We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Traditional Inn” 4 of 5 stars
Review of In den Hoof Hotel-Restaurant

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added In den Hoof Hotel-Restaurant to your Saves list
In den Hoof Hotel-Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Akersteenweg 218, 6227 AE Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Aix-en-Provence, France
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely Traditional Inn”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Visiting Maastricht university we stayed here for 2 nights, eating dinner at the hotel on the Saturday night. It's got a lovely atmosphere, real fire blazing away, informal bar area and quite posh restaurant with local dishes (quite gamey, i.e. rabbit etc.) beautifully prepared. We were in Room 3, a corner room on the first floor with twin beds and two armchairs, spacious and comfy, with a little round table and free WiFi for iPad happiness. Cable TV in the room included some BBC channels. Staff were welcoming and could not have been friendlier. I'd stay there again happily.

Room Tip: The hotel is just on the east of town, 4 stops on the no.50 bus, with a bus stop 100yds away. This...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    28
    4
    2
    2
See reviews for
12
22
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed there for 3 nights, with 5 other friends. The hotel staff were very welcoming and helpful. Our room was very comfortable and at the back of the hotel. On the last night we had a meal in the hotel. Despite 5 of us eating vegetarian the chef put on an excellent selection of dishes. It is not often that you are spoilt for choice as a vegetarian! The hotel is a little way out of Maastricht but there is a good inexpensive bus service into the centre of the town.
We had our car and there was plenty of parking spaces in the car park. We were also able to store out bicycles under cover.
Would return to this hotel and would recommend it to my friends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joplin Missouri
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This was our first visit to Maastricht and the Netherlands. It was a perfect visit. Thank you Frank and Paul for everything that you did to make us feel welcome, comfortable, well fed and informed. In den Hoof, is the perfect way to live and experience what the Netherlands is all about. The cleanliness, the casual and relaxed atmosphere, the attention to detail, presentation of the food, and the staff's commitment to absolute perfection is what made our stay so memorable. The location is convenient for accessibility to the highway between Maastricht and Aachen. Another reason we like In den Hoff, was the free onsite parking (for our rental car).
The hotel uses a European-style bed sack(or quilt) instead of a top sheet on the mattress. It was a little different for us, but easy to get used to. The room keys are like paper weights...and not convenient to carry around.
Thank you again Frank and Paul.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lothian, UK
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We visited with a mixed group from Scotland and Germany. Friendly staff in a very comfortable and atmospheric hotel where nothing is too much trouble. Big rooms with very spacious shower facilities. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Situated on the outskirts of Maastricht in some lovely countryside. Too far to walk into Maastricht old town. There are numerous bicycle tracks all round the hotel so if your into cycling this is the place for you
Large room and very clean, nice bathroom. Helpful staff good with local knowledge.
Only complaints, the breakfast was poor with few choices and no tea/coffee making facilities in the room

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth Garden City
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in July 2012 with another couple when we visited Floriade in nearby Venlo. Although out of town the location is ideal as it's on a main road straight into Maastricht and, via the motorway, other nearby towns. We arrived at 8.00pm and as we had been advised by email in advance that the restaurant last orders were 8.30pm, took our place in the restaurant straight away. All our meals were delicious and we ate there on another evening, on the terrace, although our usual routine would have been to eat out every night. The buffet breakfast was very good and our host, having asked during our meal the previous evening, brought us a computer print out of the best route for the day. Similarly when we said we were going to Maastricht we were given a town plan and advised which were the best and cheapest car parks to use. Our rooms were spacious, the beds comfortable, the bathrooms with walk-in showers were very attractive and well equipped. The availability of free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and a computer to use in reception were very welcome. There was ample parking, a terrace (next to the road) and a small enclosed garden to enjoy a drink. A very nice hotel with an excellent host, Paul. I hope we find an excuse to pass this way again as we would definately stay here.

Room Tip: The hotel is located right by the roadside so make sure you ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Stayed on Saturday evening with my cycling buddies. We could safely store our bikes (16) in a garage, which is great of course.
Terrace is big and enough umbrellas for the sun. We had dinner in the hotel, quality is good, more than enough food. Room size was okay, the only "negative", my room was quite hot because of the sun and the windows were closed all day.
I had the windows open during the night, but unfortunately the hotel is located at a busy street, so it was quite noisy.
Breakfast was served at 7 o'clock, a special arrangement for my group. Breakfast was perfect, lots of choices and good food.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to In den Hoof Hotel-Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about In den Hoof Hotel-Restaurant

Address: Akersteenweg 218, 6227 AE Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — In den Hoof Hotel-Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your In den Hoof Hotel-Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Maastricht
Maastricht Minotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage In den Hoof Hotel-Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.