We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Warm” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht

Save Saved
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De Ruiterij 1, 6221 EW Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Very Warm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I have been to this hotel many times, and was there for a two week stay in early 2012. The last time I went there was at the end of last year.
The hotel has a fantastic location, one of the best possible. A five minute walk from the station, and a five minute walk from the bridge. It is situated on the banks of the river, and this is marvellous.

The rooms in the normal category are small, but those in the executive floors/ categories have a good size. They could redesign the work desk, as I always had to work from the "wrong" side. The internet is fast and good.

Why do I like it, apart from the location? The service. I really like the people at the reception and in the restaurants. They are efficient, friendly, and warm. This is something that is really nice.

The food is fantastic, and they have some really good restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    118
    76
    22
    7
See reviews for
33
104
15
81
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Penang Island, Malaysia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Hotel location is excellent. Just by the picturesque river Maas and a short stroll away to the iconic St Servaas bridge. CoffeeLovers cafe just around the corner serves excellent coffee and breakfast. Directly opposite the lobby entrance is a very good Italian restaurant which opens till late, and at the corner of the same row is a most excellent gelateria called Luna Rossa.
Hotel room is spacious, the bed and pillows were very comfortable. They provided an aromatherapy kit which will help one to sleep better, which is a nice touch. Toiletries were L'Occitane branded, another plus point. No complaints about customer service, they were helpful and English-speaking.
In all a great place to stay. Plenty of food and shopping nearby. Town centre is a few mins walk away. Maastricht is a very pedestrian friendly city.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
leusden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Located on the Maas (Meuse) river, this property provides for a good nights' sleep within walking distance of just about every attraction in the center of Maastricht. From other reviews it seems a bit of a gamble on your interactions with the staff, I can only say that all staff I met were friendly and helpful. A criticism I do share is that the air conditioning was less effective than I prefer, leaving the room warmer than I would have liked. Then again I was there on a fairly warm day. I stayed in one of the club rooms, no river view but a comfortable and spacious room in the "new" side of the hotel.

Room Tip: River view for a romantic getaway, but you do run the risk of some noise from foot traffic along the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Stayed with a group of friends for 3 nights in early july. In maastricht to see Andre Rieu --great.The Crown Plaza was an overpriced disappointment,food was basic,expected better.Bed was good but not the split level room.The best thing about the hotel is the wonderful outside terrace. 3star at best.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne6221, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us your feedback. Your comments are highly valuable to us and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Our hotel is very proud of its 4 star level of service and quality of its product.

I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincere apologies if your stay was negatively affected by service you received from our hotel.

Yours Sincerely,

Crowne Plaza Maastricht

Sander Janssen
Sales & Marketing Coördinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Went to Maastricht for a conference, and chose this hotel based on location on the river, and was not disappointed.
+ Location is excellent -- easy walk by the river to the convention center. The staff was friendly. The rooms were comfortable, clean and good-sized. The bed was divine! The hotel restaurant was surprisingly good! I ran every morning by the river!

- Wireless internet is relatively expensive compared to other places. No pool. No adjoining gym

Overall, a very pleasant place to stay! The only reason for not giving it 5 stars is the internet price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne6221, Sales & Marketing Coördinator at Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback, we appreciate this very much!

The reason we still aks a fee for a wifi voucher is because we guarantee a high speed 100% safe and secure connection with a data transfer up to 250mb.

Yours Sincerely,

Crowne Plaza Maastricht

Sander Janssen
Sales & Marketing Coördinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The Crowne Plaza sits on the side of the river Maas with beautiful views down the river.The meals are excellent and can be taken inside or outside by the riverside. The rooms are a good size with really comfortable beds. The staff are extremely helpful and speak perfect English. This is the sort of hotel you we would be happy to return to because Maastricht is such a lovely " olde worlde" city.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room or a room overlooking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne6221, Director of Sales at Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for writing this nice comment of our hotel! We hope to see you again soon!

Yours Sincerely,

Crowne Plaza Maastricht

Sander Janssen
Sales & Marketing Coördinator
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Went by Eurostar and local trains to Maastricht to see him rather than the O2 or Birmingham which I'm sure is nice but not as good as his home city believe you me. Anyway the Hotel was about a 15 min walk from the Maastricht central train station. So easy to get to, and when you get there it's a dream.It is right on the river's edge with fantastic views of Maastricht. We checked in with no problems with very talented staff.The room as we have discovered with all the other Crowne Plaza hotels we have stayed in are huge with a huge bed and very well laid out for a standard double, it was roomy,clean comfy with a nice on suite.As we had the afternoon in Liege to check it out we arrived just after 18:00 so we opted to have a meal in the restaurant the first night and we sat outside overlooking the river and what a great meal we had and as they were so busy we had a wait but they allowed our last two drinks on the house which was very kind of them.I would highly recommend their restaurant in the hotel, they do have another oriental one. Drinks in the bar were expensive but after a night out in Maastricht or after the Andre Rieu Concert in was fine so you could chill out for a bit before retiring to bed.Would I stay again YES what a location 15 from the train station and 15 to the Virthoff, and there are eateries as far as the eye can see in between.We stayed for 3 nights and will do so again when we are in the zone for a blast Andre Rieu in a few years time.To be honest Maastricht is worth the visit anyway. for me 10+++++++stars.Certainly a revisit is on the cards.And the staff are fantastic such a joy to stay there.

Room Tip: Not an issue as it is so far from vehicular traffic it's not worth worrying about, unless you d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht

Address: De Ruiterij 1, 6221 EW Maastricht, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Crowne Plaza Maastricht is the best hotel to stay in the centre of Maastricht, the city of the Maastricht treaty. The hotel is unique and quiet situated on the river Maas, in the city centre. Crowne Plaza Maastricht is easy accessible and has its own underground car park.Crowne Plaza offers luxuriously regular rooms as well as Clubrooms on a 5-star level, all equipped with air conditioning and high-speed internet.You are sure to find excellent wining and dining in the hotel's restaurant 'de Mangerie'. The kitchen team prepares Mediterranean as well as local cuisine with fresh seasonal products.In addition the hotel offers 9 meeting rooms for gatherings up to 400 peoples, dinners up to 700 peoples and parties up to 1500 peoples. Here too, service is of primary importance and the staff goes just that step further when advising their guests.You find the historical city centre, were the bars with the famous terraces, shops and restaurants are situated, within walking distance. In short: Hotel Crowne Plaza Maastricht is the address for a wonderful stay and a successful gathering!Special events during the year in Maastricht: TEFAF:The European Fine Art Fair, Carnival, Preuvenemint, concert of André Rieu, Winterland. Pursuant to the Dutch legislation regarding the ban on smoking the hotel is entirely non-smoking by 1 July 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, HotelsNL, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Maastricht Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.