We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly small hotel, great room with bath in the middle of the room” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Britannique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Britannique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Britannique Hotel
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   Vrijthof 6, 6211 LC Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 40 Maastricht B&B and Inns
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly small hotel, great room with bath in the middle of the room”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

Very friendly staff, clean spacious room with very comfortable bed and bath in the middle of the room, nr6 is the only room with this feature. Didn't try the breakfast, but the buffet looked ok. We had a great honeymoon weekend here.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    14
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
19
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
netherlands
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Unexpected, nice hotel in cosy brasserie. Nice and clean rooms with caring staff. Located right at the central place 'Vrijthof' in Maastricht. If you would like to eat outside the hotel, opportunities are numerous.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

This hotel has 2 big attractions, one is the view on the Vrijthof (if you have a front side room), the other is the nice rooms. I had the room in the attic which was very cozy and with a bath tub in the middle of the room.

On the other hand it is not a full service hotel. Basically it is a restaurant where they created some rooms on the higher floors. Don't expect room service in the night and the (nice) breakfast could only be taken when the restaurant opened. Unfortunately the promised WiFi did not work.

Hotel is recommended if you want to have a nice room in the middle of Maastricht. But considering the available services the price is a bit on the high side.

Room Tip: The attic room on the front side is very nice but prepare for climbing the stairs with your luggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

Very chic and comfortable room. Huge bathroom. Friendly staff who made us feel welcome. There was, unfortunately, one silverfish in our room. When we wanted to leave before 9 a.m., no one was available to check us out. You have to arrange early check outs. The only staff member (a cleaner) phoned the owner and various staff to find someone who could check us out. She was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatcham UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2011

This very comfortable hotel above the Brasserie of the same name in the heart of this attractive City was a great location for a business visit to the University and would be excellent for a short City Break. Wifi was everywhere available. Breakfasts were plentiful and good quality as was the evening meal we enjoyed on arrival. Our room was comfortable and quiet with the bed perhaps the best we have ever encountered! The only downside is the climb to the higher rooms in these tall historic buildings with no space to install lifts. Amazingly the taxi driver at the station had never heard of the hotel!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Our room was absolutely beautiful with the biggest, most comfortable bed we have ever slept in. The only downside to this was that there was an air-conditioning duct right outside our window which was quite noisy.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and the service was excellent in the outside bistro. We didn't have the breakfast there because we thought that, at €13.50 each, it was rather expensive. Instead we bought the most delicious croissants from the little supermarket down the road and had those in our room with the complimentary tea/coffee which was there.

Maastricht itself was quite a disappointment as there doesn't seem to be much to do. We therefore decided to visit Aachen (about 30 minutes away) and found a Lindt chocolate factory shop on the way which was a bonus!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2011

This hotel isn't actually a hotel. It is a café/restaurant on the most well known square of Maastricht, with upstairs some lovely rooms. The rooms are beautifully decorated, very nice modern design, warm colors, soft boxspring beds, nice bathroom.

The rooms are upstairs, no elevator, and can be quite a climb, but worth it. There is no reception, the waiters in the restaurant will help you to the room. That is pleasantly informal and personal, but any questions you have, means you will have to ask to very busy people.

I forgot to ask for 2 single beds, so we got 1 big quilt. And since we were late (7 pm) they couldn't help us, because the singles are in the office and it is closed. Too bad, we had some separate sheets and all was fine. Same for the Wifi, I didn't dare to ask the busy waiters with more questions.

But we enjoyed the personal touch of the staff, the beautifull room and the location very much. In the morning there is an extensive breakfast in the Jugenstil restaurant downstairs.

Absolutely to recommend!

Room Tip: If you want single beds, ask in advance.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Britannique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Britannique Hotel

Address: Vrijthof 6, 6211 LC Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Britannique Hotel 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsNL and Venere so you can book your Britannique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Britannique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;