We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horrible horrible horrible” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Residences Maastricht

Residences Maastricht
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Residences Maastricht to your Saves list
Residences Maastricht
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   van hasseltkade 8, 6211 CC Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Horrible horrible horrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

Apartment C building 79. What a nasty little place. So bad that we rented another apartment (which was beautiful and cheaper) - we didn't even bother to unpack. An unpleasant experience. We now try to obtain our 3 days refund. Please do not book this - it is similar to squalid student housing you find in cities all over the UK. If you are looking for a decent place to stay look elsewhere.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Tekmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
East Kent
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

This review is for Hoogbrugstraat 34, Apt B - you pick up your key from Hotel Bigarre and then go to apartment, they are around the town. Friendly welcome, supplied with info pack (in Dutch), keys and an info sheet with apartment address on. The sheet also said an inventory is supplied (it wasn't) - didn't bother me too much as we only stayed for 2 nights, but may be more chance of breaking an item if there for the week so would have asked for the inventory!

Luckily had a parking space we could use via a contact, but there were spaces outside the apartment on street - always had some available but only for maximum two hours parking (2.60 euros per hour). Lovely apartment, 2 double bedrooms and good size open plan kitchen/living space with large sofa bed. Kitchen items and bin bag supplied but no toiletries as stated on booking. Also only the one sofa bed - the other chairs are dining style, no problem as we were 2 adults with 4 children but could be a problem if 6 adults staying there? We were also unable to connect to the wifi (didn't bother sorting this out as only there for 2 nights). Kitchen very nice, and plenty of crockery, pans etc. Not enough bedding though! Nice patio off one of the bedrooms.

Great location, nice shops/eateries in the area, short walk to over bridge to the rest of town, supermarket 5 minutes away, also very near to where my friend's son lives (at Uni there). Overall, a good place to stay for a family, it can get very crowded in a hotel room! Will stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask re: access when booking as stairs narrow and steep, would be best for those with restricted mobi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shmaggle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
142 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

I stayed at Tongelestraat 42, which suited me as it was a short walk to my son's student apartment in Rutensingel. It is also near several useful restaurants and a Jan Linders supermarket on Tongerlelaan. At the same time it it is near the centre. Parking is on street and a Maastrichts usual exorbitant rates, but there were plenty of spaces nearby.
The studio apartments at this address are done to a budget and while you get towels etc there are no toiletries nor a hairdryer. You do have a dishwasher,microwave, full hob, washing machine, drying rack and iron/ironing board.and a kitchen pack is included. There is limited crockery, cutlery and pots and pans.The studio was quiet and comfortable for a three night stay. and far preferable to a hotel room for me.
I will probably use again. I used booking.com and had full details of where to collect the key and where the flat was. I asked the taxi driver to wait while I collected the key.
There was a faint smell of drains from the bathroom but lavish use of bleach in the loo fixed that

Room Tip: I suspect aking for a room at the back is best as the street could be quite lively in the summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moira54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
251 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

We arrived at the address in a taxi with a lot of luggage After the taxi had left we discovered that this was not where we were staying - this was just the booking office. Our apartment was another kilometre away. Perhaps this was stated somewhere when I booked, but I did not notice it. So .. a warning if any of your party is mobility impaired. (I was on crutches).

We were very comfortable in our apartment, but it was a little odd. There were 2 bedrooms and one bathroom. To get to the bathroom you needed to go though bedroom number one. Happily we were close friends and didn't really mind. There was room for nothing other than the beds in bedroom 2, so the suitcases wre in the corridor, and the large sink in bedroom two was more than just a nuisance, it's hard edges made it a hazard at night.

But it had a great lounge, living, kitchen, study space that allowed us to chill out and unwind after a hectic few weeks travelling, and just off the main square so easy to walk to anywhere

Tip: take the ground floor if you have much luggage - the stairs are steep, winding and narrow. Happily my crutches caused her to move us to the ground floor apartment

Room Tip: Ground floor unless you don't mind steep, narrow, winding staircases.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

To start, this review is based on staying at Kleine Gracht 10B in Maastricht. The way Residences Maastricht works is that you book an appartment via them, but you don't know in advance which of their appartments, as they have several in Maastricht. So it's possible that you have a different experience in one of the other appartments.

