We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel with good restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Maastricht

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Novotel Maastricht to your Saves list
Novotel Maastricht
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sibemaweg 10, 6227 AH Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
EARLY BOOKING - UP TO 30%
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice hotel with good restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Having won a voucher for this hotel through the lottery, we went to Maastricht for the weekend. The hotel is located on the off-ramp of the highway, but we did not hear any noise in the room. The city centre, however, is quite a distance away, so be prepared to bike it there (hotel offers rentals), take the complimentary shuttle service (runs in the morning), walk it (about 1.5-2 km) or park closer and incur the parking fee.
The restaurant is very good, offers a good choice of starters, main courses and desserts and a set 3-course menu with choice of meat or fish.

The room we had was clean and had a nice firm bed. The bathroom was clean and looked recently refurbished. The room had a separate toilet - which can be a big plus for some people.

All in all, a nice hotel for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    287
    95
    21
    3
See reviews for
169
188
32
77
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Save your self some money and time and stay in town. This hotel is outside the city. The free shuttle is not convinient. You'll have to wait for the taxi to arrive at the hotel, or in town to pick you up.
The food is REALLY BAD!!! The breakfast is good, however the lunch buffet has only 2-3 hot meal choices and most days it was really really bad, so we had to fill up on salads, etc.

The rooms are very basic. They dont have sheets under the covers. I asked for a sheet for under the cover and it took them a long time to bring one. When I asked them what took so long they said "we had to find one in the hotel"... which hotel doesnt have extra sheets????

I was there for a week for meetings. We had blocked 40 rooms, and even though we had rented meeting rooms and paid alot of money for food, beverages, meeting space, rooms etc, they were not flexible in letting us check out late.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
431 reviews 431 reviews
307 hotel reviews
Reviews in 271 cities Reviews in 271 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We had to go through a few hoops to navigate to the hotel through major roadworks in Maastricht but finally got there! Nice hotel with friendly staff so checkin went well. Room was very nice and comfortable although shower was a little small. Hotel offered transport into the centre of Delft but we had to wait 15 minutes beyond the expected time and noticed the same thing the following day so if you have deadlines don't bank on it! We had dinner in the restaurant one night which was fine although the service was slow as the guests sitting outside seemed to be given priority. Appreciated the free parking and wifi.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

We arrived late in the afternoon and waited quite some time to check in. There was only one person working the front desk, and she was taking phone calls and dealing with check-ins at the same time.

We decided to stay in the hotel for dinner that night. The restaurant is right off the lobby, and overlooks the pool. There's nothing in the world like watching a parade of hairy backs, ill-fitting Speedos and man-boobs while dining with your family.

The tomato soup is exceptional. I had a lasagna bolognese that tasted EXACTLY like Chef Boyardee, except it cost about $30. Wait staff was varied...our server was not too pleasant, but we were checked up on by a manager several times during the meal.

One note I would like to make is that I ordered a mineral water with lemon, and it arrived with a plastic stirrer that had clearly been pre-used in a tomato drink. It still had chunks of tomato pulp stuck to it!

The room was clean, but nothing special. In fact, it was so comically small that we laughed when we opened the door. When the sofa bed was open, there was nowhere to walk. We had a choice between a shower or a bath, so we chose a shower. It was in a separate room from the toilet, which is in a room that affords just enough room for you to get in and sit down. No lock on the door, which was dangerous because if someone were to fling the door open while you were on the toilet, it would result in concussion.

The bed was one of the most uncomfortable I have experienced in my lifetime.

The breakfast buffet was mediocre at best.

Overall, this was not a good place for a family to be. It may be a better fit for a business traveler.

Room Tip: Find another hotel. ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a weekend. The hotel is modern with comfortable rooms, and the personnel is friendly and helpful. The hotel is located out of the centre, and it is convenient if you have a car (there is a parking which is free for guests). From there it is only a five minutes' straightforward drive to the city centre. There is free wifi internet access in the hotel, but I used the public computer in the lobby, which worked very well. Breakfast was a buffet and it was ok with a decent selection. The price is a bit steep - considering the location - if you choose the flexible rate (as I did as I wanted to be able to change if needed), otherwise quite reasonable for the quality offered.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redditch, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

A fairly decent hotel, rooms Ok and comfortable, mini bar expensive but does has free wifi. Bar and restaurant are Ok with a good selection of drink and food, but worth going into town though. The hotel operates a free shuttle bus into Masstricht itself which you should book but this depends on when you go.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Maastricht

Address: Sibemaweg 10, 6227 AH Maastricht, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Maastricht
#3 Best Value Hotel in Maastricht
#7 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
#8 Business Hotel in Maastricht
#9 Romantic Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Maastricht is situated on the edge of Maastricht city centre, close to the Maastricht Exhibition & Congress Center (MECC). The Novotel Maastricht is ideal for business trips and weekend breaks, and can be easily reached by car or public transport. Free parking and there is a Free Shuttle bus to the city center, central train station or MECC. The Novotel Maastricht welcomes children, and in the summer months you can enjoy the heated outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, ACCOR, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Novotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maastricht Novotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Maastricht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.