We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small entrance, but effective staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Designhotel Maastricht - Hampshire Eden

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Designhotel Maastricht - Hampshire Eden to your Saves list
Designhotel Maastricht - Hampshire Eden
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Stationsstraat 40, 6221 Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Pest, Hungary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Small entrance, but effective staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Was on a short trip and the breakfasts after the long nights were so revitalizing. Tables and cabinet are missing from the rooms which was a little bit funny.
Car parking is around 500 meters so not too far,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sita T, General Manager at Designhotel Maastricht - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you very much for the constructive and positive feedback on your stay at our hotel.
We do have rooms with and rooms without closets and indeed...I can imagine your description that this struck you as somewaht "funny". We even have "mobile closets on demand"...
We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in the future and please feel free to
ask for a "room with a closet" .
Thank you once again and kind regards from Maastricht!
On behalf of the entire team of Designhotel Maastricht & Brasserie FLO,
Sita Tadema/ general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    170
    98
    40
    15
See reviews for
25
223
11
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We were able to book return train tickets & hotel for €100 through a special deal and this was the only hotel in Maastricht participating, normally we go to the Beaumont. The location of this hotel is great, it's right beside the station and a short walk to the city centre. We had a room on the first floor overlooking the street and were worried the noise would prevent us from sleeping but it didn't. Room was basic but was clean and comfortable. I did miss having tea/coffee/water available and an extra pillow but that's a minor 'complaint'.

The breakfast was super. Everything was really fresh and delicious. We enjoyed a big bowl of fresh fruit then eggs and fresh bread with salmon. We would return here for the breakfast alone!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sita T, General Manager at Designhotel Maastricht - Hampshire Eden, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Thank you very much for your lively and positive review on our hotel, as well as the "RoomTip".
I apologise for the lack of the extra pillow. As for a coffee/tea maker ; these facillities are indeed not standard in our "basic" rooms. If you choose to come back to our hotel, it will be our pleasure to provide these facilities.

In the hope of the pleasure to welcome you again in the future, I remain,
on behalf of the entire team of Designhotel Maastricht & Brasserie FLO,
Sincerely,
Sita Tadema / general manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Stayed at the Designhotel on business. Despite not having my reservation, any admin trouble was quickly cleared up by the lovely staff.

The room was very interesting, spacious, modern etc. The comfy bed was on a raised platform, which I only noticed when I walked straight into it (moody lighting threw me off!). I then quickly noticed the lack of bathroom. It turns out that the bathrooms are across the hall (not shared, just separate the the bedroom space). I think this is is quite sensible, as that way, you get extra space in the bedroom.

Only got the chance to have breakfast the once, which is a real shame as it was quite tasty. I did notice some breakfast bubbly was available, but couldn't indulge as I was off to see a client.

I look forward to staying here again in the future, hopefully for long enough to enjoy some dinner too!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alkmaar, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed a few days in a pretty room, with view on the street near the river Maas. Walking a few minutes and your in the centre of the town. The restaurant is average, especially for vegetarians. Happily there are a lot of fine restaurants in the city.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I stayed here two nights in room 105 (Bollinger room). This room has no windows, which I knew so that was no problem. The theme is Bollinger and that is nicely done. Bathroom was all black and looked nice. Problem was that it was too dark and there was not enough light around the mirror.
The location is very good. Near the centre and nice shopping streets and near to the train station.
Breakfast is ok.
My only problem was that I stayed two nights and my room was not cleaned after the first night. This is a bit of a disappointment and you would not expect this in a hotel like this and with this price.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Nice location near to town and the station with parking on the street nearby. Lots of restaurants close by. Room is fine including shower stall which I like compared to a tub. They have a small gym which is not typical of most hotels in the area. Nothing amazing on the upside but also nothing wrong.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We were given a room (standard type) at the ground floor, with the window facing a small terrace with some fences and then the street! To access this room one had to pass through a very small hallway with old and dirty carpet, and storage and other hotel staff facilities were also there.
The room itself was good enough for the price paid, but no design at all except for a "nice" lamp. There were no power sockets close to the bed, and the TV was pretty small. The bathroom was clean enough, not perfect though.
I would not advise anyone to eat the FLO "small" lunch bar. The food wasn't good and, with almost no one sitting at the tables, we were hardly considered by waiters and had to wait for them for ages every time we had a request.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Designhotel Maastricht - Hampshire Eden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Designhotel Maastricht - Hampshire Eden

Address: Stationsstraat 40, 6221 Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Designhotel Maastricht - Hampshire Eden 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Certified with the Silver Green Key. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Designhotel Maastricht - Hampshire Eden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eden Designhotel Hotel Maastricht
Maastricht Eden Designhotel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Designhotel Maastricht - Hampshire Eden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.