We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine hotel, excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht to your Saves list
Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   De Ruiterij 1, 6221 EW Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #19 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Oldenzaal, Overijssel, Netherlands
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Fine hotel, excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

I've had the pleasure to stay in the suite (room 214). Beautiful 2 story room with two balconies facing the Maas river. Room was excellent clean, except for the little sink in the toilet which was covered with chalk. Bed was very spacy and comfy. Room had two flatscreen televisions, a DVD player, a Senseo coffee machine with coffee pads and a hot water kettle for making tea. Like with most hotels the airconditioner even at its coldest setting could not cool the room well enough.

The location of the hotel is very nice. The city center is right accross the Maas river, just a 10 minute walk away. It is fairly easy to reach the hotel by car. There are a lot of roadworks going on in the access roads towards Maastricht, so you might face a little challenge there. It's also within walking range from the Maastricht train station. Parking costs 22 euro per night for a spot in the closed off Q-Park garage next to the hotel (23 euro for non hotel visitors).

Breakfast was insanely high priced at 26 euro a person. That's really outrageous for a breakfast! There was a good choice of bread and food and the quality was good, but still this price for just a breakfast is a ripoff. There are many many bars and restaurants within minutes of walking distance where you can get a breakfast for much less money. Also around the corner is an Albert Heijn supermarket.

Another thing to be ashamed off for the hotel manager is to charge money for internet access. That's really not done anymore in 2013. Prices for it are quite high too.

Summarized:
+ Location
+ Rooms (at least the suite)
- Breakfast price
- Paid internet access

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Maas river are awesome. If you can afford the suite (room 214), it's really nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    134
    79
    24
    7
See reviews for
36
116
15
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We go to Maastricht twice a year for a weekend and have tried about every hotel in the city by now. The Crown Plaza is a very nice hotel but it lacks the nostalgic feeling you have everywhere else in the city because it is 'just' a good, international orientated hotel. We booked a standard room and got a free upgrade when we checked in, nice! Good room, very good bed. The central system in the bathroom makes a lot of noise and you can not switch it of your selves, it stops at 0.00 hours. If you are a light sleeper it might bother you even when the bathroomdoor is closed. The hotel is situated at one of our favorite areas of Maastricht, perfect and everything in walking distance. From the breakfast/dinner area and terrace you have a fantastic view on the river, the bridge and town. You can reach the next door Parking directly from inside the hotel, convenient!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne6221, Sales Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Dear Crowne Plaza Guest,

Thank you very much for writing your comment about your stay with us. We really appreciate this and hope we may welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards
Mariska Schuurmans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Stayed a single night at a Clubroom in the new wing.
Room is spacious and nicely decorated.
Hotel staff was friendly.
Hotel located in the center of town, on the river Maas.
Would certainly stay again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Centrally located the Crown Plaza is a good start for exploring Maastricht by foot. Situated directly at the Maas river I really enjoyed the fine view when having a relaxed Sunday breakfast. (Being German I was delighted by the variety of dark bread available - you understand if you know Dutch bread...)
The hotel itself was well kept, the staff friendly, good sleeping quality. Our room had a balcony with a nice view on the bridge. Public parking garage is adjoined to the hotel.
A few cons however: the room keys (cards) were not reliable. Twice we had to go back to the reception to have them re-activated and we met other guest who encountered the same problem. Secondly: I fail to understand how an upscale hotel - that is supposed to be all about pleasing customers and serving business clients - disappoints its guest by charging for internet. Internet in 2013 is nothing special anymore and should be a standard feature just like TV. Thirdly the bathroom was a bit outdated.

Recommendation for a special dinner date: De pastory in Cadier en Keer, 10min by car from Maastricht. Intimate candlelit atmosphere, fantastic service and heavenly French food. My second visit here after 2008 and it has lost nothing of its charme or delicious dishes. Wonderful evening guaranteed.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

When travelling and staying at a large chain it really does depend, usually, on the staff who they recruit. In the case of the Crowne Plaze this does not appear to be the case.

