We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very positive stay in Maastricht” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amrath Grand Hotel De L'Empereur

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Amrath Grand Hotel De L'Empereur to your Saves list
Amrath Grand Hotel De L'Empereur
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stationsstraat 2, 6221BP Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very positive stay in Maastricht”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Have stayed during 3 nights in this 4-star Amrath Grand Hotel de l'Empereur in Maastricht near the Central Station !
Very friendly personal ! Large and comfortable room ! Very quiet room although so near to the Central Station !
We will surely be returning to this nice hotel !

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    88
    73
    50
    27
See reviews for
27
105
30
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Erskine
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We selected this location for accommodation based on a previous visit to Maastricht. We were visiting for the weekend, two nights, to see Andre Rieu in concert. Being right across from the main station you don't have to carry cases any distance which for us was a main concern. You are at least 2-3 kms from the Virthoff. The walk is pleasant and there are many nice bars and restaurants on route.
The room was nice and provided all the necessary facilities for our stay. The staff were helpfull and polite.
Cost - this is not a cheap hotel. You pay for the location and that the concerts are on that weekend. Hence why we had to book many months in advance. You are not getting full value for money as Maastricht is an expensive locality. However enjoy!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abano Terme, Italy
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

It's not a real "four stars" hotel. I received a room old and dirty, so during the first night I asked to change room immediately then I received a new room. It was bigger and cleaner than the firts. The staff is kind and helpful, but I think that the cleaning in a hotel is very important, so my overall rating about this hotel is low. Moreover the price of 17,50 euro for the the breakfast is too much expensive.

Room Tip: Ask a new room but not in the front side of hotel because there are train and buses, so from the 5.3...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Given its position (right outside the train station) I sensed an air of complacency that they will always have passing trade to keep them in business. This gave way to an overpriced restaurant, terrible cleaning and our (first) room with a terrible stench of vomit. Cases carried without help and also our sons fold up bed. Flippant Receptionist who stayed put. Swimming pool is ok, bit chilly and quite obviously fairly old. Couple of positives: Barman, friendly, young and with good info on stuff to do with Kids in Maastricht and the town in general. Good position close to town.
All in all: pay a bit more and stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Nothing to add.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

We've stayed here before, and knew what to expect. There's a lovely bar and cafe. There's a pool downstairs with small locker rooms. We had a dinner in the restaurant; two of us went with menu and the third went a la carte. This trip, we had one of the suites. It had a nice comfortable bed (no gap in the middle!) and a large tub.

Easy walking distance to the center,and right across from the train station. No excuse for getting lost. :)

Room Tip: Two of stayed in a suite; one had a normal room. All of us were happy with our choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I would recommend anyone travelling to Maastricht to stay at the Amrath hotel, it is within 10 mins walking distance to the centre, and to the town square where the Andre Rieu Concerts take place every year. It is a comfortable hotel, with very comfortable beds, tea/coffee making facilities, and best of all it is just across the road from the Bus/Train station.

Room Tip: My room was a standard room and was a little on the small side, and a bit outdated, but the price wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Along with friends my wife and I spent 4 nights in this hotel whilst in Maastricht.
My wife had booked the stay and I must admit that after reading conflicting reviews were a little concerned.
However from the minute we arrived to we left we were completely happy both with our room and the service provided by ALL of the staff,they could not have been more helpful and friendlier and we would not hesitate in returning or recommending to friends.
The rooms we had were excellent and the location of the hotel suited our purposes ideally.
We did not have breakfast at the hotel as we thought this was a little expensive but judging by the numbers who did use this facility perhaps our judgement was wrong.
We did have a problem with our safe in the room but no sooner had we reported this to the reception than it was rectified. excellent service yet again.
So overall we had a first class experience at this hotel and we recommend this you if ever you visit the lovely town of Maastricht.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amrath Grand Hotel De L'Empereur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amrath Grand Hotel De L'Empereur

Address: Stationsstraat 2, 6221BP Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#14 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amrath Grand Hotel De L'Empereur 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Amrath Grand Hotel De L'Empereur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amrath Grand Maastricht

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amrath Grand Hotel De L'Empereur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.