We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, young staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Designhotel Maastricht - Hampshire Eden

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Designhotel Maastricht - Hampshire Eden to your Saves list
Designhotel Maastricht - Hampshire Eden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stationsstraat 40, 6221 Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Great location, young staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Ive stayed in this hotel for a year for business and looking back, it is an okay hotel. It can be a good hotel if They take care of a couple of important things. The staff at the reception are young and inexperienced, I think They just get out of the hotel school nearby when They arrivé in the design hotel. They oftenly made annoying mistakes, most of the time not properly activating my room card for example. And i always got nonchalant reactions and when i complain i get a beauty set as a present. i just want a proper and constant service in the first place. The quality of the rooms are completely different, which is also annoying. They have rooms with great hottubs and large rooms with hastens beds, but the cheaper rooms have low quality beds and a bit of a cheap feeling to it(not a design vibe). They also have rooms without windows, which is pretty scary. Fitness room is small but sufficient, breakfast is Nice, but could use some variation, I ate salmon for over a year. Sounds snobby offcourse, but why not change menus? Breakfast ladies are my favorite staffmembers by the way. Location is their key asset, "wijck" is the nicest part of town, you have Nice boutique shops, great bars, good restaurants closeby.

Room Tip: Check your room upfront, it really makes a difference in this hotel since They have two different qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    158
    92
    36
    15
See reviews for
25
206
11
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Littleborough
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I stayed at this hotel as part of a group and had no part in booking the accommodation. I stayed in room 294 which was apparently a suite. It had a king size bed and big bath with shower and small seating area with floor to ceiling windows. Sound great you might thing but the room was no better than any travel lodge or premier travel inn that I have stayed at. The cost for two nights including taxes was 479 euros! And guess what................breakfast was extra at 19 euros!

There is nothing special about this hotel at all apart from I slept like a log in the comfy bed. The carpets are all multi coloured block affect and they are full of stains throughout the hotel. Tea/coffee wasn't replenished in the room and the complementary shampoos/lotions etc had already been used. There is no ceiling or wall lighting so getting ready for a night out is like getting ready in a dark cave.

Don't bother...................you will be seriously disappointed. The whole experience was underwhelming.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

The breakfast is excellent but 19.50 euros is out of proportion. No coffee maker in the room which seems like kind of basic amenity for a higher end hotel. Asked for a room with a good view and were given something "looking at the patio." That apparently is code for the inner walls of the hotel since that's all there was to see-- two other walls and a metal service staircase!

It was unbearably warm on the 3rd floor in June but there was no a/c. A fan was offered promptly by friendly staff but nothing more could be done. The window only partially opened and outside in the tunnel of walls/ "patio" was hotel machinery so there was a constant noisy drone. Had to live with that, though, as sleeping with windows closed and only the small fan was not an option.

The layout of the room was great, however: spacious living area, separate bath area (also roomy, but no tub), and a very comfortable bed. Staff asked the following morning at checkout how things were and we explained that this was the second time we'd been disappointed. She apologized and said she hoped there'd be a third visit that went much better and took my email address. This was a couple of days ago and I've not received anything but maybe mgmt will be writing? Not sure. It was nice that she was interested, at least.

Room Tip: As you can see from other reviews, it's a good idea to ask for several specifics at check-in: co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sita T, General Manager at Designhotel Maastricht - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you very much for your review of our hotel.
Our front office manager has been in touch with you by mail in the meantime & I hope
we will have the pleasure and honour of welcoming you back soon so we can "tie up some loose ends" as where your past roomexperience is concerned.
Looking forward to that opportunity and with kind regards from Maastricht,
Sita Tadema / general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I was in Maastricht for a conference at MECC and decided to stay closer to the city centre (rather than in the industrial area around MECC). The hotel is very well situated for this purpose. It very close to the train and bus station, a 15 minute walk from MECC, and 10 minute walk from the city centre. There are also a number of decent restaurants and cafes nearby. The room I stayed in was very pleasant and the bed was quite comfortable. I liked the boutique style of the room with and the view over the street was also nice. The wifi was good enough for travel purposes (I could check e-mail and browse web sites). Also I enjoyed the free bottled water (I tend to drink a lot of water).

