We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern and comfortable” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Townhouse Hotel Maastricht

Save Saved
You added Townhouse Hotel Maastricht to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotels.com Booking.com
and 6 more sites!
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St. Maartenslaan 5, Maastricht 6221 AV, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 37 hotels in Maastricht
Vidin, Bulgaria
1 review
“Modern and comfortable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Very nice, modern and clean hotel. The hotel have a modern and extravagant architecture. A very nice place located - near the railway station. The staff is very polite. Soup to welcome is a very good idea. The rooms are cozy and nice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, Manager at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Dear Karla D,

What a lovely review, thank you for this! Great to read that your stay was fine.
We hope to see you again in our living room, the soup is from 12am waiting for you!

Kind regards,
Rino Soeters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

671 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    260
    298
    83
    22
    8
See reviews for
52
379
28
80
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico city
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for work and actually my company booked it for me, this is a nice hotel but not if you are in town for work. Rooms are very very small, there is no place to put your luggage or even hang your clothes, no phone so if you need something has to come down to front desk for anything, no iron or iron board so again has to go downstairs to request one that on top you have to bring back to your room on your own. No amenities, so if you did not bring your shampoo, conditioner or body lotion you have to buy it at the authomatic machine... breakfast is poor and all is cold, so if you are a vegan you will have to bring your own soy products; maybe for other kind of travelers would be fine, but it is not nice to have all your clothes on your bed because there is no place to put them, buy your shampoo and run into your luggage during the night.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, Manager at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
Dear adpollo,

Thank you very much for sharing your experiences with us.
We believe that our guests experiences are very heplful to improve our product and our services.

We are very sorry to read that your stay was not as desired. May we ask you to contact the following e-mail address: management@townhousehotels.nl, so we can talk about your experience and find perhaps a possible solution.

Thanks again and we hope to hear from you.

Kind regards,

Rino Soeters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Arriving at the airport, walk directly over the road and hop on the 59 Veolia bus. This is 4 euros per person and will drop you at the main train station. From here, the hotel is literally across the road, about 30 seconds away! There is a cash point at the airport directly outside to the left if you need cash straight away.

Now the hotel:

Check in was very quick and easy, the member of staff introduced herself to us and shook our hands. Very welcoming indeed we thought. There is hot soup at reception bubbling away for you to taste which is a nice touch.

The room we booked was a medium. It was clean, fairly spacious and very minimalistic which I personally prefer. Funky stencilled pictures adorn the walls throughout the room and hotel and the whole place is pretty well kempt. There were however one or 2 dirty marks on the wall in our room, but that can be overlooked. Housekeeping never replaced our dirty glasses and never removed some used packaging in our room that we had returned with, which was a little disappointing as it sat there for a day and a half. No mini bar in the room, and no tea making facilities. Shower hot, powerful and very refreshing.

The location of the hotel is very good. It is situated very close to the airport drop off and is a nice 5-10 minute stroll to the old town over the bridge, past many shops, bars and restaurants. It is situated in a good part of town and we didn’t feel any threat walking at night back the hotel. There is a take away pizza place around the corner and a late night mini-mart if needed.
We didn’t eat in the restaurant or have breakfast at the hotel. We thought the breakfast price was a little pricey considering you can get similar in the town for less. The restaurant area in the hotel is very smart though, with funky touches of furniture and decorative items. They even have 2 SMEG fires to keep you warm – nice touch.

Overall, a great hotel in a very nice City. If we were to return to Maastricht, we would certainly consider staying here again. If you were to book to stay here, I very much doubt you would regret your decision as it is a good standard.

One thing to note though is the extra charges on top of the hotel room price. 4 Euros 75 cents per person per night City Tax/Tourist Tax. A disgrace in my opinion, but it’s not the hotel’s fault, but the City’s itself.

4.4/5 in my honest opinion.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, Manager at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, April 6, 2013
Dear javab29,


Thank you very much for the great feedback about your stay in our hotel! Good to hear that you enjoyed our service and hospitality.
Thanks for giving your advice points, we will take care of these.

We hope we may welcome you again in Maastricht!


Kind regards,

Rino Soeters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

very small rooms but didn't matter as the lounge/eating area was so large and welcoming. An all day soup pot is a lovely idea. Breakfast selection was good and tea and coffee all day. We drove but the station was so close without any noise it would be the ideal way to arrive. A very short walk took you straight to the centre which is lovely. A very prompt and pleasant shuttle service took us too and from the mecc which was our reason for being there

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, Manager at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear parklan_13,

We would like to thank you for your great review!

How nice to hear that you had a good stay with us.

We are hoping that we may welcome you again during TEFAF 2014.

Kind regards,

Rino Soeters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Very warm, inviting, friendly staff and decor. Free soup in lobby plus open space to work, talk, play games. Room was very clean, size was acceptable for Europe (but no closet). Location is great -- 1 block from train station, allowing easy access to MECC for conferences, 5 minute walk to river, 10 minutes to main sites of Maastricht.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, Manager at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Daniel G,

Thank you very much for your great review!

Good to hear that you had a nice stay and we hope we may welcome you again in the future.

Kind regards,

Rino Soeters
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Townhouse hotel; very friendly staff, nice welcome with a free cup of mustard soup, nice room with a very large bathroom with comfy bath and a very comfy bed. Small points of critique:
- No extra pillows and pillow provided was a bit lumpy
- Breakfast is good, but for 15 euros one expects fresh orange juice instead of juice from a box.
But other than that, everything was more than a-ok! We would recommend this hotel to everyone!
Next time in Maastricht, we would definitely consider booking at the Townhouse Design Hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, Manager at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dear Alix d,

Thank you very much for your review.

Great to hear that you had such a nice stay. Your points of advice are also very welcome and we will consider them offcourse.

One again thank you very much and we hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

Team Townhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

It's close to the train station, but not enough to hear the noise of it. Helpful and really friendly staff, nice lobby (comfortable and interesting decoration).The room was large and comfortable, the bathroom also very good. Wifi works well in the room, and is free, no matter how many devices you have. I had some problems with the heater, but overall it's a great place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, Manager at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear Hadassa89,

Very nice that you will share your personal experience in our Designhotel with others.
Great to hear that everything was okay during your stay in Maastricht!
Thanks again and we hope to you you soon!

Kind regards,
Team Townhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Townhouse Hotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel Maastricht

Address: St. Maartenslaan 5, Maastricht 6221 AV, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 37 hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Townhouse Hotel Maastricht 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HostelWorld, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Townhouse Hotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.