We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De Ruiterij 1, 6221 EW Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Manchester, Connecticut
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I used to stay at this hotel frequently when I traveled on business to Maastricht, but this was my first visit in about five years. The hotel has received a facelift in the common areas since my last visit. The rooms look about the same as they did when I last visited, which is to say that they are somewhat dated. On a positive note, the rooms are clean, and the shower has plenty of hot water. The TV has plenty of international channels in various languages.

On a negative side, internet access, breakfast, and parking are all a bit expensive. On a positive side, the location cannot be beaten in Maastricht. The hotel is on the River Maas, and everything downtown on both sides of the river is within easy walking distance. This hotel was my home away from home when I used to visit Maastricht more frequently, and I make it a point to stay here whenever I visit Maastricht.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    119
    76
    23
    7
See reviews for
33
106
15
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Crown Plaza in Maastricht is right on the banks of the River Maas, and while my room was small it had a little balcony from which I could view the rooftops of Wyck. I thought it was pretty special, even if I couldn't actually see the Maas from where I was. The view was spectacular though from the hotel restaurant. The hotel itself is looking a little tired but this didn't detract from my experience at all. The hotel staff were very helpful particularly with my requests to locate a nail salon for minor repairs. I was disappointed with the vegetarian options on the restaurant menu though. Breakfast was the usual fare with some cooked options. The hotel is within walking distance of most things although it's rained most of the time I was I town which was dissapointing but this just means I will need to go back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I spent two nights here to explore Maastricht on foot and I coulldn't imagine a better location. Short walk to town and a nice modern room -- plus elevators!...something you can't take for granted in this city. Breakfast is expensive but there is a Coffee Lovers right behind the building and there is a range of restaurants very close by. i would,, however, recommend drinks on the patio of the hotel overlooking the river at dusk. BEAUTIFUL!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

When I am in Maastricht I like to sleep here. The location of this hotel is great. You can walk right into the city but you can park your car below the hotel. Their terrace (for drinks but also to eat) is fantastic. It is right next to the river and you have a fantastic view. The hotel has very friendly staff and you really feel at home. Nice bar. Nice restaurants surrounding the hotel including the Beluga restaurant which is just around the corner. The only disadvantage of this hotel is that the rooms urgently need refurbishment. They are not bad or dirty but they are old. When this will happen this hotel will stay my favourite hotel in Maastricht.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Diederik B,

Thank you for your review. All our guest comments are valuable and we consider them seriously in the consistent endeavor to improve the quality of our products and service.

I was delighted to read that despite your dissatisfaction with the room appearance, you were still able to enjoy your stay with us. I apologize for the shortfalls, nevertheless, I am glad that you were satisfied with most of the features provided. Since our guests are the center of our focus, it is customary for our hotel staff to continually create and provide the best product always. Therefore, we are pleased that these efforts reflected in your total guest experience.

I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a duplex junior suite which had 3 beds, two tvs and a mini bar. It didn't have a DVD player which was in room description. The furniture / decor was a bit outdated, scuff marks on walls etc, but it was very clean and the beds very comfy. The bathroom was well stocked with occitane products. We didn't eat here but breakfast was offered for €17 p.p. There are nice cafes around the corner from the hotel and great streets full of quirky, quaint little shops. The hotel offered valet parking for €22 per day, although expensive it was very handy. We arrived early Friday and left late Sunday and were charged €44. The staff were helpful and were also able to lend me a phone charger as I forgot my own.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I have been to this hotel many times, and was there for a two week stay in early 2012. The last time I went there was at the end of last year.
The hotel has a fantastic location, one of the best possible. A five minute walk from the station, and a five minute walk from the bridge. It is situated on the banks of the river, and this is marvellous.

The rooms in the normal category are small, but those in the executive floors/ categories have a good size. They could redesign the work desk, as I always had to work from the "wrong" side. The internet is fast and good.

Why do I like it, apart from the location? The service. I really like the people at the reception and in the restaurants. They are efficient, friendly, and warm. This is something that is really nice.

The food is fantastic, and they have some really good restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Hotel location is excellent. Just by the picturesque river Maas and a short stroll away to the iconic St Servaas bridge. CoffeeLovers cafe just around the corner serves excellent coffee and breakfast. Directly opposite the lobby entrance is a very good Italian restaurant which opens till late, and at the corner of the same row is a most excellent gelateria called Luna Rossa.
Hotel room is spacious, the bed and pillows were very comfortable. They provided an aromatherapy kit which will help one to sleep better, which is a nice touch. Toiletries were L'Occitane branded, another plus point. No complaints about customer service, they were helpful and English-speaking.
In all a great place to stay. Plenty of food and shopping nearby. Town centre is a few mins walk away. Maastricht is a very pedestrian friendly city.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht

Address: De Ruiterij 1, 6221 EW Maastricht, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Crowne Plaza Maastricht is the best hotel to stay in the centre of Maastricht, the city of the Maastricht treaty. The hotel is unique and quiet situated on the river Maas, in the city centre. Crowne Plaza Maastricht is easy accessible and has its own underground car park.Crowne Plaza offers luxuriously regular rooms as well as Clubrooms on a 5-star level, all equipped with air conditioning and high-speed internet.You are sure to find excellent wining and dining in the hotel's restaurant 'de Mangerie'. The kitchen team prepares Mediterranean as well as local cuisine with fresh seasonal products.In addition the hotel offers 9 meeting rooms for gatherings up to 400 peoples, dinners up to 700 peoples and parties up to 1500 peoples. Here too, service is of primary importance and the staff goes just that step further when advising their guests.You find the historical city centre, were the bars with the famous terraces, shops and restaurants are situated, within walking distance. In short: Hotel Crowne Plaza Maastricht is the address for a wonderful stay and a successful gathering!Special events during the year in Maastricht: TEFAF:The European Fine Art Fair, Carnival, Preuvenemint, concert of André Rieu, Winterland. Pursuant to the Dutch legislation regarding the ban on smoking the hotel is entirely non-smoking by 1 July 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Maastricht Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;