We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast and clean rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Maastricht

Save Saved
You added Novotel Maastricht to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Novotel
and 9 more sites!
Novotel Maastricht
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sibemaweg 10, Maastricht 6227 AH, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 37 hotels in Maastricht
Koege, Denmark
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good breakfast and clean rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

The hotel seems a bit outdated, especially the hallways. But the rooms are up-to-date with modern furnishing and nice clean bathroom. A bit annoying that the toilet is separated from the bathroom (I know it is common in some countries). The reception and restaurant was nice and reasonable in price. The breakfast buffet was huge and fresh. Parking facility and location to the city was good. They offer shuttle to the center, but it is never avaible.
All in All a good experience and I would definitely stay here another time.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

457 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    262
    87
    18
    6
See reviews for
147
159
32
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Just for one night we stayed here visiting a conference in Maastrichs MECC.
The hotel is ok. But the neigbourhoud a bit unwellcoming.
But we had a good sleep and breakfast here.
The room was quiet and spacious and very clean.
Ww were a bit dissapointed that the MECC conference centre was not really in walking distance, due to the higwaycrossings one has to make. But the hotel provided a free shuttle service!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mons, Belgium
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

Very good hotel, the situation is not too far from the center and the station. Possible to walk to the town in the morning without the car!
The food was very good (only the breakfast), the choice was vast. I hope to go again at the end of the year.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

We have now stayed as a family twice at this hotel, and have really enjoyed our stay both times.

One thing I should mention right away is that staying here probably isn't for everyone because of the location. If you want to be right in the center, this isn't the best hotel for that. If you don't mind taking the bus (the bus stop is nearby), the hotel shuttle, or driving into the center, this is an option worth looking at, though -- it's only a few minutes away. If you want to walk into the center, or from the train station to the hotel, I would advise thinking twice, though -- the city is bisected by the A2, and the center and train station are on one side, while the hotel is on the other. On foot, it isn't obvious where you can cross, so you really have to know, in advance, what route to take.

With all that said, on to the hotel itself. We came with two children, ages 9 and 4. Check-in, and all later interactions with the hotel staff, was friendly and professional. The rooms we've had both times have been equipped with a large bed and a sofa bed for the kids. There are plenty of towels, pillows, etc, and a good sized bathroom with either a shower or bath tub. The room is a bit snug once you have the sofa bed pulled out, but there is still plenty of room for luggage and we haven't had any issues. Everything is comfortable and clean. Since the Dutch don't dub most television, finding shows in English isn't a problem.

Breakfast is available, and is free for children if the adults are eating too. It's a bit pricey, but in our opinion is worth it, with a large amount of variety and quite generous hours that it is open. The restaurant is also nice if you feel like staying in for the evening -- not cheap, but not really out of line with the prices in Maastricht or the rest of the Netherlands.

One thing we really like, and that makes it a great hotel if you are coming with children, is the kid-friendly features of the hotel. Children get a small gift when you check in. There is an outdoor pool and playground, but both times we've visited the weather has made it impractical to try them out. There are also building blocks, video game consoles, a foosball table, and a TV with children's movies (on one time we visited, off the other) in the lobby. This makes the lobby a great place to unwind as a parent -- you can bring a book, your laptop (free wireless in the hotel), etc, and just let the kids play. Since the lobby is right outside the restaurant, this also means you can linger over your meal while the kids go and have fun.

Overall, especially if you have children, I would highly recommend this hotel, and we definitely plan to return on our next trip to Maastricht.

Room Tip: I'm not sure it matters which room you get -- the hotel is not far from the expressway, but we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Novotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Maastricht

Also Known As:
Maastricht Novotel
Address: Sibemaweg 10, Maastricht 6227 AH, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Maastricht
#6 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Maastricht 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Maastricht is situated on the edge of Maastricht city centre, close to the Maastricht Exhibition & Congress Center (MECC). The Novotel Maastricht is ideal for business trips and weekend breaks, and can be easily reached by car or public transport. Free parking and there is a Free Shuttle bus to the city center, central train station or MECC. The Novotel Maastricht welcomes children, and in the summer months you can enjoy the heated outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelsNL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Novotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Maastricht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.