We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, very modern and unusual hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Townhouse Hotel Maastricht

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Townhouse Hotel Maastricht to your Saves list
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St. Maartenslaan 5, 6221 AV Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Ireland
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Great value, very modern and unusual hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This hotel was really lovely and very good value. We took a bus from the airport to the station; the bus dropped us across the road from the hotel (Bus Number 59, €4, every 30 minutes). We were offered complimentary soup or an ice lolly on arrival. Our room was a 'Large' with a balcony on the 3rd floor (322) and it was quite modern and clean. The air conditioning was brilliant and really quiet. The only problem was that our double bed was two singles pushed together which was a bit annoying but the receptionist checked and said that they do not have any medium or large rooms with one mattress. This receptionist was really friendly and very obliging – even carrying a heavy leather chair into our room for me. We didn't eat breakfast here as it cost €14.50 per person and this seemed too expensive besides there are lots of cafes nearby. The Townhouse is situated two minutes walk from the station but in a very quiet area which felt very safe. There are plenty of bars and restaurants within 5 minutes walk of the hotel and it is a pleasant 10-15 minute walk to the main square across the river. The hotel has several bikes available to hire but they were not available the days we wanted to use them but they directed us to a huge bike hire shop by the station which was even cheaper (€10 per day, €100 deposit). They had a good gym downstairs, a bar, plenty of comfortable seating and lots of board games on the ground floor. I would highly recommend this hotel to anybody and would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: 322 is a great room with a balcony looking onto a very quiet street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, Reservations at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Jenny,


Thank you for sharing your compliments and advice!

It's good to read your honest experience. If you book including breakfast it is cheaper and you enjoy the buffet with local products. Call us next time for your reservation and we will offer it to you.

Hope to see you soon.


Kind regards,
Jozet Ringens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

776 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    346
    86
    21
    8
See reviews for
64
445
35
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
hudson valley, ny
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

I really like Townhouse Hotel! Its in a good location... near the train station (where you can rent bikes) and bus line, in a neighborhood scatted with interesting restaurants and shops for browsing, away from touristy areas. The hotel itself... the staff very helpful and accommodating, the rooms, clean, quiet and comfortable. The only regret is that I never tried the breakfast which I heard was wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, Reservations at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Hulal,


Great! Thank you very much for your nice review.

We have bikes as well for the next visit and a lovely healthy and tasty breakfast with local and fresh products. See you in Maastricht for coffee during breakfast?


Kind regards,
Jozet Ringens
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013 via mobile

My spouse and I stayed here for the first time recently and very much liked the hotel itself. Staff is super-friendly and helpful, rooms are a bit spartan but clean and comfortable, and breakfast was tasty. The location is on the same street as the train station, a bus terminal and a police station, but is still very quiet, especially if you can get a room on the back side. One issue is that the hotel is a 10-15 minute walk from the city center, so be forewarned, if that maters to you. Otherwise, Town House is delightful and we'll stay here next time we're in Maastricht.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, Owner at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Land_Rover00,


Thank you for your great review!

Good to hear that you had a nice stay with us.

We are looking froward to welcome you next time with us in Maastricht, the soup will be ready for you!


Kind regards,
Rino Soeters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Travelled to Maastricht with my mum for the Andre Rieu concert and needed a hotel for 3 nights. Could not have made a better choice! Situated in a lovely part of the city, across the road from the station and so close to lots of smart restaurants and shops. Staff were friendly and welcoming and breakfast which was included in our deal, offered a good choice for all nationalities. Loved the shot glasses with choice of smoothies. Wanted to sample the high tea but we didn't realise you had to book 24 hrs in advance which was disappointing. Beds were super comfy and air conditioning worked well. Loved the "energising" bathroom products and would happily have bought some to take home with me. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Our room backed on to the station and did suffer from traffic noise but didn't detract from our...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, Owner at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear indiaEdinburgh,

Thank you very much for this enthusiastic review.
Fanatastic to hear that your stay was suffcient with us.

We hope that we may welcome you again in the future!

Kind regards,

Rino Soeters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We were going to Maastricht to help our son moving back home as he just finished his studies. We wanted something practical, comfortable, clean, not too fancy, centric and easy to park, with good breakfast, good quality bed, friendly staff, and ... We found all this at the Townhouse hotel.

The design of the room was very nice, really pretty much our taste and style. The shower very spacious and working very well. Airconditioning was also very good, and we appreciated it as yesterday it was really hot outside!

When we arrived from dinner, we stayed at the entrance area. There is a very nice lounge are - I had a tee to wire down, and my husband a beer - seating at a couch that made us feel like at home, as the decoraation is such that you can have your own space still seating a common area.

I found the value of the hotel to be good, really worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, Owner at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear MarAle1111,

Wow wath a nice review, thank you this!

Great to hear that you had such a good stay with us, we hope that we may welcome you another time in Maastricht.

Kind regards,

Rino Soeters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Friendly and efficient check-in. We paid for the cheapest room and got a room out the back so it was nice and quiet. Aircon and window opens. Room was good enough size, great king size bed - very comfortable sleep; spacious shower. Room and shower clean. We didn't eat breakfast as many cafes within 5 mins walk. However, there is soup available all day - it was hot so we didn't try it - and tea and coffee for E1.50 or E2.90 with a slice of cake. Also fruit and peanuts on the tables in the reception/lounge/dining area. As it was hot there were cold towels on the reception counter which was great. Short 10 min stroll to main part of town on other side of river. Very close to station which is a blessing if you have heavy luggage. Paid E135 for two nights which is the same we paid for one night elsewhere. Would stay here again. It is an old building - perhaps two buildings together as you have half floors - so floor two is on two levels. No individual toiletries in rooms and no tea/coffee making facilities.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, Owner at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, July 27, 2013
Dear geekgirl_11,


What a great review, thank you very much for this!
Thank you for sharing your personal experience in our hotel with others on this website.

Good to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed our service and hospitality.

We are looking forward to see you again in Maastricht, the soup will be ready for you!


Kind regards,
Rino Soeters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

We just stayed in this fantastic hotel for 4 nights. It is clean modern and quirky. Great bedrooms lovely breakfast which we paid 10 euros a night. The best bit though are the staff very very friendly highly recommend this hotel and city

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, Owner at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear SimonWellsmaldon,


Thank you for this beautiful review!

Great to read that you had a pleasant stay. We think it is important that you as guest feel at home with us in Maastricht.

We hope to see you again!


Kind regards,
Rino Soeters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Townhouse Hotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel Maastricht

Address: St. Maartenslaan 5, 6221 AV Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 38 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Townhouse Hotel Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 69
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Townhouse Designhotel is a unique hotel in Maastricht. You are our guest and not just an overnight visitor. We offer authentic hospitality and southern local coziness, decorated in a modern style. Winner of the IMMENS CSR award 2014! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotel.de and Tingo so you can book your Townhouse Hotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.