We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great hotel outside the city center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Maastricht

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Maastricht to your Saves list
Novotel Maastricht
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sibemaweg 10, 6227 AH Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
ottersum
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 72 cities Reviews in 72 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
“A great hotel outside the city center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We visited Novotel Maastricht for two nights in March 2014. It is located in one of the suburbs (Heer) next to the ring road. For the guests there is a free shuttle bus to the city center, convention center or train station which departs every hour. Once a day you can take a return shuttle at 18.15 hrs. For intermediate times the hotel recommends a special cab which brings you to the hotel for 8,50 euro.
The hotel itself is rather modern with a huge entrance hall where you can find the reception and a bar which ends into the restaurant. Checking in was a little bit messy, checking out was quick and professional. Staff is very kind and helpful; this also implies to the staff in the restaurant and other personnel. There is a large garden with a large swimming pool which was out of order at that time.
We were four and occupied two superior rooms (304, 306) with textile floor coverings and view on the garden. The rooms have a large double bed with a firm mattress and a side table at each side. The bedside lamps are beautiful but not functional enough for reading. There is also a sofa bed which makes the room suitable for two extra children. There is a large working table with a flat-screen TV with a lot of channels. Left from the working table you’ll find a minibar and tea/coffee facilities and a safe. There is a large linen cupboard near the entrance. We did not need to use the air-conditioner. Wifi is for free.
The bathroom is excellent: a large room with a walk-in shower with a good working shower and a large washstand, all impeccable clean. A hair dryer, shower gel and soap complete the whole. The toilet is in a little separate room.
The warm and cold breakfast buffet is excellent and abundant, but pricey if not included in the price of your stay. There are at least ten kinds of bread, several meat and cheese products, fresh fruit, fresh yoghurt, sweeties, scrambled eggs, etc. Coffee is really good. Diner was rather disappointing: although three of us asked for medium baked pork tenderloin it was all well done and rather dry. It is fair to say that we were compensated by giving us a drink on the house. But if you have diner in the hotel, we recommend you to order another main course. Our diner was included in the price of the arrangement we booked, but a price of 29,50 euro for a three course menu is acceptable, if the quality is o.k. Wine, on the contrary, was very fine (22,50 euro a bottle).
We booked this arrangement through Travelbird and paid 173,00 euro for 2 nights including breakfast and one diner. If you have to pay the full price, the hotel is rather expensive.
All in all, partly due to the very good service the hotel is very recommendable.

Tip: there is an excellent Greek Restaurant in Maastricht, Kesselskade 42, where you can have an excellent meal at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra0991, Supervisor Front Office at Novotel Maastricht, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review on Tripadvisor, we really appreciate it!
I have shared your comments with the team, so that they are aware of their contribution in helping to satisfy you and meet your expectations.

Positive feeback from satisfied clients is our greatest reward. Thank you!

We look forward to welcoming you again at Novotel.

With kind regards,
Sandra van der Horst
Supervisor Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    296
    95
    21
    3
See reviews for
171
194
32
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Waterford, Ireland
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

This is quite a nice hotel, having been fully refurbished relatively recently I assume. Very friendly check-in and pleasant, comfortable room. Dinner in the restaurant was surprisingly good for a chain hotel and decent value too. Although it is located about 2.5kms (20-25 minutes) walk from the city centre they do offer an hourly 8 seater shuttle-bus. Bizarrely however, this only runs on the hour until 6pm and only the 6pm shuttle will bring passengers back out of the city - at all other times you are expected to take advantage of the hotel's deal with a taxi firm (€8.50). We got the shuttle in but walked back out so it was no big deal in the end. Although the hotel is outside the centre you still have to pay €3.50 for parking. Breakfast was overpriced at €18.50 per person with no option for a smaller breakfast - so we ate in town. Despite these little annoyances, I'd still recommend this very nice hotel to anyone travelling to Maastricht.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra0991, Supervisor Front Office at Novotel Maastricht, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Google Translation
Allereerst willen wij u hartelijk bedanken dat u de tijd genomen heeft om uw ervaring met ons te delen.
Wij vinden het heel leuk om te lezen dat u een fijn verblijf gehad heeft en dat u lekker gegeten heeft in ons resaurant.

Wij hopen u in de toekomst nogmaals te mogen verwelkomen in ons hotel!

