We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“worth a visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Designhotel Maastricht - Hampshire Eden

Save Saved
You added Designhotel Maastricht - Hampshire Eden to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Designhotel Maastricht - Hampshire Eden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stationsstraat 40, 6221 Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 38 hotels in Maastricht
Scotland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

on our arrival we were offered a bowl of soup which was very welcome after a long journey the staff were very friendly and made us feel welcome. the room was basic and clean but as we were over for a couple of days to see the Andre Rieu concert it was fine.
The hotel is very close to the station which is handy and easy to find and close enough to walk into town and to the market all in all we had a lovely stay. and are hoping to go back next year,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    52
    142
    96
    33
    15
See reviews for
19
182
9
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Overall we enjoyed our stay at this hotel. The idea of being surrounded by art during your vacation is a wonderful concept and the town of Maastricht is a MUST SEE for anyone visiting Holland, in our opinion. We’ve been to Holland several times and have cycled all around Amsterdam and the north but this was our first trip to the south. The cycling down here is excellent and the town is a hidden gem.

It is easy to see that when the hotel itself first opened it would have been beautiful, however it is now tired and in need of a renovation. The common areas of the hotel are run down with stains on carpets, a lack of attention to detail (such as the bad astro-turf covering on a lower roof) and a general dirty feel to many of the common areas. On the up side the staff were fairly friendly but I’d say below average for our encounters in Maastricht, and the self-serve lounge was very cool.

Our room (comfort XL) was large, clean and had an interesting décor. The open concept, in my opinion, is taken a little too far with the shower and sink in the middle of the room. It also broke up the spaces of the room in an un-natural way. At least this room had a self-contained water closet with a toilet, however the lights for this little room were on the same switch for the rest of the living area which meant a late night trip to the loo required either fumbling in pitch dark or turning on all the lights in the room. The a/c in the room worked fabulously despite record temperatures outside.

To the owners, please put a little more tlc into this hotel, it is well worth saving but at present is fast becoming a 3 star hotel for budget travelers.

Room Tip: It is well worth paying a little extra for the larger, nicer rooms in this hotel based upon our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Our room was NOT as shown on the site we used to book it. The furnishings were sparse and in very poor condition. In fact the couch was so badly stained we didn't use it!! The bed itself was very comfortable, but the linen was too small for it!! Our room was at a close angle to the one next door, so we had to keep windows and curtains closed as we could've shaken hands with our neighbours!!! If we did open the windows, we had the noise of a fan and staff downstairs. Staff were friendly enough, but they cancelled our room key three times as they kept getting our booking wrong! Room service was OK but, again, staff got our order wrong and at 10.00am the next morning, our empty tray was still outside our room and hadn't been collected. This hotel could be a LOT better if attention was paid to detail: practical hanging space, clean carpets, furniture that isn't ready for the town dump etc., It's in a great location and has many good points, but some fundamental faults.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Ive stayed in this hotel for a year for business and looking back, it is an okay hotel. It can be a good hotel if They take care of a couple of important things. The staff at the reception are young and inexperienced, I think They just get out of the hotel school nearby when They arrivé in the design hotel. They oftenly made annoying mistakes, most of the time not properly activating my room card for example. And i always got nonchalant reactions and when i complain i get a beauty set as a present. i just want a proper and constant service in the first place. The quality of the rooms are completely different, which is also annoying. They have rooms with great hottubs and large rooms with hastens beds, but the cheaper rooms have low quality beds and a bit of a cheap feeling to it(not a design vibe). They also have rooms without windows, which is pretty scary. Fitness room is small but sufficient, breakfast is Nice, but could use some variation, I ate salmon for over a year. Sounds snobby offcourse, but why not change menus? Breakfast ladies are my favorite staffmembers by the way. Location is their key asset, "wijck" is the nicest part of town, you have Nice boutique shops, great bars, good restaurants closeby.

Room Tip: Check your room upfront, it really makes a difference in this hotel since They have two different qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleborough
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I stayed at this hotel as part of a group and had no part in booking the accommodation. I stayed in room 294 which was apparently a suite. It had a king size bed and big bath with shower and small seating area with floor to ceiling windows. Sound great you might thing but the room was no better than any travel lodge or premier travel inn that I have stayed at. The cost for two nights including taxes was 479 euros! And guess what................breakfast was extra at 19 euros!

There is nothing special about this hotel at all apart from I slept like a log in the comfy bed. The carpets are all multi coloured block affect and they are full of stains throughout the hotel. Tea/coffee wasn't replenished in the room and the complementary shampoos/lotions etc had already been used. There is no ceiling or wall lighting so getting ready for a night out is like getting ready in a dark cave.

Don't bother...................you will be seriously disappointed. The whole experience was underwhelming.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The breakfast is excellent but 19.50 euros is out of proportion. No coffee maker in the room which seems like kind of basic amenity for a higher end hotel. Asked for a room with a good view and were given something "looking at the patio." That apparently is code for the inner walls of the hotel since that's all there was to see-- two other walls and a metal service staircase!

It was unbearably warm on the 3rd floor in June but there was no a/c. A fan was offered promptly by friendly staff but nothing more could be done. The window only partially opened and outside in the tunnel of walls/ "patio" was hotel machinery so there was a constant noisy drone. Had to live with that, though, as sleeping with windows closed and only the small fan was not an option.

The layout of the room was great, however: spacious living area, separate bath area (also roomy, but no tub), and a very comfortable bed. Staff asked the following morning at checkout how things were and we explained that this was the second time we'd been disappointed. She apologized and said she hoped there'd be a third visit that went much better and took my email address. This was a couple of days ago and I've not received anything but maybe mgmt will be writing? Not sure. It was nice that she was interested, at least.

Room Tip: As you can see from other reviews, it's a good idea to ask for several specifics at check-in: co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sita T, General Manager at Designhotel Maastricht - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel.
Our front office manager has been in touch with you by mail in the meantime & I hope
we will have the pleasure and honour of welcoming you back soon so we can "tie up some loose ends" as where your past roomexperience is concerned.
Looking forward to that opportunity and with kind regards from Maastricht,
Sita Tadema / general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I was in Maastricht for a conference at MECC and decided to stay closer to the city centre (rather than in the industrial area around MECC). The hotel is very well situated for this purpose. It very close to the train and bus station, a 15 minute walk from MECC, and 10 minute walk from the city centre. There are also a number of decent restaurants and cafes nearby. The room I stayed in was very pleasant and the bed was quite comfortable. I liked the boutique style of the room with and the view over the street was also nice. The wifi was good enough for travel purposes (I could check e-mail and browse web sites). Also I enjoyed the free bottled water (I tend to drink a lot of water).

The only disappointment was the breakfast, which was a very continental affair. I prefer porridge and toast, to hard boiled eggs and meats and cheeses. However, this is the case with most continental hotels.

If you are looking for a hotel in Maastricht, I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sita T, General Manager at Designhotel Maastricht - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your "business' review of our hotel.
We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay - next time, please do not hesitate to ask
for " porridge and toast" instead of " bacon & eggs" - we will be more than happy to service.
Hoping to welcome you again during a next visit to Maastricht and with kind regards
on behalf of the entire team of Designhotel Maastricht and Brasserie FLO,
Sita Tadema/ general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Designhotel Maastricht - Hampshire Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Designhotel Maastricht - Hampshire Eden

Address: Stationsstraat 40, 6221 Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Designhotel Maastricht - Hampshire Eden 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Certified with the Silver Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Designhotel Maastricht - Hampshire Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Designhotel Hotel Maastricht
Maastricht Eden Designhotel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Designhotel Maastricht - Hampshire Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.