We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An hotel like home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Townhouse Hotel Maastricht

Save Saved
You added Townhouse Hotel Maastricht to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St. Maartenslaan 5, Maastricht 6221 AV, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 37 hotels in Maastricht
Lisbon, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“An hotel like home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I have stayed several times already in this (busy) hotel. Although sometimes I heard complaints from colleagues staying in some of the smaller rooms, my experiences with the medium and large rooms - those with a working area - where always excellent, considering I had to stay there 4 or more nights. I always enjoyed the quality of the beds and linens (making me wish I had more time to sleep), the cleanliness and the decoration in the rooms - all different, including some design items mixed with shelfs full of books and huge lamps. Everyday, enjoyed the busy breakfast area, offering a good selection of food for every morning appetite, as well as offering a wonderful working space if we have to stay there a few hours, especially because the free wireless Internet is first grade. All the staff is very friendly, they always greet you as though you are "coming home" and they always do their best to respond to your every need - including an umbrella ready for your city walk on a rainy day... The prices are reasonable and there is a parking facility in front if you have rented a car.

Room Tip: The medium and large rooms, slightly more expensive, are recommended for longer stays and if you nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamLaBergereGroup, Reservations Department at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Joaomartins65,


What a great review, thank you very much for this!
Good that you enjoy our service and hospitality, we love to read you feel at home with us!

Call us for your next reservation and see you next time!


Kind regards,
Jozet Ringens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    282
    324
    87
    24
    8
See reviews for
57
408
30
88
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Beijing, China
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Nice big comfortable room and the same for the bathroom. The design is rather modern and has some character which is nice. The location is in a very quiet street within easy walking distance of everywhere. Good value for money but turned down breakfast as the breakfast room is VERY noisy and it didn't seem good value for money anyway.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TeamLaBergereGroup, Reservations department at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Dear AEAE12,

Nice review! Thank you for sharing your experiences and give us your advice, we really appreciate this. We are looking forward to welcome you again in Maastricht!

Kind regards,
Jozet Ringens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

I really liked the look and feel of the hotel - where else has welcome soup available on arrival? We had a large room with a bathroom (inc bath) and the quirky look continued in the room - a jacket on the wall, old fashioned telephone, funky, sixties classic seat etc. It was a great location for the station but that meant it was quite noisy - possibly a room at the back would be quieter. Our duvet cover had some black scuff type marks which did surprise me as the hotel generally seemed very clean.

Breakfast was pretty good - scrambled egg, bacon and various bakeries, cheese, cold meat etc, fruit and coffee machines turning out decent espresso and cappuccino. Didn't spot the champagne apparently on offer .

The staff were very helpful with suggestions for eating, showing directions and handing out umbrellas while the other guests ranged from übercool business folk to families and couple on holiday.

Room Tip: Get a large room if you want a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, Reservations at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Ihenni,

Wow, what a fantastic review, thank you for this. How fantastic to read that you like our design concept. Thank you also for the tips about the champagne and the duvet cover, we will have at look at this how we can prevent these matters in the future. May we welcome you again in Maastricht?


Kind regards,


Edith Vonken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Clean comfortable slightly designer hotel , eg with some character but still practical. Clean ,comfortable , good quiet yet central location. air con a boon in summer, free WiFi.
Helpful staff.
Bikes for hire and covered parking..Good value.
Haven't tried food , but have stayed twice ..and will stay again

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, Reservations at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Martinr56,



Thank you for this perfect review! Amazing to read about your comfortable stay with us. We love to be helpful so call us for your next stay. We are looking forward to welcome you again.



Kind regards,



Edith Vonken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The hotel was easy to find with plenty of on street parking to leave the car temporarily (think it was 1 euro for 20 mins or so) while we checked in. We moved the car to the hotel car park which was 15 Euro (weekday rate), and located in a building opposite.

The check in staff were very friendly and welcoming, offering complimentary soup and ice cream. The hotel has a fashionably and quirky interior style, with designer chairs and unusual pieces. Very comfortable place to stay and far removed from the sterile chain hotels. The room was a great size and the spotless as was the bathroom.

Great location for exploring Maastricht, and I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, Reservations at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Jan2926,



Great review! Thank you for sharing your experiences with us, we really appreciate this. We are looking forward to see you again in Maastricht.



Kind regards,



Edith Vonken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoofddorp, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Good location: about 5 mins (or less) walk from/to Maastricht station. We stayed at the Townhouse for a weekend and were welcomed with the soup of the day.
Beware: if you come by car it costs 22,50 euros per day for parking at the hotel premises. Trendy design hotel with a concept of a mix of minimalism and vintage. Maps of the city are provided at the reception and there are a few drink machines and other goodies you can buy at the reception. 14,50 euros for the buffet breakfast and you also get a smoothie on the house whilst you can browse various magazines or read the morning newspapers.

We got a nice medium-sized room on the 3rd floor with a comfortable bed but the pillows were too hard. Everything else was fine except for the soap containers' cover (for both the shower and sink) which kept coming off. I really liked the added touch of the radio in the bathroom. I was glad to have my own shower cap as none was provided. It was also very good of the house cleaning to leave us a bag of clean towels at the door when we put our "do not disturb" sign (in a shape of a little bird).
Unfortunately, there is no hotel book in the bedroom with information about the hotel and surrounding so we didn't know what the official time was for checking out but we flagged it to the staff the following day.

We had a pleasant stay at the Townhouse and would not mind going back on another visit to Maastricht.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, Reservations Department at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Agnes,

Thank you for an honest and complete review!
Great compliments though I am really sorry to read about the dispensor, this is not our standard! Please call us when you come back, we will provide a shower cap and a surprise! We love to be helpful and give you any information you need at the reception.
We are looking forward to see you again, you can call us for your next stay!

Kind regards,
Jozet Ringens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Smallest room I have ever been in. I had booked a "Deluxe" room, but that translated into a medium
room. Im afraid to actually have a look at a small room. Little bit of space left on all side of
the bed, and that filled the whole room. After a shower the room would be so hot and wet, because its so small.
Bathroom soap broke down as soon as you touched it. No place to hang up your towels so they would actually dry.
Not much towels either and you already lost one to dry the floor as after a shower the whole bathroom floor was soaked.
Bathroom soap broke down as soon as you touched it.
There were no instructions about the hotel and all available in the room for instructions on environmental control,
so playing around with this took two days to make sure you were not freezing or boiling in the room.
The craziest thing was that is no actual privacy to seperate the room with the bathroom, so everything
you do on the toilet is on show for the other person. Imagine being on a romantic weekend away. You dont want
to share everything if you know what I mean.
The people behind the reception didnt care about anything else then getting you away from their desk asap,
but when you walk out of the hotel at least they wish you a nice evening.

For 150 euro a night, you expect a lot more. Its the most I have ever had to pay for a hotel room a night
and it was the worst experience I ever had. Even in 40 euro rooms, I at least had a hair dryer, moisturiser a shower cap
and at least some space to turn myself around in the room.

Cant believe they got an award. They must have not seen this room when they stayed over there.

Room Tip: Book a room in another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, Reservations at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear LeslieBelfast,

We are very sorry to hear that your stay was not according to your wishes. However we would like to thank you for your honest review and sharing your experiences with us.

May we ask you to contact us at management@townhousehotels.nl, so that we can discuss this matter, clarify things and find a possible solution.

Thank you and kind regards,

Edith Vonken
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Townhouse Hotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel Maastricht

Address: St. Maartenslaan 5, Maastricht 6221 AV, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Townhouse Hotel Maastricht 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Townhouse Hotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.