We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not exactly worth the money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Amrath Grand Hotel De L'Empereur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Amrath Grand Hotel De L'Empereur to your Saves list
Amrath Grand Hotel De L'Empereur
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stationsstraat 2, 6221BP Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Vancouver, BC
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not exactly worth the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in December 2013. What seemed like a good deal on paper turned out to be the opposite. The rooms were small, dirty, smelly and outdated. The furniture was torn, the bed crooked and the hallways had a ghostly feel over them. I felt like I starred in a cheap horror movie.

The lobby looked good, though. As did the restaurant. And the city is walking distance. But for this rate one would expect better and cleaner rooms.

Maastricht is great, but I won't stay at this place again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    77
    61
    46
    24
See reviews for
23
92
25
60
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brescia, Italy
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The hotel is in a great position to visit the city. It’s directly in front of the railway station, but even if outside the place is noisy, inside the room it’s absolutely silent.
The room is equipped with all the comfort and it’s very clean. The staff is quite nice but some of the receptionists don’t look so friendly as you would expect. The quality-value rate is average… this is not a super cheap hotel, considering that also the breakfast needs to be paid (€ 15 a day…!).
All in all I can say that I can recommend this hotel to all the travellers who want to stay in a super clean place, within distance to the centre of Maastricht.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Landgraaf, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We ( couple of 60+) spent 4 days in the great hotel, while visiting Maastricht and the surroundings. The staff was great and very friendly, the lobby and the ambiance made a wonderful impression and the room was clean, large and well equipped.
The bar and the restaurant were good class, the breakfast-room a bit small, but lively...
Its always fantastic when the hotel has a great parking garage, the costs though (euro 18.50) were a bit high.

Room Tip: The hotel is 50 meters away from the main train station. If you don't have a car, the ideal way...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

This is a clean, quiet and spacious hotel. It is located directly opposite the Maastricht central train station, although (unlike some other cities) the neighbourhood is perfectly nice and walkable. This is a safe choice for a short stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
york
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Following a tip from other reviewers, when booking we requested a 'new room not at the front of the hotel'. On arrival, this was no problem if we paid an extra room rate of 10 euros each night, which we did. We also got upgraded to a 'penthouse' which was on the top floor at the back of the hotel overlooking the rooftops of Maastricht. The room was quiet, spacious with a kitchen area, comprising of a sink, which was useful when filling the kettle & washing up & the bathroom was clean & modern. There was a veranda, however the door didn't open but this wasn't an issue for us as we stayed in November & the weather wasn't good, so we didn't enquire about it.
The reception & bar staff were very friendly & helpful.
The hotel is ideally situated opposite the central train stations & a 10-15 minute walk over the Mas river, takes you into the old town.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I booked this hotel having researched its proximity to the station, which was a prioty as it saves time on arrival and especially on departure.on the Monday morning a group of four of us were travelling from London on Eurostar.

Our trains were late from Brussels, it was a bank holiday, don't know if that had anything to do with it but imagine our delight when we stepped out of the station and there it was across the road.

The hotel created a good impression from the start so much so, that we decided we would eat in the rather than explore as the hour was getting late. The meal did not disappoint, and a two course dinner was perfectly satisfactory in quantity and the quality was equal to any restaurant.
We then had a very pleasant evening at the bar which was cosy and comfortable and reasonably priced, similar to most of the local bars.

The breakfast choices were better than I have had in most European hotels and there was the added bonus of freshly cooked eggs to accompany your bacon and sausages if that was your choice.

The hotel is a pleasant ten minute walk to the town centre, across a picturesque bridge. Plenty of shops bars and restaurants to choose from in the town centre, one is definitely spoilt for choice.

In spite of the cold and wet November weather our visit was not spoilt, as there was plenty to see under cover, museums, galleries and the like and the service in all was particularly cheerful and friendly.

One little niggle was that we were charged three different prices each night we stayed but overall the hotel was the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed here for one night on business. The hotel is located literally across the street from the main station in Maastricht, with bus and Taxi stands right outside. This might suggest that it could be noisy and not particularly pleasant, as may be the case with many "station hotels", and I confess to having those thoughts as I arrived, but I was pleasantly surprised. I arrived late in the evening and the hotel didn't appear to be particularly busy. The reception staff were welcoming and efficient and I was quickly in my room, which was spacious and well-decorated. Wifi was free and pretty quick.

The information on the hotel amenities was limited, and non-Dutch language TV channels very few. I noted from the information in the rom that room service was available to 10pm and attempted to order a snack, but was told the restaurant closed at 9pm... When I challenged this based on the written information provided, the answer was that "they had changed the times"- Irritating.

OK for a one night stay on business- wouldn't choose to come here otherwise.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amrath Grand Hotel De L'Empereur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amrath Grand Hotel De L'Empereur

Address: Stationsstraat 2, 6221BP Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amrath Grand Hotel De L'Empereur 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Venere, Orbitz, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Amrath Grand Hotel De L'Empereur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amrath Grand Maastricht

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amrath Grand Hotel De L'Empereur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.