We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD LOCATION, BUT CHECK FOR OTHER HOTELS” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Amrath Hotel DuCasque

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Amrath Hotel DuCasque to your Saves list
Amrath Hotel DuCasque
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Helmstraat 14, 6211 TA Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Beirut
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“GOOD LOCATION, BUT CHECK FOR OTHER HOTELS”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I booked a junior suite room on the fifth floor. We came later to know that the lift only goes to the fourth floor. That was no issue until you get to the stairs. 70 degree slope, narrow and spiral. We were very lucky that we only had carry on, otherwise, I would not know how to get to the room. The room it self maybe dated to WW1. The bathroom was old and dull. The decorator of the hotel must have color blindness. The receptionist was the valet, the concierge, the porter, the cashier, etc. Similarly for the breakfast room where one lady was the cook, the waitress and the cleaner. The location is great, but I would reconsider staying there again

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the fifth floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
5
8
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is so close to the square (Vrijthof) and to most attractions. The staff were pleasant and as in most parts of the Netherlands communicating in English was fine. The hotel has been recently refurbished and the rooms are spacious and well furnished. The breakfast was fine, including a nice variety of Dutch specialties. Good Wifi access

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berkshire uk
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

Hotel located directly on the square and close to all attractions,shops and restaurants.
Check in was quick and easy albeit the only car parking is at the underground facility opposite the hotel which although nearby is expensive.Hotel staff polite and friendly with good english spoken.Supermarket a few steps away from the hotel to get provisions as needed at good prices.We stayed room only and ate outside of the hotel although the hotel does cater for breakfast at 12.50 euros per person.
Room good size and appeared to be recently refurbished.large LCD flatscreen TV in room albeit only one english channel.Room safe and hair drier also provided.Hotel provides free wifi facility although we did not use during our stay.
To summarise if you are looking for a good hotel in a prime location then i would recommend to all.

Room Tip: Rooms not facing the square are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chatham, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2014

my wife and I had a reservation, through Booking.com, for Sunday, October 19. We arrived at 1:30pm. The clerk said we couldn't get our room until 2:00pm. We said we could leave our bags in the waiting area while we parked our car. We asked if he could keep an eye on them. He said no in a most dismissive manner even though the lobby was small, and there were no people. At 2pm a number of guests stood at the desk and were allowed to get their keys. This is precision. We exchanged words on this and on other issues, and he seemed totally indifferent to his customer. As we found his attitude so bad we cancelled our reservation and left. I wrote to Booking.com that customers should be allowed to provide customer feedback whether they stay or not. Shouldn't prospective guests know our experience and why a visitor cancelled in the hotel on the date of arrival? The short answer was that only if you stay the night can you write a review. I take the time to provide this both to warn people about our experience at this hotel and to express exasperation with Booking.com's handling of this.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2014

Our room was very spacious, nicely furnished with a large comfortable bed.
The room had three chairs, a small table, and a desk. There was coffee/tea in the room and a flat screen TV. The bathroom was new with a walk - in shower.
The room was very clean. Parking is in the public garage. The hotel can provide a reduced rate for parking. Breakfast is extra. The are two restaurants in or near the hotel. One is McDonalds. The location is perfect, right on the Vrijthof. Our room was 126 euro including tax.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2014

Stayed here for one night, Hotel is ideally located in the center of Maastricht.
Rooms are nice and spacious, lovely Bathroom. Good Breakfast.
One Think I would recommend to management please.
Either turn out the lights in the hallway or put some blinds in the Bathrooms.
We ended up hanging 2 towel's in front of the window as out room was lit up like a christmas tree due to the lights in the hallway and little courtyard being left on. Otherwise I would say this Hotel is pretty good.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederiksvaerk, Denmark
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Nice hotel which seems newly renovated. Very well soundproofed, so even though it is close to Vrijhthof, you can barely hear the music (André Rieu) when windows are closed. The staff is incredibly nice and helpful. We lacked a suitcase when we arrived in Amsterdam, and reception at the hotel was very helpful in calling the airport on our behalf. If you want to stay in the center of Maastricht, then this hotel is definitely recommended. The breakfast could be a little more exciting, but the last day we had the pleasant surprise that we could prepare us a food pack for the trip and we were even handed a bag to have food in.
There is only one complaint from our side, and it is this glass sliding door to the bathroom. It does not provide much privacy. It is not transparent, but it will not seal, so you can still see through the cracks.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amrath Hotel DuCasque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amrath Hotel DuCasque

Address: Helmstraat 14, 6211 TA Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amrath Hotel DuCasque 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In January and February 2014 the hotel has been completely restyled. Recently Amrath Hotel DuCasque has opened its doors again and you are more welcome than ever before. The Boutique Hotel Maastricht is very unique. The monumental building is located on the Vrijthof in the heart of this historic city. Amrath Hotel Ducasque is decorated in Art Deco style, which results in an authentically styled decor hotel in Maastricht. Maastricht is one of the most historical cities within the Netherlands. It is full of restaurants, shops, boutiques and narrow streets, resulting in a pleasant town to shop. The 1590 different monumental objects within the city create a great atmosphere. It is also possible to visit various museums including the 'Bonnefantenmuseum' and 'Bisschopsmolen': the oldest, still working watermill Netherlands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Amrath Hotel DuCasque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amrath Hotel Maastricht

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amrath Hotel DuCasque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.