We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely feeling~~~ fabulous rooms!!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Britannique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Britannique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Britannique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Vrijthof 6, Maastricht 6211 LC, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 40 Maastricht B&B and Inns
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Homely feeling~~~ fabulous rooms!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

It is comparatively small hotel, I think hardly 5-6 rooms and the rooms are big in size and nicely painted. But very friendly atmosphere and very clean and tidy!!! Well furnished bathroom, Very spacious. We stayed for a night only on 31st December 2013. Actually we arrived very late all the way from Reims and so tired after our long drive. But we had a very warm welcome and the room was kept ready for us even the bade was made for the night.

Situated right at the central place 'Vrijthof' in Maastricht, Great location.. Unfortunately we couldn't try the restaurant as it was New Year eve and we didn't have the booking in advance..

Be honest we had a wonderful night over there and looking forward to book on December again!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are well maintained and furnished..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    19
    12
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
14
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This small hotel (only 6 rooms) has one of the best locations possible: right at the famous Vrijthof square in the centre of Maastricht. You enter the hotel through the wonderful Brasserie with terrace on the Vrijthof. The hotel is above the brasserie, but suprisingly enough no noise comes through.

Room no 2 is a big room, modern, warm, with a nice floor and a big bed with a very good mattress. The bathroom is very big for a hotelroom's bathroom and has, apart from a fantastic shower, also a bath.
Room no 1 is a smaller room, albeight cheaper. The other rooms we didn't see, they were a floor higher.

Breakfast in the morning is great: fresh orange juice, yoghurt, eggs-how-you-want-it (including egg benedict), coffee from the brasserie ('please take as cups as much you want, just tell us'), fresh fruits and breads. Plus a very warm and friendly service.

Which brings me to the staff of this little hotel: just like you would want it: warm, personal, attentive.

I highly recommend this hotel. If you're willing to spend a bit more, I advice to book a superior room that looks out on the Vrijthof (e.g. Room no 2).

Note: the staff and management helped me out fantastically, when just before our trip to Maastricht I had to change our booking dates because of a stupid mistake I'd made in the planning. Doesn't it say enough when the staff even apologized for the inconvenience when they happened to find a solution which involved changing from one room to the other during our stay?

Room Tip: Book a room at the front, with views on the beautiful Vrijthof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Very friendly courteous helpful staff. Spacious (!) airy well appointed room. Excellent shower.
View from our room was not good but probably just as well as it meant we were sheltered from the noise of the square (nice quiet room).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ILKLEY
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you park nearby they will send you to the pay car park 100+ metres away.
If you ask they will carry your cases up the steep narrow staircase.
The room was beautifully appointed. If you return after 11.00pm (?) you have to enter through the back door in an alley!
There are no facilities except the room & the bar downstairs. Breakfast was just like entering a bar, but was just about OK.
For the price this was an expensive stay but a nice room & very central for the Vrijthof!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hongkong
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Britannique Hotel is right above the Brasserie Britannique, which you need to enter the restaurant and ask the staff there to check-in for you. Staff are very friendly, and they can help to bring lugguage to your room as there's no lift available. Hotel location is superb, right at the centre of Vrijhof, millions of restaurants and shops there. Room itself is spacious, clean, bathroom is well equipped with everything you need like a Loccitane bath set. There're bottles of welcome mineral water, coffee/tea/kettle all available for free.
Regarding sightseeing, you can go to VVV to reserve local tour to St Pietersberg's caves/Cruise combo, please remember to "double" reconfirm tour guide in your language. We did book english tour however ended up the tour guide can only speak Dutch! Unlucky us ! But anyhow, the cave is worth visiting if you are not afraid of darkness. It's exciting !
Another must-go is the "Selexyz Dominicanen" bookstore near the hotel. Its the most beautiful bookstore in the world.
For breakfast/lunch/tea, there's "La Place" foodcourt in V&D department store, lots of variety of food to choose from. Nice pick and reasonably priced.

Room Tip: Upper floor facing the backyard might be more quiet, but no lift.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

Funny place, virtually no signage out front, just tables. Check in is at the bar. Staff very friendly and helpful. Free parking just down the street, a big plus. Walking up to the room seemed like a very old fashioned hotel but open the room door and you're in a nice large groovy room. Contrast!!
Walking distance to everything you want in Maastricht.

Two problems though. You cannot drive directly to front of hotel, need to tote around 50 meters. Second problem is no elevator. Coming from Australia we are each over 20 kg luggage and Dutch stairs are steep. Fortunately one of the staff offered to carry one bag.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangor northern ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We stayed in this hotel at the end of June for the Andre' Rieu concert and it was so convenient, just looks right unto the Vrijthof Square. We had the room with the bath in the middle and our friends were in the one immediately below us. Both rooms were very spacious and extremely clean. The beds were large and very comfortable. We had one breakfast from the buffet and ate dinner on one evening - both meals were very good. For anyone visiting Maastricht for the concert, this is an excellent base,however, because of the stairs to the rooms, it would not be suitable for anyone with walking difficulties. This fact aside, we would have no hesitation in recommending the Britannique.

Room Tip: Rooms 4 and 6 have excellent views of the Vrijthof Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Britannique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannique Hotel

Address: Vrijthof 6, Maastricht 6211 LC, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannique Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, HotelsNL and Venere so you can book your Britannique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britannique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.