We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amrath Grand Hotel De L'Empereur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Amrath Grand Hotel De L'Empereur to your Saves list
Amrath Grand Hotel De L'Empereur
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stationsstraat 2, 6221BP Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

The location, right in front of Maastricht station, is a plus. City center is a 10 to 15 minute walk. Since Maastricht is lovely, you won't feel this walk at all. The front desk offered an upgrade for 10 Euros and I accepted. I was told this upgrade entitled us to a renovated room not facing the rail tracks. Well, it was a silent room. On the other hand, if the room they gave me was considered renovated I keep imagining how are the older ones. My verdict: this hotel is certainly not a 4-star property and there are better (and newer) places in Maastricht. Townhouse, for exemple, is in the opposite side of the same block, still near the train station. But don't ignore this hotel, it is decent and can be an option.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    84
    67
    49
    24
See reviews for
24
98
30
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Shocking 4 star. I've stayed in better youth hostels. No hot water upon arrival, reception could not move me to another room as they claimed their systems were down. Finally got hot water the following afternoon after reception suggested I shower and shave in the Swimming pool!
Room smelt and was in need of decorating also very noisy. Breakfast, on second day they ran out of the mixed fruit salad at 8:30am but to be fair, there was a wide choice of other items to choose from.
Lunch, cheese rolls! Everyday!

Overall, whilst the location is good, I would suggest staying someone else as you will get better value for money, better service.. Better experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Decent hotel for a visit to the beautiful city of Maastricht. City center is only a ten minute walk away. Maastricht university takes five by train. The rooms are okay but avoid the ones at the front as they are right opposite the train station and a major bus stop.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

I went during Carnaval, which is basically Mardi Gras for the rest of the world for those unfamiliar. It is harder to get a hotel in Maastricht during this time. The best thing about this hotel is the location. Coming in from the train station, it is literally across the street. It is a 10 minute walk across the bridge to the town center, through numerous shops and restaurants. Another 10 minutes finds you in the town square, the center of festivities during Carnaval. I stayed in one of the suites which was perfect. Plenty of room, and good views. I cant vouch for some of the other reviews that stated the rooms were dingy, but as I spent most of the time away from the hotel exploring the city, it probably wouldn't have been much of an issue, as I paid for the location. Might have been other hidden gems, but for a first time visitor, this worked out OK for me.

Room Tip: Get a suite if you can swing it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in December 2013. What seemed like a good deal on paper turned out to be the opposite. The rooms were small, dirty, smelly and outdated. The furniture was torn, the bed crooked and the hallways had a ghostly feel over them. I felt like I starred in a cheap horror movie.

The lobby looked good, though. As did the restaurant. And the city is walking distance. But for this rate one would expect better and cleaner rooms.

Maastricht is great, but I won't stay at this place again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brescia, Italy
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The hotel is in a great position to visit the city. It’s directly in front of the railway station, but even if outside the place is noisy, inside the room it’s absolutely silent.
The room is equipped with all the comfort and it’s very clean. The staff is quite nice but some of the receptionists don’t look so friendly as you would expect. The quality-value rate is average… this is not a super cheap hotel, considering that also the breakfast needs to be paid (€ 15 a day…!).
All in all I can say that I can recommend this hotel to all the travellers who want to stay in a super clean place, within distance to the centre of Maastricht.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landgraaf, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We ( couple of 60+) spent 4 days in the great hotel, while visiting Maastricht and the surroundings. The staff was great and very friendly, the lobby and the ambiance made a wonderful impression and the room was clean, large and well equipped.
The bar and the restaurant were good class, the breakfast-room a bit small, but lively...
Its always fantastic when the hotel has a great parking garage, the costs though (euro 18.50) were a bit high.

Room Tip: The hotel is 50 meters away from the main train station. If you don't have a car, the ideal way...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amrath Grand Hotel De L'Empereur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amrath Grand Hotel De L'Empereur

Address: Stationsstraat 2, 6221BP Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amrath Grand Hotel De L'Empereur 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Amrath Grand Hotel De L'Empereur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amrath Grand Maastricht

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amrath Grand Hotel De L'Empereur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.