We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Townhouse Hotel Maastricht

Save Saved
You added Townhouse Hotel Maastricht to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   St. Maartenslaan 5, 6221 AV Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 38 hotels in Maastricht
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Really nice atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

Lovely hotel for a couple of days in the surprisingly lovely town of maastricht. Nice staff - perfect English spoken. Little touches that make it special like welcome soup. Honesty system for the hotel bar. You tell them what you had and they put it on the room. Rooms were compact but neat and clean with the design touches you would hope to find in a proper modern boutique hotel. Only slight niggle was that the pillows weren't much cop. If I had stayed 2 nights I would have asked for another!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, Manager at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, December 1, 2012
Dear homeclubbing,

Thank you very much for this nice review!

We wild take your advise points cocnerning the pillows in consideration.

We hope that we may welcome you once again in Maastricht!

Kind regards,

team Townhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    297
    335
    85
    21
    8
See reviews for
63
429
34
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Den Haag
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We picked this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews. However, when we looked on the map we were pleased to see that it was within five minutes walk of the railway station, as we its sister hotel across the road, Hip Hotel St Martenslane. Very handy for a brief overnight stay and a late departure the following day, since they also have a large bagage room in the hotel. There is a nice lobby, with various settees, designer chairs, even a hammock or two, and some nice magazines and board games. Please note, there is no bar as such in this hotel - you can help yourself to the soup, and there are some bottles of wine on hand. You have to tell the receptionist what you have drunk. Beer, soft drinks and sweets are available from two vending machines. The rooms had what you needed but weren't exactly luxurious - nice to get a proper bath though when so many just have showers these days. Breakfast was good, with a wide choice, but try and avoid the rush at weekends if you want eggs, sausages, bacon etc all to be there at the same time!!

I have stayed at quite a few of these cheaper 'design' hotels (my favourite is The Hoxton in London -check it out!) and have to agree with what others have said about minor points of improvement for this one :

The towels are oh so small and thin! No chance of saving the earth by reusing them here - one drop of water and they are soaking!
The pillows are not of very good quality, although they were not uncomfotable.
The buyers also skiped on the quality of the bed linen. At The Hoxton in London, you get Frette bedlinen for the same price of room, so management please note that it can be done!

That said, I would definitely stay here again next time that I come to Maastricht as it is so handy for the station and there are loads of restaurants within ten to fifteen minutes walk. There is a really good specialist beer cafe about three minutes walk away, and the Pathe cinema is also literally around the corner. For any non Dutch readers, please note that the majority of movies in the Netherlands are shown in the original language with Dutch subtitles so most films will be in English.

Room Tip: We had a large double room with bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, Manager at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, November 24, 2012
Dear nettyporthole,

Thank you very much for your nice review!

We are very happy to hear that you had a good stay in our hotel!
Thank you very much for your advice points, we are going to discuss these.

We hope we may welcome you again in our hotel in the near future!

Kind regards,
Team Hip Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We chose this B&B based on TripAdvisor reviews. From the moment we entered until the last friendly, genuine "goodbye and thanks for staying with us", we were overwhelmed by the staff's friendly and warm approach. The room was more than spacious enough for one night, big bathroom and rainshower included. After spending a splendid night, breakfast was a treat, and it was great to take it in the company of many other guests. Overall, we certainly will go back whenever we're staying the night in the Maastricht area, but I hope that parking facilities can be arranged, as I learned the hard way that the Maastricht parking attendants are both punctual and strict. Other than that, an excellent stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, Manager at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Ralph170174,

Thank you very much for your nice review!

We are very happy to hear that you had a nice stay in our hotel!

We hope we may welcome you in the near future!

Kind regards,
Team Townhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

o Uncluttered rooms, pared down to good-quality bare essentials
o Excellent breakfast, far better than in many multi-starred establishments I have been in
o Large, generous, comfortable lounge space if you don't feel like being on your own with the telly in your spartan room
o Nice homely touches: free home-made soup, good bread and home-made cakes and pastries, mix-and-match crockery bought in flea markets
o Great value! Would like to see these Townhouses rolled out elsewhere in Europe
o But... time to sort out the towels: I got one that was almost transparent. And the 'duvet' and pillows were lumpy. There are really good, cheap ones available now thanks to hi-tech fibres, so time to go shopping for some!
o Still, would be v happy to stay in another one of these. Well done!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, Manager at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear evabxl,

Thank you very much for your nice review!

Good to hear that you had a pleasant stay in our hotel!
We would like to thank you also for your points of advice, we will discuss these.

We hope we may welcome you in our hotel again in the near future!

Kind regards,
Team Townhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We chose the hotel for price, location, and positive reviews. I was travelling with my 16 year old daughter and we both appreciated the lovely reception area with Hammock swinging enticingly.
We were offered free pumpkin soup on arrival which was a nice touch. Our room was small and had a view of the railway tracks but it was very comfortable and despite proximity to a road and the station I had a very good nights sleep and it was quiet.
Staff were young, friendly and numerous, very obliging when asked about directions into town etc. THe town centre is only about 12 mins away but the station is just a short walk which was good as we had bags to carry and wheel. We also appreciated being able to leave luggage most of the day when we had checked out in the morning.
Breakast is a vast assorted buffet with good quality and tasty food, loads of choice and surprisingly for the Netherlands had cereals, bacon, scrambled egg and mushrooms on offer in addition to the usual cold meats, pastries, many breads, fruit and so on .
We only stayed one night but I would definitely return if I go back to Maastricht.

Room Tip: See if the rooms away from the road are any larger or have a better view but I was not troubled by t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, Manager at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Valkez,

Thank your very much for your great review!

We are very happy to hear that you had such a good stay in our hotel!
We hope we may welcome you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
Team Townhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great hotel, good service, good breakfast with champagne is trully luxurious.! You can even rent an aquarium! The townhouse located in the
Only the rooms next to the trainstation and people walking by can keep you from sleeping
well.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, Manager at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Thetraveller1971,


Thank you very mich for your nice review!

Great to hear that you had a nice stay in our hotel.
We hope we see you again in the near future!

Kind regards,
Team Townhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We had a great 3 night stay at this hotel and cant come up with any negatives. Great base to discover the city. Lovely breakfast buffet. No real lunch or dinner available, but plenty of good options in the neighbourhood. Staff are knowledgeable and friendly. Fun atmosphere (do you want to rent a goldfish, you can rent one during your stay)
10/10 !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HipHotelMartenslane, Manager at Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Dear Fvdp02,

Thank you for this beautiful review!

We are very heppy to hear that you had such a nice stay in our hotel.
We hope we may welcome you in the near future!

Kind regards,
Team Townhouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Townhouse Hotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Townhouse Hotel Maastricht

Address: St. Maartenslaan 5, 6221 AV Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Townhouse Hotel Maastricht 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Townhouse Designhotel is a unique hotel in Maastricht. You are our guest and not just an overnight visitor. We offer authentic hospitality and southern local coziness, decorated in a modern style. Winner of the IMMENS CSR award 2014! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotel.de and Venere so you can book your Townhouse Hotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Townhouse Hotel Maastricht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.