We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, So So Rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amrath Hotel DuCasque

Save Saved
You added Amrath Hotel DuCasque to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Amrath Hotel DuCasque
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Helmstraat 14, Maastricht 6211 TA, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 37 hotels in Maastricht
Boynton Beach, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Location, So So Rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

This hotel has a great location right in the middle of everything and our room had a great view to the cathedral and the main town square. They claim to be a 4 star hotel but I would only give the about 2-3 stars. The rooms were very tired and drab and the interior is in need of an upgrade. They are working on the exterior so maybe the inside is next. It was not a bad experience but nothing special. Please note that there is no A/C and the room was a bit noisy.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    12
    18
    30
    12
    6
See reviews for
5
20
4
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lethbridge
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Stayed at this hotel in mid May for several days while attending a conference. The location, next to the square, was excellent. The only other positive aspect about this hotel was the friendly breakfast server. Otherwise, our room was very shabby with water stained curtains and mold around the bathtub. The décor was tired and mismatched. It was depressing to return to this site at the end of each day. The front desk staff were indifferent and unwelcoming. We would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hay-on-Wye
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We were walking the Pieterpad with a small group of family and friends and occupied four rooms at this hotel for one night. Our rooms were quite adequate with all the usual facilities. There was free coffee at all times in the foyer of the hotel. The location is excellent for walking round all the interesting sights of the town, and right next to Vrijthof square. In fact the breakfast room of the hotel has a balcony overlooking the square.

Breakfast was excellent with a good selection of food.

The hotel has a free secure car park just across the street. You need a card to get in, so stop for a couple of minutes in the loading bay outside the front door of the hotel while you pop in to get your card. n.b. once you drive out of the car park you cannot re-enter!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Stayed here for two nights two years ago and last week stayed again for only one night. The rooms are very basic, clean comfortable beds, but cleanliness was lacking in the curtains and the carpets near the windows. Desperately in need of a make over this is not shabby chic - just plain shabby. Breakfast is extra and was similar in standard to that of 2011. In fact I feel the scrambled egg was the same. The same lady is in charge of the dining room and I was pleased to see this year she had somebody to help her.
All in all overpriced but the location is superb

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Great location for just about anything. Walk to restaurants and shopping on the square in this wonderful little town! I like that they use actual keys and you don't keep the key. You give it to the front desk when you depart and pick it up when you return. Service was average. My room was not as updated as some of the others, but I didn't mind. It was clean and the view was nice. I didn't eat at the restaurant. I rarely turn the TV on when traveling, but I had heard about the tourist channel in Maastricht and wanted to check it out. It was fantastic entertainment. Check it out for sure... I will go back to Maastricht someday, and I would probably stay here again, price and location really can't be beat.

Room Tip: ask for a recently updated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Not bad, close to city center, quiet and cozy, food is great, staff also.
Nothing to comment.

The city and shops and coffee shops are great!

I recommend it

If I would go to Maastricht, would definitely go there again.

PS: Was there in 2008.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

I was in Maastricht for business and wanted to be close to the city center. In that regard, Ducasque delivered. All the stores and restaurants were a short walk away. There was a good view of the square from the breakfast hall, but the breakfast left a lot to be desired. The eggs had an almost slimy texture and tasted no better. The rest of breakfast was your standard European meats and cheeses. The McDonald's right down the street is not open for breakfast, so if you find a place close by that serves a decent breakfast, skip the Ducasque breakfast.

I was with three other work colleagues who each had their own room. When I initially arrived I was quick to complain, but after talking to the others it was obvious that I had received the best room as it was recently renovated (room #467). My room did not have much space, but included a decent flat panel TV, new furniture, and a remodeled bathroom that I have learned was designed as a "wet room." The shower worked great, but since the opening pointed toward the toilet and sink, that is exactly where much of the water went. This room also includes a motion sensor light on the inside of the doorway. It is extremely sensitive and if you sleep on the right side of the bed and toss and turn, it will turn on. I had to put a post-it over the sensor and sleep on the left side of the bed to minimize the possibility of accidentally setting off the sensor.

The other rooms were not renovated, included ancient tube style TV's, and an old style tub and shower set up. One colleague was initially given a room with a terrible smell and after she brought it to their attention she was able to get a room without the smell. Another colleague was on the first floor and found it noisy on certain days, plus she found it difficult to take a shower without flooding the bathroom.

At the end of the day the rate was 125 euros (including breakfast) and other than location, you're not getting a whole lot.

Room Tip: Request remodeled rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amrath Hotel DuCasque? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amrath Hotel DuCasque

Address: Helmstraat 14, Maastricht 6211 TA, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Amrath Hotel DuCasque 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Appealing Old-fashioned Hotel housed in a former Coaching Inn, facing Vrijthof Square, with entrance on Helmstraat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Amrath Hotel DuCasque reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amrath Hotel Maastricht

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amrath Hotel DuCasque, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.