We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only advantage is location...everything else is in need of updating...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Amrath Grand Hotel De L'Empereur

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Amrath Grand Hotel De L'Empereur to your Saves list
Amrath Grand Hotel De L'Empereur
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stationsstraat 2, 6221BP Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Only advantage is location...everything else is in need of updating...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

Staff at reception were friendly, but unfortunately the girl (and i really mean a girl) who tended to us kept confusing our booking details with someone else who had the same surname.
Even when we pointed out it was the wrong name and address (especially when it was booked in my boyfriend's name and she gave us a form with the details of a lady) she said the address can be corrected later. After 1 minute, she realised that it was her mistake and started looking for the correct form.
It seems like she is a student doing her internship who is trying her best to follow the steps but is unsure of the rest.
When we got to our room, everything looked quite outdated. As we were quite tired after driving for more than 2 hours, we plopped down on the bed to have a rest. Mattress was extremely soft, no support whatsoever. Also noticed that it was quite noisy as our windows were facing the bus-stop right in front of Maastricht Central Station.
After resting for an hour, we found out that the bathroom door kept creaking, toilet seat had a huge crack and one of the lights was not working. If we were staying for more than a night, I would have asked to change rooms.
On the way back down, we found out that the "down" button for the lift on our floor(2nd) was not working at all.
Went for a swim in the pool in the evening, pool was small, quite dirty and water was a bit too cold for our liking.
All-in-all, I would not book this hotel again even if it was half-price.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    84
    67
    48
    24
See reviews for
24
97
30
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maputo, Mozambique
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

I've been in this hotel for more than 30 days. It is cheap, good service, good rooms.
The only thing i would advise is too improve the morning buffet, there is not much of food options, apart from that the hotel is really good and well located in front of the Railway station.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, the Netherlands
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

The first impression was very good, it's a beautiful old building in front of the central trainstation, there are many shops and restaurants around and they have a parking garage. The entrance was as good as the outside of the hotel promised and the staff was friendly and professional. I also liked the decorations in the lobby and the restaurant had an awesome antique atmosphere. Then we went to the room: spacious but scruffy. I didn't dare to walk barefoot on the carpet and the wallpaper was peeling off. We had chosen for this hotel because we thought they had a SPA - well at least a pool and a sauna.
The sauna was a very small cabin for one, maximum 2 persons and for every 20 minutes one needed to pay a certain amount of money pp. The pool was without a doubt the dirtiest pool that we have ever seen, dirt everywhere, it was clear that it had been a long, long time ago that the pool had been cleaned IF it ever happened! There were many outsiders whom were not guest from the hotel using the pool as well. After this horror we decided to scrub ourselves in the shower in our room. Good that we brought our own soap and shampoo...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

We stayed there for five days in March 2012. The hotel is across the street from the train station, and within walking distance of downtown where all the shops, restaurants and bars are. The staff is very friendly and the rooms comfortable. They did look a bit outdated, especially when it came to finding electrical outlets. The beds were nice and the curtains blocked out the light pretty well though. Breakfast was above average for Europe when it came to quality and choices. The restaurant had friendly staff, a great steak and great beer, with average Maastricht prices. There is a nice pool for laps and hotel has a business center.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

Friendly staff with a sense of humour.Hotel itself does not really look 4 star,certainly not upstairs in the Labyrinth.Our room on 4th floor was nice and peaceful but there was some paper peeling off wall in bedroom and carpet needed a shampoo.Plastic glasses that crack easily on unwrapping in 4 star?No shampoo in bathroom?Carpet in hallways badly needed a vacuum.Hotel looks nice and quirky from outside and location is excellent but it needs updating certainly.Euros 17.50 for breakfast...no thanks.Go to 'Le Guide' just 100 metres away and get a wonderful Croque Madame for Euros 4.50!Parking is a problem too(don't ask a policeman if you can park overnight in Stationstraat...he will say "yes..no problem" and then you will be ticketed or towed...good money-earner for the Gemeente) but it is directly opposite the railway station.Charming but a bit of a faded beauty. Miss Havisham?

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

The hotel is located near the station of Maastricht, just 5 minutes walking from the shopping center. At first sight the hotel looks a bit shabby but once you enter it looks very fine & tidy. The staff was very friendly, sometimes even with a nice personal approach. Our room was big & had everything you would expect from a 4 star hotel. There were some small temperature problems with our water in the bathroom but that is a minor detail. Breakfast was okay but dinner at the hotel is amazing. The cook uses excellent traditonal products but he gives them a modern & personal touch. I was flabbergasted. Hotel & dinner were also both very reasonable priced. Without any doubt an excellent hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

In serious need of a update. Staff were friendly. Rooms and public areas are really looking tired to the point of being uninviting. Breakfast was very poor for the euros paid. Location is great for the station and about a 15 minute walk to the square. The building is lovely its just a shame its not upkept.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Amrath Grand Hotel De L'Empereur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amrath Grand Hotel De L'Empereur

Address: Stationsstraat 2, 6221BP Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Amrath Grand Hotel De L'Empereur 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Amrath Grand Hotel De L'Empereur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amrath Grand Maastricht

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amrath Grand Hotel De L'Empereur, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.