We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Save me from trendy stupidly designed hotels like this one” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Townhouse Hotel Maastricht

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Townhouse Hotel Maastricht to your Saves list
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St. Maartenslaan 5, 6221 AV Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Paris
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Save me from trendy stupidly designed hotels like this one”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2010

I'm all for stylish boutique hotels, but this one forgot the essence of what a hotel should be like. I stayed in a room with direct access from the stairwell(ie noisy, but that's unimportant next to the rest). No closet, nor shelves, just a few hangers on the wall. No place to put your luggage except on the floor. No shower door so the bathroom floor is inundated, a wooden shelf in the bathroom that is too narrow to allow you to place your toilet kit. A shower system where you have to spend 10 minutes figuring how to use it. Never did understand how to go from the shower head to the hand held spray. No phone in the room so you can't even reach the reception!!!! A stupid aluminum bed where the foot of the bed blocked the view of the TV on the wall and an aluminum headboard bar prevented you from sitting up in bed to read. No bedside tables, just two chairs stacked with old Dutch books, No extra pillow. When I asked at the reception for one, I was told I had to wait 1/2 hour for his replacement so he could go look for one. A view onto a brick wall, Breakfast 17 euros....parking 23 euros.....oh, and if you are looking for the safe, it's hidden under the bed...not very convenient access.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownhouseHotel, Sales Department at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, November 15, 2010
Dear guest,

Thank you for your honesty. The closets we did not provide in every room because most of the people do not use them. We are very sorry we were not more clear about this. Nowadays it is an extra option in the confirmation. Thank you for the tips!

Kind regards,

Team Townhouse Designhotel Maastricht
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

822 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    366
    94
    24
    8
See reviews for
65
473
37
102
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
troon, ayrshire
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2010

This hotel is really handy for the railway station.Staff are very helpful.Rooms very nice. I felt like i was in Ikea !! Breakfast very good with a mish of plates and cups.
The hotel is near the river , and the wonderful shops and pubs.
Im hoping to go back at the end of the month Its about a good 20 mins walk to the University.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownhouseHotel, Sales Department at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, November 15, 2010
Dear guest,

Thank you for your kinds words about Townhouse and Maastricht, great!

Kind regards,

Team Townhouse Designhotel Maastricht
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2009

This hotel is brand new, though part of a collection of other hotels in the same street. Overall it was a very pleasant stay. While it was not cheap (at 82 euros for one person), the hotel offers a good price/quality ratio compared to other places in Maastricht. The rooms are OK in size with an excellent bed and have a good modern bathroom. In this type of hotel, one may expect a minibar and one may take issue with the fact that there was not a decent cupboard. The tv was furthermore located at a wrong place, which made viewing from the bed not possible.

The same (small) issues can be said about the rest of the hotel. When I checked in/out, there were not enough staff members at the counter, leading to inconvenient waits. Furthermore the breakfast was good but not spectacular. In my price it was included, but otherwise considering going elsewhere for breakfast makes a lot of sense. Finally, despite the whole range of magazines (i.e. Dutch car and house magazines), there were no international newspapers at breakfast nor international magazines (e.g. newsweek, economist, etc.). They should probably consider spending some money on that.

So overall, although not spectacular, it is a good place to stay in Maastricht. Some minor issues could have been better.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TownhouseHotel, manager at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, November 20, 2009
Dear b12346,

First of all, I would like to thank you for taking the time to write about our hotel. We are always glad to hear from our guests. Both positive and negative comments enable us to align our services better with the wishes of our guests.

Thanks for your feedback, and advise. We love to see you next time in our hotel.

kind regards, Anke
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Townhouse Hotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel Maastricht

Address: St. Maartenslaan 5, 6221 AV Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Townhouse Hotel Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Townhouse Designhotel is a unique hotel in Maastricht. You are our guest and not just an overnight visitor. We offer authentic hospitality and southern local coziness, decorated in a modern style. Winner of the IMMENS CSR award 2014! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Townhouse Hotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.