We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for the money” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Tulip Inn Maastricht Aachen Airport

Save Saved
You added Tulip Inn Maastricht Aachen Airport to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Tulip Inn Maastricht Aachen Airport
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Vliegveldweg 86, 6229 GV Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #32 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Columbia, Maryland
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Not bad for the money”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

Place was in-expensive. But you also get what you pay for. It was clean enough, but very dated and in dire need of upgrading. Still slept well. Bus stop is right outside with direct access to Maastricht which was nice. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    7
    12
    8
    3
See reviews for
4
8
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2009

This seems to be a corner of the world which needs a few more mid-range hotels. We stayed at this hotel on a Saturday night becuase everything else around was booked up.

On arrival at the hotel, I was amused to see that it was a motel style hotel, where the rooms were accessed from the carpark. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. They pointed me to my room and, ugh. The smell of carpet freshener to mask the odour of staleness and age. I opened the windows to try and air the place out. The bathroom was reasonably clean, but no amount of scrubbing would make the place better as it is done in 1970s style brown tiles. The hotel says it is a 3-star; I'd be pushed to give it 2.

The beds were sort of comfortable, but only just.

While my wife was out with friends on Saturday night, I ate in the hotel resturaunt. Pasta with ox-tail and vegetables. With what tasted like soysauce. I ate some, but had to leave it. I was surprised after to find a sticker on the door saying the resturaunt had been mentioned in the 2007 Michelin guide.

Breakfast the next day was not the best. Scrambelled eggs made of powdered egg, bacon, a pretty poor selection of cheese and cold meats. At at €13.50 per person I thought was way too expensive.

But for 50€ for the night, I could accept paying that price.

Would I be back? Not if I could help it, unless the whole place is refurbished from top to bottom.

Finally, I heard hardly any planes taking off or landing. I think the last in the evening was at 23.00, and the first in the morning was around 09.00.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arundel, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2009

When I arrived I was welcomed by friendly staff at the reception desk and enjoyed a rather 'over-priced' ham & chesse baguette. The restaurant is quite spacious with a view out to the Aachen airport which is mainly used by cargo and light aircrafts. The room was quite basic with a rather poor shower and the floor wasn't the cleanest I have seen. Also hearing the traffic from the main road was a sleeping issue! As its next to a main road it can be conveinent to many customers and buses are every 30 mins to the town centre. Not ideal if you want to be near to town centre but good for long-distance travellers on the road needing a place to stay. I was here for two nights and another night may have been to many.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baarn, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2009

I have choosen this hotel for it's location. Close the to highways, which was very handy for my visits to other cities around Maastricht. Rooms are looking old and dirty. The facilities are okay in the room. The hallways to the rooms are old and smell dirty.
The staff is great and very helpfull and friendly.
Breakfast is reasonable but little bit expensive (€15).
Dinner in my case was terrible. Soup was too hot, so not to eat and no taste. My spaghetti carbonara looked good, but again no taste at all. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Top Contributor
276 reviews 276 reviews
159 hotel reviews
Reviews in 173 cities Reviews in 173 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2008

Arrived after dark, having cycled 138km all day in the freezing rain, with no available accommodation for kilometres around. However, friendly staff took pity and gave me a "special" price (Euro60 single). Large bedroom met the expected Dutch levels of cleanliness. Very quiet. Big surprise was the splendid buffet breakfast (Euro13) in a restaurant overlooking the runway, watching the early morning flights come and go.

  • Liked — Friendly and considerate staff
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoofddorp
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2008

Recently the Hotel has been taken over by Tulip Inn, so before the stay I couldn't find a review.
The room was clean, a little bit out dated, other then that it was fine. Unfortunately we could not look out onto the runway directly as our room was located on the ground floor and the hedges were more then 2 meters high. To see the airplanes take of and land you will have to get out onto the terrace of the hotel.
.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
274 helpful votes 274 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2006

I stayed here on my way to Berlin.

I stayed in two rooms. The first was basic but bright and very quiet. On the upper floor
( just ground and upper floor). The hotel is next door to the airport and unless you have a car, there is absolutely nothing near to see or do. I enjoyed teh peace and quiet after being in Amsterdam and although very basic, suited my needs.

I also stayed on my return journey to Maastricht as my flight arrived late in the evening. This time I booked the room through their own website and got an even cheaper deal. However, this room was on the ground floor and seemed quite shabby compared to the previous room. Worse than that was the noise from both rooms either side of my room. You could hear converstaions through both walls. Fortunately, i couldnt understand any of teh languages being spoken so it was less annoying. So beware of cheap deals...you get the crappy rooms!

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tulip Inn Maastricht Aachen Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tulip Inn Maastricht Aachen Airport

Address: Vliegveldweg 86, 6229 GV Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tulip Inn Maastricht Aachen Airport 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Otel so you can book your Tulip Inn Maastricht Aachen Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Maastricht

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tulip Inn Maastricht Aachen Airport, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.