We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel...great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Townhouse Hotel Maastricht

Save Saved
You added Townhouse Hotel Maastricht to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St. Maartenslaan 5, Maastricht 6221 AV, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 37 hotels in Maastricht
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice hotel...great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Stayed here with my 2 daughters for one night. Big advtage is it is very close to the train station, but you don't hear the trains. No need to shlep your bag through the city. It is 2 minutes to the main street and 5-7 minutes to the absolute center. The hotel was clean, had charm (soup when you check-in), friendly service. The only negative thing I can comment on is the breakfast 15 Euro per person was just too much. We went around the corner to a great little bakery/cafe and had a super breakfast for half that price.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamLaBergereGroup, Reservations at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Hi!


Nice review, thank you very much for this! Good to read that you had a great stay in Maastricht, we will show you more next time...!

What a pity that the breakfast was not what you expected. We have the perfect healthy bread, chicken, eggs (scrambled as well) cheese and local apple juice and marmalade, fruit and even the meatloaf is from a local partner. Please tell us what you've missed? Is it a different kind of cereal? I am really looking forward to your advice!

Homemade soup is ready, do we see you next time with us? Thanks again, we really appreciate it.


Kind regards,
Jozet Ringens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    282
    324
    87
    24
    8
See reviews for
57
408
30
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Positive: Although the hotel is next to the central train station, we didn't hear much noise in our bed room, so we were happily surprised about this. Breakfast was good with quite some choices. Staff was gentle and smiling. Negative: Bedroom was very basic, too basic for the price you pay. Further there was not much design for us to discover in the hotel and our room. Maybe we missed something? The room was equipped with a nice Hastens bed but not having even a cloth closet (after mentioning this to the reception, we've been told that there were rooms with and without closet), no desk, no fridge/mini bar. Toilet was very small, with some accessories (e.g. soap holder) falling apart and with the access door just next to the bed, not giving any privacy. We paid for parking the car at the hotel and when driving along the central train station we discovered a P + R. So that might have been interesting too to know for parking ('also' not being told at reception). As conclusion, our expectations were definitively not met for the price paid.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamLaBergereGroup, Reservations at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, January 14, 2014
Dear sir / madam,


First of all, thank you for sharing. I am really sorry to hear that your stay was not entirely what you expected.
Great that you take the time to share your experiences. Thank you very much for the feedback, we can do something with it!

Closets are available on request, often they are not used and they are very dusty. That is why we choose for this option. Our typical ‘Maastrichts’ hotel combines design and modern elements with a vintage style. The best-selling chairs from Vitra, new Artifort design, lamps from Floss and Artemide and old ‘Maastricht’ porcelain.

We ask you to contact us, the manager would love to hear from you, so we can clarify this.


Kind regards,
Jozet Ringens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glanamman
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

Ultra modern, clean, and well located. Staff were excellent and very friendly. Food was not so great but plenty of places to eat located nearby. Unsure if I would recommend this hotel for holiday visit but was great for a business trip.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a fabulous view of the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamLaBergereGroup, Reservations at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear LadyBelinda,

Thank you for this review and sharing your experiences with us. Sorry to hear that you were not enthusiastic about the breakfast. Did you miss something? Please do not hesitate to call and tell us, we would love to hear from you. We work with great local suppliers, high level products and some of the breakfast products are local and maybe not completely continental. We try to offer our guests whatever they want, so please tell us next time.

We are looking forward to your breakfast advice! Thanks again.

Kind regards and Happy Holidays,

Edith Vonken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

We went to this hotel in may and were very disappointed. The hotel was crowdy and it was more or less impossible to access the breakfast buffet and to find a place to seat.
The room was also no satisfactory, we could here flushing every five minutes. We ask to change room and got another one, the only one left, in the building in front of the hotel.
Very disappointing compare to the comments we found on tripadvisor.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamLaBergereGroup, Reservations Department at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear sir / madam,

First of all, thank you for sharing. I am really sorry to hear that your stay was not entirely what you expected.

Great that you take the time to share your experiences. Thank you very much for the feedback, we can do something with it! Sometimes everyone wants to have breakfast at 9.30 am we should have warned you about this. I do apologize sincerely!

We ask you to contact us, the manager would love to hear from you, so we can clarify this.
Thanks again.

Kind regards,
Jozet Ringens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I've stayed I townhouse, great experience, good service, good food, great location....I always stay here. The place is near Maastricht station so very accessible to train and bus route also very close to the city area.. I love this place.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamLaBergereGroup, Reservations Department at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Satish,

Short, powerful and amazing is this review, thank you very much! Nice to read that you had a great stay in Maastricht, we will show you more next time... Have you been to the new Museum at the Vrijthof? Or have you had dinner in "Cafe Sjiek"? The place where you meet the locals.

Homemade soup is ready, do we see you next time with us? Thanks again, we really appreciate it.

Kind regards,
Jozet Ringens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

I stayed in Townhouse Hotel for one night in December 2013, together with my girlfriend. The hotel is located in the city centre, opposite the train station. Perfect location, as you can explore beautiful Maastricht on foot. Tip: if you bring your own car, you can park it at nearby P+R Station Maastricht (12 euros per day; 1 minute walk). Upon arrival we got a cup of soup in the large living room ('huiskamer') where you can relax and can have breakfast. It has some nice design details.
Our (medium) room was clean and quiet and included a rainshower. Breakfast was great with a wide range of choices, including some typical Limburgian food. The breakfast room can be a bit crowded. Nice gimmick: you can rent some goldfishes to stay in your room (we didn't do that).

Room Tip: We stayed in room 303 which has a rainshower and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamLaBergereGroup, Reservations Department at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Hi Roel,

Thank you very much for this nice review! Good to hear that you enjoyed our service and hospitality. We are indeed a design hotel, we work with Floss, Artifort and Hastens for example. We love it and will tell you more about this next time. Have you seen the cups and plates are from Maastricht?

I would love to tell you the story! Relaxing with a cup of soup in the living room, just like home, perfect :) Call us for your next reservation and a goldfish in the room!

Best Regards,
Jozet Ringens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

During our visit to Maastricht we were staying at this hotel. We booked an extra large room but when we got into it, it was on the topfloor, it was a very dark and claustrofobic room with only a small window. So, we asked for another room and could move to a smaller one at the back of the hotel. That room had windows and was much better. I have to say, we paid € 138 for this room and that is really a high price, because the interior is very basic and there was no heating in the bathroom. The bed was pretty good (Hästens) but overall the price was to high for what we got.

Besides we had to pay € 22 for the parking. On the other hand the staff was very friendly and helpful and breakfast was very nice. Also the hotel is very well located, not to far from the city center. Tip: for dinner do go to the nearby restaurant Harry's. Excellent staff, food and ambiance.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamLaBergereGroup, Reservations Department at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Hountsje,

Thank you for sharing your experience and compliments What a pity that you stay was not as expected! Please call us we would love to talk to you about this. You appreciate our team so pleaser do not hesitate to call.

For us your opinion is the most important way to improve our service and product. Call us for your next reservation and your requirements, we are happy to listen to you and help you! Harry's indeed is perfect, we love it as well! Hope to hear from you soon.

Kind regards,
Jozet Ringens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Townhouse Hotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel Maastricht

Address: St. Maartenslaan 5, Maastricht 6221 AV, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Townhouse Hotel Maastricht 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Townhouse Hotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.