Met vriendelijke groet,
Sandra van der Horst
Supervisor Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Wonderful designer public areas and clean, bright, unfussy, contemporary rooms with excellent rainfall showers and a separate vestibule for WC and wardrobe (aiding undisturbed sleep). Wi-fi reception was excellent too..

The staff were very helpful and very friendly and while there is a free hourly shuttle TO the railway station and city centre (over the Maas) both are an easy stroll away while eastbank cafes, Ceramique (and Bonnenfanten Museum) and cafes/restaurants around the railway station are even more accessible.

I really liked the atmosphere in this hotel. Smart but informal. The bar and food menu pricing was also pretty reasonable for a hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra0991, Supervisor Front Office at Novotel Maastricht, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you very much for this nice comment!
It's great to hear that you had such a good time in our hotel.

We hope to welcome you again in Maastricht

Kind regard,
Sandra van der Horst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Stayed in this hotel at the end of February for a family occasion. Overall the stay had a positive feel and we all thoroughly enjoyed the hotel and its facilities, only having minor issues causing me to give a 4 rating instead of a 5.

When we arrived the hotel gave us a warm welcome and our three rooms were checked-in within minutes. Arriving in the room one can see a standard lay-out with all the amenities present. The room was nice and clean but with a very standard lay-out, not much of a personal caracter.

The bathroom and toilet are seperated in two different rooms, with the bathroom having a sink and a walk-in shower. The shower has a very good showerhead and all the usual amenities were present. The toilet, in the seperate room, had a broken lid, just being placed on top of the toilet by the housekeeper who cleaned it the last time most probably. Although not a major issue for the one night that I stayed there, still not something one expects from a hotel in this segment.

The hotel provides the standard bar, restaurant and cafe combined in one area, which is very nice to use and we never felt pressured to leave or out of place. The breakfast could be of a bit better quality but still provides everything one could desire. We espescialy liked sitting in the lobby bar for a late night drink.

The hotel is definitely not in the center of the city, it is more in the outskirts. The city can be reached easily though with public transport and the hotel is conveniently located to several businesses and the large meeting space of the MECC

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra0991, Supervisor Front Office at Novotel Maastricht, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am grateful for your feedback about your stay.
I look forward to welcome you again at the Novotel Maastricht

Kind regards,
Sandra van der Horst
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zeist, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

Standard Novotel
Stayed in this hotel for one night. It was very quiet in the hotel. Outside of the city center. The staff is friendly. The check in went smoothly. The standard rooms are basic. The shower is very good. The rooms are clean and everything you need for one night is in it. The TV is a little bit too small for the room. Breakfast buffet is also standard.
I did make a last minute reservation via one of the booking site. Did get a very good price for the room and breakfast. I did get value for money. But if you have to pay normal rates……..
It's not a really cozy hotel. Perhaps it is because of the fact that there were only few guests. Not acozy atmosphere.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandra0991, Supervisor Front Office at Novotel Maastricht, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Google Translation
Graag willen wij u bedanken voor het delen van uw ervaring.
Wij vinden het altijd erg fijn om te lezen dat uw verblijf in ons hotel u goed bevallen is.

Wij hopen u in de toekomst nog een keer te mogen verwelkomen.

Met vriendelijke groet,
Sandra van der Horst
Supervisor Front Office
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

This Novotel is how you would expect it to be: the rooms are rather spacious, clean and comfortable (my room only had a shower and no bath though), service is friendly,... Problem with this hotel (and nearly all business hotel have this problem) is that it lacks any personality, cosyness or character. Decent business hotel, that's it!
The hotel is not in the city centre, so if you are planning to visit Maastricht I would advise something more central.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanielleJongenburger, Front Office Manager at Novotel Maastricht, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am grateful for your feedback about your stay.

We certainly hope to welcome you again at Novotel Maastricht

Kind regards,
Danielle Jongenburger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Maastricht

Address: Sibemaweg 10, 6227 AH Maastricht, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Maastricht
#7 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
#8 Romantic Hotel in Maastricht
#9 Business Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Maastricht is situated on the edge of Maastricht city centre, close to the Maastricht Exhibition & Congress Center (MECC). The Novotel Maastricht is ideal for business trips and weekend breaks, and can be easily reached by car or public transport. Free parking and there is a Free Shuttle bus to the city center, central train station or MECC. The Novotel Maastricht welcomes children, and in the summer months you can enjoy the heated outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maastricht Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Maastricht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.