions were answered patiently. the room was a treat to behold! Velvet, crystal, cosy and atmospheric... very romantic and spacious. The setting was quiet with a lovely view over the Maas river (if you sit on your knees on the bed and look out - great morning coffee position....) the road did not pose any noise problems and the room felt more 4 than 3 star! The steps are steep and narrow (no lift), so if you have a lot of luggage, ask for a lower floor...

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Maas River. We stayed on the 3rd floor, but the 2nd floor has bigger wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

I had intended to white a review on D’Orangerie after we had stayed there in July last year but unfortunately it slipped my mind and it was only after staying at a very disappointing hotel last week that I remembered how good this hotel is.

We spent 4 days at the hotel. We had been allocated one of the newly refurbished rooms in the annexe overlooking the Maas. The room had been very well designed and was a good size too, particularly as we had taken our dog with us as well. The staff were all very friendly and the level of service was also very good. Despite our room overlooking a busy main road we were not disturbed by any traffic noise at all. The breakfast buffet had plenty of choice and was well presented and on our last day we were even able to eat in the small garden at the rear of the hotel which was nice.

One particular point that I want to make and this is mainly for the benefit of those people who do travel with their pets, the hotel really did make an effort. Firstly, there was a water bowl and a bowl of dog biscuits waiting in the room when we arrived and secondly we were able to move around the hotel with the dog freely (naturally on a lead). Many hotels say that they welcome pets but more often than not there are so many restrictions put in place that you might as well not bother taking them. It seems to me that it is an easy way fro some hotels to make extra money for very little outlay. So, when you do find a hotel where they genuinely do welcome pets you really do appreciate the difference.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to D Orangerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D Orangerie

Address: Kleine Gracht 4, 6211 Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — D Orangerie 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Tingo so you can book your D Orangerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d Orangerie Maastricht

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage D Orangerie, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.