We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Novotel--Newish Hotel in the Middle of Nowhere, Except for Major Road Works!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Maastricht

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Maastricht to your Saves list
Novotel Maastricht
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sibemaweg 10, 6227 AH Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 39 Hotels in Maastricht
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Paris, France
Level Contributor
213 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Novotel--Newish Hotel in the Middle of Nowhere, Except for Major Road Works!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

In itself, hotel ok if you like the somewhat aseptic environment that Novotels and the likes provide.
Room was mostly clean and functional, with free WiFi, but very bland decor and a rather hard and uncomfortable bed.
Overall hotel decor more of the same, "design" but without much charm. However, the terrace and garden around the pool quite unexpected and lovely.
And very pleasant staff.
Breakfast spread was nice, but certainly not worth the very steep Eur18+ p/p. Limited and pricey dinner menu, but the food was tasty.
We booked this hotel as it was supposedly close to the Merc conference center, and while hotel hourly shuttle buses do get you there in less than ten minutes, it is more like a 25/30 minute walk than the 15 advertised. And same is true about getting into the very pretty town center.
Hotel is in the middle of nowhere, or more accurately, in the middle of very major road works, as a tunnel is being built to put the A2 highway underground. This is not the hotel's fault, however it does give a wasteland feel to the environs, with huge mounds of dirt all around, and constant noise and dust. Unfortunately, works are scheduled to go on for a few more years!
I don't plan to be back in Maastricht in the foreseeable future, however, were I to return, I wouldn't book this hotel based on proximity to the conference center!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

we prepaid our hotel room for 5 nights but on check-in novotel took €1, 200 from our credit card as deposit; this is ludicrous! we stayed in so many hotels accross europe this month but all only took €100 deposit. Maastricht missed out on our shopping due to Novotel's policy. we will never stay again in a novotel hotel around the world.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fwmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trollhattan, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Overall the hotel was really nice, room was nice, shower great and the bed extremely comfortable! No noise from roads or other guests. We did not buy the breakfast which was really expensive and didn't use the restaurant in the evening for the same reason. Our room overlooked the small swimming pool and also a huge pile of rubble from major construction work close by. However this did not really distract us. There was a free hotel shuttle bus available to take guests into the city centre (it ran on an hourly basis up to 1815h), just need to prebook spaces at the reception desk. Overall enjoyed our stay and would be more than happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Shakey2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fordingbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I've used Novotel Maastricht many times, was always my hotel of choice when visiting town ( which is usually 2 to 3 times a year). They have recently refurbished the reception and bar area, which looks nice and fresh, if not a little lacking in atmosphere. However we saw a marked drop in service. On a busy Friday (The spa GP weekend) at 5pm only 1 person was manning check in and we queued for some time, whilst friendly he wasn't very quick. We then had problems with the shuttle bus, the hotel favouring non checked in guests and the cab they booked failed to turn up so i had to drive us all in to town for dinner one evening. The rooms are starting to tire and the maids did not fully replenish the rooms. It didn't help that the fire alarm went off at 5am one morning either. Very disappointed it seems to be going backwards !

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Entwistlea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here as a base for the Belgium Grand Prix

Hotel rooms are good and clean.

Bad points
Location - it's quite away from the station and the city centre. There are no amenities around the hotel, city centre is a 15 minute walk away.

Breakfast - overpriced and poor service. Tables not cleared and long wait for hot good to be replenished.

I'd stay here again but would not touch the breakfast again .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed here while driving around Europe. I chose this hotel because I had read that it was good for families and that was truly the case. The hotel has a pool, playground, video game area and ping pong table. It was a little out of town, but they have a shuttle that brings you to town. On the way back we took a taxi which wasn't too expensive. It was actually nice to stay out of the city a bit, and let the kids unwind and have some fun time during our trip. Room was adequate also. I have nothing to complain about.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lvebeachvac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.5 mi away
NH Maastricht
NH Maastricht
#9 of 39 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 761 reviews
0.8 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#5 of 39 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 1,020 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hampshire Designhotel - Maastricht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht
#17 of 39 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 472 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Beaumont
Hotel Beaumont
#3 of 39 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 852 reviews
0.2 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Maastricht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Maastricht

Address: Sibemaweg 10, 6227 AH Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Maastricht
#5 Family Hotel in Maastricht
#7 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
#8 Business Hotel in Maastricht
#11 Romantic Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Maastricht is situated on the edge of Maastricht city centre, close to the Maastricht Exhibition & Congress Center (MECC). The Novotel Maastricht is ideal for business trips and weekend breaks, and can be easily reached by car or public transport. Free parking and there is a Free Shuttle bus to the city center, central train station or MECC. The Novotel Maastricht welcomes children, and in the summer months you can enjoy the heated outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Venere, Expedia, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Novotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maastricht Novotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing