We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Amrath Grand Hotel De L'Empereur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Amrath Grand Hotel De L'Empereur to your Saves list
Amrath Grand Hotel De L'Empereur
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stationsstraat 2, 6221BP Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
york
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A very pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Following a tip from other reviewers, when booking we requested a 'new room not at the front of the hotel'. On arrival, this was no problem if we paid an extra room rate of 10 euros each night, which we did. We also got upgraded to a 'penthouse' which was on the top floor at the back of the hotel overlooking the rooftops of Maastricht. The room was quiet, spacious with a kitchen area, comprising of a sink, which was useful when filling the kettle & washing up & the bathroom was clean & modern. There was a veranda, however the door didn't open but this wasn't an issue for us as we stayed in November & the weather wasn't good, so we didn't enquire about it.
The reception & bar staff were very friendly & helpful.
The hotel is ideally situated opposite the central train stations & a 10-15 minute walk over the Mas river, takes you into the old town.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    95
    83
    52
    29
See reviews for
27
116
31
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barry, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I booked this hotel having researched its proximity to the station, which was a prioty as it saves time on arrival and especially on departure.on the Monday morning a group of four of us were travelling from London on Eurostar.

Our trains were late from Brussels, it was a bank holiday, don't know if that had anything to do with it but imagine our delight when we stepped out of the station and there it was across the road.

The hotel created a good impression from the start so much so, that we decided we would eat in the rather than explore as the hour was getting late. The meal did not disappoint, and a two course dinner was perfectly satisfactory in quantity and the quality was equal to any restaurant.
We then had a very pleasant evening at the bar which was cosy and comfortable and reasonably priced, similar to most of the local bars.

The breakfast choices were better than I have had in most European hotels and there was the added bonus of freshly cooked eggs to accompany your bacon and sausages if that was your choice.

The hotel is a pleasant ten minute walk to the town centre, across a picturesque bridge. Plenty of shops bars and restaurants to choose from in the town centre, one is definitely spoilt for choice.

In spite of the cold and wet November weather our visit was not spoilt, as there was plenty to see under cover, museums, galleries and the like and the service in all was particularly cheerful and friendly.

One little niggle was that we were charged three different prices each night we stayed but overall the hotel was the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

I stayed here for one night on business. The hotel is located literally across the street from the main station in Maastricht, with bus and Taxi stands right outside. This might suggest that it could be noisy and not particularly pleasant, as may be the case with many "station hotels", and I confess to having those thoughts as I arrived, but I was pleasantly surprised. I arrived late in the evening and the hotel didn't appear to be particularly busy. The reception staff were welcoming and efficient and I was quickly in my room, which was spacious and well-decorated. Wifi was free and pretty quick.

The information on the hotel amenities was limited, and non-Dutch language TV channels very few. I noted from the information in the rom that room service was available to 10pm and attempted to order a snack, but was told the restaurant closed at 9pm... When I challenged this based on the written information provided, the answer was that "they had changed the times"- Irritating.

OK for a one night stay on business- wouldn't choose to come here otherwise.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Classical hotel with great reputation. Room was good. Airco somewhat noisy and the smallest TV I ever saw in a hotel.
I had a room in the " old" part of the hotel. Room itself was in good shape. Breakfast was fine although quite expensive ( 18,50 euro).
I only give " two bullits" as my appreciation because the carpet in the corridor (3rd floor) was the dirtiest I ever experienced in a hotel. To be honest it looked very disgusting and does absolutely not fit a four star hotel.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zuchwil, Schweiz
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

This hotel must have been a good choice - back in 1980. The room that I stayed in, wasn't renovated since then, there was even an old (not working) fm radio in there. The only thing that has been renovated was the bathroom, which looked nicer and comfortabler (however, also not worth 4 stars, but at least more modern). According to the receptionist, some rooms are already renovated and look much nicer.

Another disadvantage of the room was the bed. There was a gap in between, and therefore not really recommended for couples. The mattress was too soft, but still ok.

On the other hand, the location of the hotel was excellent. It's just across the train station and quite close to the city centre of Maastricht.

The price of the hotel would be ok, but not for such shabby old-class rooms. The breakfast costs 17.50€ what is too much.

In conclusion, I can't recommend this hotel. In a renovated state, it could be a nice hotel with a classy architecture, but Amrath would need to invest in it!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livingston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 3 nights during the Andre Rieu concert season and had a great weekend. The hotel was easy to find and well situated, just a gentle 10 minute stroll across the river to the Square. Our room overlooked the station. It was a clean, spacious and very quiet room and we slept extremely well as the bed and pillows were comfy. The towels were exceptionally nice, plentiful, pure white and luxurious. If anything the room, corridor etc. were rather old fashioned but then it's an old building so this felt acceptable. The underground car park was tight but manageable and there was a wee garden at the back for quiet space and sunshine. The staff were pleasant and helpful especially when the old style TV would not work - the socket was faulty, but he quickly diagnosed the problem and worked around it by using another socket. We've never seen such a filthy tv remote though. Glad of the antibac wipes we'd brought with us! The free wi-fi and fridge in the room were very welcome. All in all an acceptable stay.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Have stayed during 3 nights in this 4-star Amrath Grand Hotel de l'Empereur in Maastricht near the Central Station !
Very friendly personal ! Large and comfortable room ! Very quiet room although so near to the Central Station !
We will surely be returning to this nice hotel !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Amrath Grand Hotel De L'Empereur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amrath Grand Hotel De L'Empereur

Address: Stationsstraat 2, 6221BP Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amrath Grand Hotel De L'Empereur 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A relaxing stay at Amrath Grand Hotel de l'Empereur is definitely recommended if you decide to visit this historic city. Our hotel in Maastricht is located opposite the Central Station of Maastricht, housed in a monumental building. Our Amrath Grand Hotel de l' Empereur property is easily accessible. Maastricht is a city where you will experience a lot of historical beauty. This city is, with its many shops, boutiques and narrow streets a pleasant town to shop. There are numerous terraces, pubs, cafes and mainly French-influenced restaurants. Without a doubt, certainly the city and our unique hotel in Maastricht really worth a visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Amrath Grand Hotel De L'Empereur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amrath Grand Maastricht

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amrath Grand Hotel De L'Empereur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.