We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky but falling short on few small things” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Designhotel Maastricht - Hampshire Eden

Save Saved
You added Designhotel Maastricht - Hampshire Eden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Designhotel Maastricht - Hampshire Eden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stationsstraat 40, 6221 Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Funky but falling short on few small things”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

The design of the hotel was funky and my room was spacious and “artistic”, as advertised. However, there were a few basic things that were lacking, especially with regards to cleanliness. The room had been cleaned and there were fresh towels but there were still a few whiskers on the sink (from a man shaving), grease spots on otherwise crisp white sheets, and an orange rim of mold to the shower curtain. Other small things that were overlooked like I had a memo pad beside the phone but no pen. Also, even though the room was huge, the hanging area for clothing was insufficient. Lastly, the noise from outside did not seem to be buffered, even several floors up.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampshire Hotels

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sita T, General Manager at Designhotel Maastricht - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay in our hotel.
We are glad to hear that you liked your stay and apologise for the apparent shortfall on cleaningservice in your room. The comments of our guests help us to remain alert and improve constantly ! We hope to have the pleasure and honour of welcoming you once again in the near future.
With thanks and kind regards on behalf of Team Designhotel Maastricht & Brasserie FLO,
Sita Tadema - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    150
    90
    34
    15
See reviews for
23
195
10
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Zurich, Switzerland
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nhights at a conference. Ideally situated in central city area. Interesting decor in hotel and the rooms which made it a good place to stay for those nights. nice food in restaurant and a comfortable bar as well. Nice for a business trip but would be ideal for a city visit as well

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sita T, General Manager at Designhotel Maastricht - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive review and so good to read that you enjoyed both the stay in our hotel as ýour moments in our Bar & Brasserie FLO.
More than Welcome to come back for a citytrip of course & thank you for recommending us.
With kind regards on behalf of Team Designhotel Maastricht & Brasserie FLO,
Sita Tadema - general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

The hotel is only a short walk from the station (100 meters). From there the city center is just a short walk. The rooms are not very 'design' like if you ask me but suffice for a short weekend trip. I think the hotel offers good value for money and would consider returning.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

In a few words, as writing the whole story would be too much; if you are looking for a luxury hotel dont book the design hotel. The staff/intern that was helping us was inexperienced and not helpful at all, the only person that helped us with the wrong room problem was Kiki and for that big thanks to her. We wasted 40 min waiting for a technician that never came and the staff did not bother to inform us. Also, the breakfast is a waste of money, very limited choice.
The nice part about the hotel are the beds! We both enjoyed a good night sleep, but for the money you pay i am sure you can find some other great hotels.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

on our arrival we were offered a bowl of soup which was very welcome after a long journey the staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome. the room was basic and clean but as we were over for a couple of days to see the Andre Rieu concert it was fine.
The hotel is very close to the station which is handy and easy to find and close enough to walk into town and to the market all in all we had a lovely stay. and are hoping to go back next year,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Overall we enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The idea of being surrounded by art during your vacation is a wonderful concept and the town of Maastricht is a MUST SEE for anyone visiting Holland, in our opinion. We’ve been to Holland several times and have cycled all around Amsterdam and the north but this was our first trip to the south. The cycling down here is excellent and the town is a hidden gem.

It is easy to see that when the hotel itself first opened it would have been beautiful, however it is now tired and in need of a renovation. The common areas of the hotel are run down with stains on carpets, a lack of attention to detail (such as the bad astro-turf covering on a lower roof) and a general dirty feel to many of the common areas. On the up side the staff were fairly friendly but I’d say below average for our encounters in Maastricht, and the self-serve lounge was very cool.

Our room (comfort XL) was large, clean and had an interesting décor. The open concept, in my opinion, is taken a little too far with the shower and sink in the middle of the room. It also broke up the spaces of the room in an un-natural way. At least this room had a self-contained water closet with a toilet, however the lights for this little room were on the same switch for the rest of the living area which meant a late night trip to the loo required either fumbling in pitch dark or turning on all the lights in the room. The a/c in the room worked fabulously despite record temperatures outside.

To the owners, please put a little more tlc into this hotel, it is well worth saving but at present is fast becoming a 3 star hotel for budget travelers.

Room Tip: It is well worth paying a little extra for the larger, nicer rooms in this hotel based upon our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Our room was NOT as shown on the site we used to book it. The furnishings were sparse and in very poor condition. In fact the couch was so badly stained we didn't use it!! The bed itself was very comfortable, but the linen was too small for it!! Our room was at a close angle to the one next door, so we had to keep windows and curtains closed as we could've shaken hands with our neighbours!!! If we did open the windows, we had the noise of a fan and staff downstairs. Staff were friendly enough, but they cancelled our room key three times as they kept getting our booking wrong! Room service was OK but, again, staff got our order wrong and at 10.00am the next morning, our empty tray was still outside our room and hadn't been collected. This hotel could be a LOT better if attention was paid to detail: practical hanging space, clean carpets, furniture that isn't ready for the town dump etc., It's in a great location and has many good points, but some fundamental faults.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Designhotel Maastricht - Hampshire Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Designhotel Maastricht - Hampshire Eden

Address: Stationsstraat 40, 6221 Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Designhotel Maastricht - Hampshire Eden 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Certified with the Silver Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Otel, HotelsClick and Venere so you can book your Designhotel Maastricht - Hampshire Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Designhotel Hotel Maastricht
Maastricht Eden Designhotel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Designhotel Maastricht - Hampshire Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.