The only disappointment was the breakfast, which was a very continental affair. I prefer porridge and toast, to hard boiled eggs and meats and cheeses. However, this is the case with most continental hotels.

If you are looking for a hotel in Maastricht, I would definitely recommend staying here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sita T, General Manager at Designhotel Maastricht - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your "business' review of our hotel.
We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay - next time, please do not hesitate to ask
for " porridge and toast" instead of " bacon & eggs" - we will be more than happy to service.
Hoping to welcome you again during a next visit to Maastricht and with kind regards
on behalf of the entire team of Designhotel Maastricht and Brasserie FLO,
Sita Tadema/ general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

I booked my stay after leaving the Empereur down the street and was quite happy with the change. The hotel is quirky and interesting. Three things to ask for at check in: a closet, a coffee maker and a room with a bathroom door (if you're not alone). The staff is super accommodating, the tiny gym on the fourth floor is all that you need to keep up your cardio, the bed is comfy and queen sized (with no continental divide down the center) the lounge downstairs is like having the coolest office on the block and the wifi is strong and works throughout the building. The location is fantastic and overall I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: They're all different!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sita T, General Manager at Designhotel Maastricht - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your enthusiastic and positive review regarding your stay!
It is very rewarding and provides lots of energy to try and give the same experience to all future guests.
Thanks again and in the hope to welcome you again in the near future, I remain,
On behalf of the entire team of Designhotel Maastricht & Brasserie FLO,
Sita Tadema / general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pest, Hungary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Was on a short trip and the breakfasts after the long nights were so revitalizing. Tables and cabinet are missing from the rooms which was a little bit funny.
Car parking is around 500 meters so not too far,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sita T, General Manager at Designhotel Maastricht - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you very much for the constructive and positive feedback on your stay at our hotel.
We do have rooms with and rooms without closets and indeed...I can imagine your description that this struck you as somewaht "funny". We even have "mobile closets on demand"...
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in the future and please feel free to
ask for a "room with a closet" .
Thank you once again and kind regards from Maastricht!
On behalf of the entire team of Designhotel Maastricht & Brasserie FLO,
Sita Tadema/ general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We were able to book return train tickets & hotel for €100 through a special deal and this was the only hotel in Maastricht participating, normally we go to the Beaumont. The location of this hotel is great, it's right beside the station and a short walk to the city centre. We had a room on the first floor overlooking the street and were worried the noise would prevent us from sleeping but it didn't. Room was basic but was clean and comfortable. I did miss having tea/coffee/water available and an extra pillow but that's a minor 'complaint'.

The breakfast was super. Everything was really fresh and delicious. We enjoyed a big bowl of fresh fruit then eggs and fresh bread with salmon. We would return here for the breakfast alone!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sita T, General Manager at Designhotel Maastricht - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your lively and positive review on our hotel, as well as the "RoomTip".
I apologise for the lack of the extra pillow. As for a coffee/tea maker ; these facillities are indeed not standard in our "basic" rooms. If you choose to come back to our hotel, it will be our pleasure to provide these facilities.

In the hope of the pleasure to welcome you again in the future, I remain,
on behalf of the entire team of Designhotel Maastricht & Brasserie FLO,
Sincerely,
Sita Tadema / general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Designhotel Maastricht - Hampshire Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Designhotel Maastricht - Hampshire Eden

Address: Stationsstraat 40, 6221 Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Designhotel Maastricht - Hampshire Eden 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Certified with the Silver Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Designhotel Maastricht - Hampshire Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Designhotel Hotel Maastricht
Maastricht Eden Designhotel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Designhotel Maastricht - Hampshire Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.