Having recently stayed in London it is easy to compare Crowne Plaza London with Crowne Plaza Maastricht. The first difference was that the Dutch version has Dutch staff (there's a first in a chain, local staff!) apart from that there weren't too many differences.

This hotel is comfortable and looks after you with good attention to detail. We arrived late at night and needed food. We got food - and it was nice as well! Drinks at the bar, service no problem. Breakfast not bad and service good. So all round good service with nothing a problem.

Now the bad bits....... Don't drive there as the hotel has no parking and you have to use the public car park (God those Dutch do like to discourage cars by their car park fees). And no English newspapers when everyone speaks English in Holland - er USA papers don't count!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

I got a deal on the hotel room (€93) and enjoyed my stay. If I was paying full price (approx. €250), I would have been less satisfied because the amenities are outdated.

Location is excellent.

The staff was very friendly.

Parking is expensive. It is possible to park your vehicle in the Park and Ride near the train station for half the price, but that is less convenient.

The bedroom was clean, spacious and comfortable. There were nice extras such as pillow spray and magazines.

The bathroom REALLY needs an update. There was a ventilator fan for the bathroom, but I could not find the switch for it anywhere. So, it was super humid when having a shower. The hairdryer cuts out after being on for 20 seconds and has a very short cord. The rest of the bathroom is functional, but feels like it needs an update.

The location is excellent and for a reasonable price I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: 237 was not bad for the view (side of bridge) and the room was fine, bathroom needs the update.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We exhibit at the TEFAF Art Fair every year in Maastricht for two weeks in March and have stayed in this Hotel for over 30 years! It has a wonderful location overlooking the River Meuse and is in an aera of good restaurants and a short walk to the main centre. However, it is now beginning to look and feel a bit tired - the rooms have not been updated for many years and the main reception aera needs modernising. The staff are delightful and most helpful - many have been there for a long time and greet us every year like friends. The Hotel restauranet serves good food but it can take far too long to be served - a problem throughout Holland.
For the 5 Star pricing this Hotel needs attention.

Room Tip: Choose one overlooking the River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crowne6221, Sales Manager at Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Crowne Plaza Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this comment. We highly appreciate our guests feedback about their stay with us and hope you had a wonderful time in Maastricht during the TEFAF.

We always take our guests reviews very serious, which is why we will discuss yours during our next Management Team Meeting to see what we can improve to maintain our hotel and cuisine as good as our staff is.

Hopefully we may welcome you during next years TEFAF.

Kind regards
Mariska Schuurmans
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht

Address: De Ruiterij 1, 6221 EW Maastricht, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Maastricht
#10 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Crowne Plaza Maastricht is the best hotel to stay in the centre of Maastricht, the city of the Maastricht treaty. The hotel is unique and quiet situated on the river Maas, in the city centre. Crowne Plaza Maastricht is easy accessible and has its own underground car park.Crowne Plaza offers luxuriously regular rooms as well as Clubrooms on a 5-star level, all equipped with air conditioning and high-speed internet.You are sure to find excellent wining and dining in the hotel's restaurant 'de Mangerie'. The kitchen team prepares Mediterranean as well as local cuisine with fresh seasonal products.In addition the hotel offers 9 meeting rooms for gatherings up to 400 peoples, dinners up to 700 peoples and parties up to 1500 peoples. Here too, service is of primary importance and the staff goes just that step further when advising their guests.You find the historical city centre, were the bars with the famous terraces, shops and restaurants are situated, within walking distance. In short: Hotel Crowne Plaza Maastricht is the address for a wonderful stay and a successful gathering!Special events during the year in Maastricht: TEFAF:The European Fine Art Fair, Carnival, Preuvenemint, concert of André Rieu, Winterland. Pursuant to the Dutch legislation regarding the ban on smoking the hotel is entirely non-smoking by 1 July 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Maastricht
Maastricht Crowne Plaza

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.