We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De Ruiterij 1, 6221 EW Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
98 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
275 helpful votes 275 helpful votes
“Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2006

I have been to Maastricht several times and stayed in this hotel for the 2nd time. I feel very much attached to this old district opposite the "real" centre of the town. The street paralleling the river Maas and lying between the hotel and the old bridge boasts many good restaurants.
This time we stayed for 3 nights. On arrival in the afternoon we were upgraded to a junior suite. This was a regular sized top-floor room with a kingbed accomodated on a second, open floor, connected by a steep staircase. The room had a small balcony offering a sidewards view to the river Maas. I was pleasantly surprised to find the hotel room having been newly renovated.
My colleage stayed in the new executive wing, enjoying a spacious well appointed room with a direct view towards the river.
Breakfast in the restaurant was good. The staff appears to be polite but a little gruffy, a characteristic which I find in other Dutch places (and persons), too. Maybe this is simply a cultural matter which I do not understand. The bar service in the evening could have been more professional but nevertheless very polite. We did not try the restaurant.
After all, I felt well off in this hotel. It has a welcoming athmosphere, everything was clean, in good working order. And I just love its location!
During my next visit I am looking forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    132
    79
    24
    7
See reviews for
36
114
15
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2006

The hotel is located by the river and it is in a quiet surrounding. Whichever direction your room is facing, it should be quiet. The room I had was very comfortable and spacious. There is also free coffee and tea facilities in the room and a free bottle of mineral water, which is unusual for European hotels. The hotel is a short walk from the city centre and there are several restaurants nearby. The hotel website has offers for early booking and the deal is very good. The rate I get did not include breakfast and you have to pay €23 for breakfast. It is buffet style with good selections but unless you have lots of time to enjoy all the food, I would not pay such a high price for breakfast out of my own pockets. All and all, it is a lovely hotel and I would certainly recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2006

We spend one night here. It is suppose to be 5 stars, but i found nothing special about is. Yes, the place is clean, beds are fine, breakfast was good etc etc.
But all you find here are people that want no surpises. I found it a boring place with absolutely no own identity what so ever. Next time I would rather find something less expensive and more charming.
However, if you are over 50 or with a family and have loads of money to spend and want a comfortably and clean, quiet stay in the middle of the center; this is just the place.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2006

Preface:I was supposed to travel in November but had to cancel. This was the only hotel in Maastricht proper that was available to me then.

Given the choice, I would have opted for anothet hotel this trip. CP was too pricey even for me. Room was OK; clean, balcony, wireless internet access.
Location was great; has a nice view of the river and must be terrific in the summer for just hanging out at the bar.
Restaurant was surprisingly very good; the creamy onion soup was to die for. Breakfast buffet was minimal and they made no efforts to replenish. I do understand that in January there are few visitors and staffing may have been an issue.
Bar was nice as was the wait staff - had good conversation.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2006

We've just returned from a weekend stay at the Crown Plaza.
We were very happy with this hotel. The (executive) room is quite large and the 2 beds are very comfortable. The bathroom was also very spacious and luxurious, although smelling a bit mouldy. It looked clean though.
The staff at this hotel is very helpful and super-friendly, also at the restaurant. We had dinner at restaurant "La Mangerie" and can really advise to try it when staying at the Crown Plaza. Great food, great service.
The breakfast buffet is also very good!
Location of the hotel: ideal.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cotswolds
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2005

Stayed at the Crowne Plaza in September 2005 for three nights. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone that wants to spend any amount of time in Maastricht. The location of the Crowne Plaza means that you have access to all the City - the Railway Station is no distance away, the other side of the city is approximately 5 mins walk (genuine 5 mins). We found the staff helpful and always willing to oblige. The hotel is well looked after - the meals and drinks within the restaurant/bar area are of good value when you consider it is a 5 star hotel.

My only advice to anyone that is going to stay at the Crowne Plaza - make sure you have a good street map of Maastricht. You can see the hotel from the other side of the river, but trying to get to it can be frustrating - it's set back in a cul-de-sac.

The car parking facilities are wonderful - the staff at the hotel will park your vehicle for you in the underground facility - this area is sectioned off from the other area of the car park. The Crowne Plaza charges 21 euro per 24 hours, whereas the main car park people charge 15 euro per 24 hours. The entrance to this car park is besdie the exit tot he facility (the Crowne Plaza has its own entrance point but has to use the main car park exit like everyone else).

Various shops and restaurants are on your door step - there is a fantastic cafe to the left of the hotel (it is always packed). The main street leading to the railway station and to the other side of the city has some of the most amazing cake shops, fine dinig out eating areas and several wonderful purveyors of Belgian chocolate (the chocolate is a fraction of the cost that we pay in the UK and tastes gorgeous)

I'd recommend anyone to stay at the Crowne Plaza - you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, UK
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
177 hotel reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
307 helpful votes 307 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2005

I checked into the Crowne Plaza and for a 75 EUR rate for one night I was surprisingly upgraded to an Executive Room. Breakfast was 22 EUR, which I decided not to take.

This was a very nice room, it formed part of a new block which had recently been added to the hotel. The room was very large, with a seating area - two double beds and a substantial bathroom with excellent shampoo etc.

I'm not quite sure that it would reach a 5 star status without a fitness suite or swimming pool, but the common areas of the hotel were very finely decorated and pleasant. The bar facing the river was nice, although a little expensive.

It is a short walk into the old town, across the river - the receptionists were very helpful and welcoming and Maastricht is a really relaxing place for a short break - well done Crowne Plaza!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht

Address: De Ruiterij 1, 6221 EW Maastricht, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Maastricht
#9 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Crowne Plaza Maastricht is the best hotel to stay in the centre of Maastricht, the city of the Maastricht treaty. The hotel is unique and quiet situated on the river Maas, in the city centre. Crowne Plaza Maastricht is easy accessible and has its own underground car park.Crowne Plaza offers luxuriously regular rooms as well as Clubrooms on a 5-star level, all equipped with air conditioning and high-speed internet.You are sure to find excellent wining and dining in the hotel's restaurant 'de Mangerie'. The kitchen team prepares Mediterranean as well as local cuisine with fresh seasonal products.In addition the hotel offers 9 meeting rooms for gatherings up to 400 peoples, dinners up to 700 peoples and parties up to 1500 peoples. Here too, service is of primary importance and the staff goes just that step further when advising their guests.You find the historical city centre, were the bars with the famous terraces, shops and restaurants are situated, within walking distance. In short: Hotel Crowne Plaza Maastricht is the address for a wonderful stay and a successful gathering!Special events during the year in Maastricht: TEFAF:The European Fine Art Fair, Carnival, Preuvenemint, concert of André Rieu, Winterland. Pursuant to the Dutch legislation regarding the ban on smoking the hotel is entirely non-smoking by 1 July 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Maastricht Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.