Having said this, our experience at Kleine Gracht 10B wasn't very good. Sure, there are positive points as the location of the appartment (city center, 5 min walk of the Vrijthof), free wifi, airconditioning in the bedroom and the fact that you have a livingroom, kitchen, bathroom and bedroom. So if you stay longer the essentials are present.

The downside is that it's a bid worn out, the bedroom is equiped with two beds put together (you can only enter on one side or at the foot end) with different matresses of which one should really be replaced.
But the worst was that the appartmentis not clean: in the bathroom was a layer of dust and hairs presumably from more than a week... We had the impression that the only "cleaning" being done was replacing the bed linen and the towels. Reporting this to the staff didn't lead to any action or appology, which in our opinion should be the standard reaction if you're taking your hotel business serious...
We visit Maastricht 3 to 4 times a year, and there are a lot of better hotels and appartments, with definitely better value for money.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Onno1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Maastricht hotels

Level Contributor
68 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

Pros: The apartment was spacious and conveniently located 5 minutes of the Vrijthof where there are plenty of restaurants and cafes. The wireless internet worked. The king sized bed was comfortable. The kitchen was new and pristine, but we did not use it as we were in Maastricht for just a couple days. We never saw a place to buy groceries near the apartment anyway. The apartment provided greater privacy and was quieter than a hotel would be. Importantly, we informed them of our arrival time, which was before check in time, and they did have the apartment ready for us when we arrived.

Cons: Our apartment was located on Tongersestraat. Although it was a good size, it was not as nice as the apartments featured on the website. (None of the photos on the website were of our apartment.) The chairs in the kitchen were plastic folding chairs and not comfortable to sit on. One end of the sofa was tucked under the eaves leaving little head room. Thus, the apartment lacked comfortable seating. The apartment is a third floor walk up, and the stairs are narrow and steep. (It is important to point out, though, that steep and narrow stairs are typical in Dutch buildings.) The stairs did not bother us, but it was hard to carry luggage up the narrow passages. Once in the apartment, there is another flight of stairs to get to the sleeping loft. This apartment will not work for anyone who has trouble with stairs or the exertion required to climb 4 flights of them. The apartment was clean, but it did smell strongly of smoke so we always smelled of smoke while we were in Maastricht. To check into the apartment, we had to first go to a booking office. There they gave us a key and told us where the apartment was located. At first they did not think we would need a map as they thought we could figure out the maze of streets in old Masstricht based on verbal instructions, but they did copy a map for us upon request. They gave us a binder of information to carry to the apartment. The binder was cumbersome to carry and, as it turns out, of limited value to us. There was no map, no information on taxis or busses, and no suggestions on where we could find groceries or other supplies. I don't understand why they don't just leave the binder in the apartment. Although we were comfortable in the apartment, we did not think it was good value for the money we paid. However, we were in Maastricht during TEFAF and were thankful to have any place to stay in town. I would guess that the price we paid was especially high (290 euro a night) due to TEFAF. All hotel rooms in the city and surrounding areas were sold out.

Room Tip: Ask for the photos for the specific apartment you are renting and check its exact location on the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gale55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitianga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2011

The accoccodation is not at the address shown as it is just a booking office for many properties. The lady was very welcoming, howevr we had to walk a further kilometre to the venue. There was no toilet paper, no instructions of how to use the microwave, washing machine and TV. The apartment was at the top of three flights of narrow stairs and not indeed suitable for a mature couple with bags to carry up and down. The cost of our stay was the highest we paid during our 5 weeks in Europe and poor value for money.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon3638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.5 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#6 of 39 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 1,014 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Beaumont
Hotel Beaumont
#4 of 39 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 844 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de Pauwenhof
Hotel de Pauwenhof
#19 of 39 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#1 of 39 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 stars 639 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel St. Martenslane
Hotel St. Martenslane
#17 of 39 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bastion Hotel Maastricht Centrum
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residences Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residences Maastricht

Address: van hasseltkade 8, 6211 CC Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 12 Specialty Lodging in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Residences Maastricht 3*
Number of rooms: 38

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing