We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“business trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Maastricht

Save Saved
You added Novotel Maastricht to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Maastricht
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sibemaweg 10, 6227 AH Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #13 of 38 hotels in Maastricht
Write a Review

497 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    99
    281
    94
    20
    3
See reviews for
164
186
32
74
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

In itself, hotel ok if you like the somewhat aseptic environment that Novotels and the likes provide.
Room was mostly clean and functional, with free WiFi, but very bland decor and a rather hard and uncomfortable bed.
Overall hotel decor more of the same, "design" but without much charm. However, the terrace and garden around the pool quite unexpected and lovely.
And very pleasant staff.
Breakfast spread was nice, but certainly not worth the very steep Eur18+ p/p. Limited and pricey dinner menu, but the food was tasty.
We booked this hotel as it was supposedly close to the Merc conference center, and while hotel hourly shuttle buses do get you there in less than ten minutes, it is more like a 25/30 minute walk than the 15 advertised. And same is true about getting into the very pretty town center.
Hotel is in the middle of nowhere, or more accurately, in the middle of very major road works, as a tunnel is being built to put the A2 highway underground. This is not the hotel's fault, however it does give a wasteland feel to the environs, with huge mounds of dirt all around, and constant noise and dust. Unfortunately, works are scheduled to go on for a few more years!
I don't plan to be back in Maastricht in the foreseeable future, however, were I to return, I wouldn't book this hotel based on proximity to the conference center!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

we prepaid our hotel room for 5 nights but on check-in novotel took €1, 200 from our credit card as deposit; this is ludicrous! we stayed in so many hotels accross europe this month but all only took €100 deposit. Maastricht missed out on our shopping due to Novotel's policy. we will never stay again in a novotel hotel around the world.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trollhattan, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Overall the hotel was really nice, room was nice, shower great and the bed extremely comfortable! No noise from roads or other guests. We did not buy the breakfast which was really expensive and didn't use the restaurant in the evening for the same reason. Our room overlooked the small swimming pool and also a huge pile of rubble from major construction work close by. However this did not really distract us. There was a free hotel shuttle bus available to take guests into the city centre (it ran on an hourly basis up to 1815h), just need to prebook spaces at the reception desk. Overall enjoyed our stay and would be more than happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandhurst, Berkshire, UK
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I've used Novotel Maastricht many times, was always my hotel of choice when visiting town ( which is usually 2 to 3 times a year). They have recently refurbished the reception and bar area, which looks nice and fresh, if not a little lacking in atmosphere. However we saw a marked drop in service. On a busy Friday (The spa GP weekend) at 5pm only 1 person was manning check in and we queued for some time, whilst friendly he wasn't very quick. We then had problems with the shuttle bus, the hotel favouring non checked in guests and the cab they booked failed to turn up so i had to drive us all in to town for dinner one evening. The rooms are starting to tire and the maids did not fully replenish the rooms. It didn't help that the fire alarm went off at 5am one morning either. Very disappointed it seems to be going backwards !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Maastricht

Address: Sibemaweg 10, 6227 AH Maastricht, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Maastricht
#4 Family Hotel in Maastricht
#4 Business Hotel in Maastricht
#8 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Maastricht 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Maastricht is situated on the edge of Maastricht city centre, close to the Maastricht Exhibition & Congress Center (MECC). The Novotel Maastricht is ideal for business trips and weekend breaks, and can be easily reached by car or public transport. Free parking and there is a Free Shuttle bus to the city center, central train station or MECC. The Novotel Maastricht welcomes children, and in the summer months you can enjoy the heated outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, ACCOR, Tingo, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Novotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maastricht Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Maastricht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.