We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maastricht is not an easy place to get to!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De Ruiterij 1, 6221 EW Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #18 of 38 hotels in Maastricht
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Maastricht is not an easy place to get to!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

I had to stay here when working with a client and flew into Brussels airport. My first shock was the taxi fare to the hotel (300Euros, my return was only 170). The hotel is located right next to the river Maas and in the centre of the town. Maastricht is quaint, with lots of old buildings and small restaurants - all very attractive and well worth a visit. The hotel stands out amongst these old buildings because it is quite modern. Big clean rooms with all the facilities you need. Good standard restaurant and bar with very helpful staff. What's missing is a gym. Internet is expensive.
The confrerence facilities are superb.

Room Tip: Choose a river view at executive level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    61
    120
    70
    21
    6
See reviews for
29
97
15
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leesville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This hotel is right on the river. My wife and I have stayed here several times. I am Diamond with IHG so they usually give us an upgrade. We have gotten two story rooms and rooms on the club level that have access to the roof patio. A lot of the rooms have a view of the river. It's very easy to walk across the bridge to some of the most amazing shopping you will find anywhere. There are a lot of good restaurants and bars in walking distance. Coffeeshops are in walking distance, but they do not cater to those of us from the US anymore in the Limburg provence. If you are a US citizen, at the time of this writing, you need to go north to make purchases at a coffeeshop. Salvatore is a great door man/concierge. He has been there for most of our trips and is very friendly and helpful. You cannot go wrong with this hotel or Maastricht. One of our favorite cities of all time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonning
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This Crowne [why that pompous, superfluous 'e', for goodness sake?] Plaza has a great site, tucked away behind historic, arrow, cobbled shopping streets and right on the banks of the Maas.

So of course its architecture - typical '[--] you' American hotel style - clashes completely and spoils that corner of the town.

With such a site, it's guaranteed business; so it doesn't have to try that hard. It's filled most of the time with business conference groups. The rooms are adequate - US-chain standard - and not expensive. But food is [Euros 20 for breakfast, Euros 70 for dinner]. And the service is average.

Good for a business trip; not otherwise. There are better, more characterful hotels in and around Maastricht.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear spanner48,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. I am glad you enjoyed our great location. We rely on you, our guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually.

Regards,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

I stayed in this hotel for a week. The hotel is pretty clean, good quality and some of the room have a good river view. It is also in close proximity to the city center. Nice options in breakfast. The internet access was little expensive.

Room Tip: Get a river facing room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht is very good hotel. Between pluses are placement to center, good view, clean rooms, good breakfast and service!
Our group had meeting in Hotel just for 3 days. But these days were spending great in wonderful hotel!
It's pity that Crowne plaza doesn't have swimming pool and free wi-fi. But instead this everything was great!

Room Tip: Very cute and comfort rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Stayed 4 nights here on a business trip. Nice hotel, professional staff. Not so expensive : mine was at 131 euros standard. At 20 euros extra you get a room by the river. A pre-booked break fast is at 17 euros other wise 21 euors. Wifi & internet have to be purchased unless you are a gold member. The rooms come with an ironing board: an added plus for business travellers
One point for improvement: the toilets are clean but look old. My room's WC was stained due to age and didnt feel well considering that this is a Starred hotel.
If you arrive late night: the kitchen serves from a choice of 10/12 dishes and not the full menu. Room service charges are an extra 5 euros.
Evenings are very pleasant if you can reserve a table by the river and enjoy a nice drink or dinner.
Break fast is a standard affair with breads, eggs, fruits, bacon, corn flakes, different cheese, spreads, butter. Th hotel is just 800 metres from Maastricht train station and the walk is through streets lined with quaint shops. Lotsa restaurants nearby fine dining, multi-cuisne and the regulars like subs, macs etc.

Room Tip: Select a room with the river view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Crowne Plaza quality. We stayed in one of the new King Club Rooms. It had an unusual but nice layout. Toilet with a small sink separate from shower and larger sink. Staff was very helpful at check in and check out. The staff took the time to give us a map and showed us where to walk. Location is great, right on the river. We did not have a drink at the hotel bar, but the setting looked great along the water.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
Bar/Lounge, Rom...
Show More
0.4 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#2 of 38 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 730 reviews
Independent Hot...
Show More
0.7 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#1 of 38 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 stars 258 reviews
Luxury, Restaur...
Show More
0.2 mi away
Hotel Beaumont
Hotel Beaumont
#4 of 38 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Luxury, Restaur...
Show More
0.9 mi away
NH Maastricht
NH Maastricht
#11 of 38 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.5 mi away
Hotel Mabi
Hotel Mabi
#5 of 38 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 170 reviews
Restaurant, Poo...
Show More
0.9 mi away
Novotel Maastricht
Novotel Maastricht
#9 of 38 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht

Address: De Ruiterij 1, 6221 EW Maastricht, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Crowne Plaza Maastricht is the best hotel to stay in the centre of Maastricht, the city of the Maastricht treaty. The hotel is unique and quiet situated on the river Maas, in the city centre. Crowne Plaza Maastricht is easy accessible and has its own underground car park.Crowne Plaza offers luxuriously regular rooms as well as Clubrooms on a 5-star level, all equipped with air conditioning and high-speed internet.You are sure to find excellent wining and dining in the hotel's restaurant 'de Mangerie'. The kitchen team prepares Mediterranean as well as local cuisine with fresh seasonal products.In addition the hotel offers 9 meeting rooms for gatherings up to 400 peoples, dinners up to 700 peoples and parties up to 1500 peoples. Here too, service is of primary importance and the staff goes just that step further when advising their guests.You find the historical city centre, were the bars with the famous terraces, shops and restaurants are situated, within walking distance. In short: Hotel Crowne Plaza Maastricht is the address for a wonderful stay and a successful gathering!Special events during the year in Maastricht: TEFAF:The European Fine Art Fair, Carnival, Preuvenemint, concert of André Rieu, Winterland. Pursuant to the Dutch legislation regarding the ban on smoking the hotel is entirely non-smoking by 1 July 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, HotelsNL, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Maastricht Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.