We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Intimate hotel for a family with a great location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Holla

Save Saved
You added Hotel Holla to your Saves list
Hotel Holla
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Holla
Boschstraat 104-106, 6211 AZ Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 40 Maastricht B&B and Inns
Altanta
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Intimate hotel for a family with a great location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012 via mobile

We had a family room in the attic which was clean, spacious and a great value (no elevator, so it also surficed as our work-out). Location is great; we walked the entire old city and ended up right back at our door. The staff was super nice and helpful, with excellent English. To note, you can't drive up to it, the street is restricted to buses, so we had to explore some side streets to find a place to unload. The is inexpensive parking 3 blocks away (called Sphinx).

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    11
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
1
8
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kaiserslautern, Germany
Top Contributor
430 reviews 430 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
224 helpful votes 224 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

We spent New Year's Eve in Maastricht (nice place for New Years!) a couple weeks ago. The location of Hotel Holla is great being only about 150 meters from the city's stadthuis and just a few more minutes to the pedestrian zone. We were in room 16 on the top floor with a nice view of the Stadthuis. The room size was smallish but fine with only one window. The real drawbacks were: it's winter but we had to keep the window open most of the time since the building's radiator pipes (at least serving half the building) ran upwards into and through our room's radiator. It was just too, too warm in the room. The bathroom was small (that's okay) but nice so clean or refurbished. The shower had some mold at the bottom (not terrible) and the shower curtain was also kinda dirty and should have been replaced. The shower was small but adequate. The carpet was old and really should be replaced but it wasn't terrible.

On the plus side, the owners are very friendly, jovial, and helpful with information and directions. Breakfast was fantastic with some of the absolutely best bread we've eaten! The owners were kind enough to sell us a couple loaves of this bread to take home since it's not sold at any of the local bakeries. I have to agree with a previous poster that the "juice" at breakfast is a joke. The OJ was sorta Tang-like and not drinkable at all. But the self-serve capuccino machine, in my opinion, made up for the lack of proper OJ. The food assortment was great.

While there are lots of stairs (and no elevator), this is an inconvenience but not a show-stopper. This is Europe where many places just don't have elevators. An elevator would be nice but won't stop me from staying here or recommending this hotel.

I'll give Holla another try but will certainly request NOT room 16, and a room without the radiator pipes heating the entire room up.

Room Tip: Depends. If you want a view of the Stadthuis and market square, request a street-facing view. Ther...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

My room was on the 4th floor without lift.

Basic rooms with all necessary facilities, nothing more.
Matrasses are too soft and no wifi available in room.

Breakfast was in my rate included. Again, basic but good.
Coffee and 'fruit' juice are a joke.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bunker Hill
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Our stay was great here. At first, we were a little put off by the age of the building and the fact we had to climb stairs to our room. However, we discovered our room to be one of the quietest in the hotel and the stairs were no worse than any other we found all over Europe. We are American travelers and when we walked in the door we expected a fast elevator inside a "cookie cutter" style hotel like the chain type found all over the USA. This hotel is unique and has charm. The employees were wonderful as were the owners. The location is right at the square. Here is a true story: My German cousin came to pick my wife and I up at the hotel. He got confused and could not find the way into the Square area. We were anxiously waiting on him when he phoned us. Esther Holla, saw our distress and asked how she could help. We explained and she left the front desk, walked 6 blocks with me to where my cousin was, and guided him back to our hotel! We will never stay anywhere else when we visit Maastricht.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet one if it is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We came to Maastricht to attend a wedding. On a pretty tight budget but not wanting hostel dorm rooms or accomodation way out of town, we were really please to get a very reasonably priced hotel in such a central location. Warning- breakfast and "city tax" are extras to factor in...
The room itself was basic- right up in the eaves of the hotel it became very stuffy at night, but having the window open made it very noisy, being located on a central bar street. We also had to share a TINY bathroom with other guests- not too much of an issue as they were part of the same wedding party.
The breakfast was really good- proper continental style buffet with meats, cheeses and breads and nice coffee, eaten in the stylish cafe/restaurant. the staff were also really friendly and helpful- they leant me a hairdryer and provided maps and advice on how to get to the wedding venue. All in all, I've stayed in many better places, but for the price in such a central location it would be difficult to beat.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

We had not planned on making a stop in Maastricht but found ourselves there... and I'm so glad we did! This charming little city was such a pleasant surprise, and Hotel Holla was a gem located right in the heart of it. We got a great deal on a quad room for the four of us with plenty of space for us and all our stuff. It was simple, but it had everything we needed. We also had a delicious continental breakfast in the morning. But the best part of the experience was the time we spent talking with the couple who owns the hotel. They were so kind to us and gave us great directions and tips for the rest of our trip. Maastricht now has a special place in my heart, and part of that is due to our stay in Hotel Holla.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

Hotel Holla in Maastricht was one of the highlights of our trip. Myself and three other girlfriends travelled all over Europe and ended up in Maastricht one night. It turned out to be our favorite city along the way and favorite hotel. Just the ambience when you step into the hotel is hip but comfortable. They have a quaint little restaurant called Cachet with amazing breakfast and coffee. The owners are so genuine and inviting. They gave us tips for what to see in Maastricht as well as in Belgium and Luxembourg. We even bought some friendship bracelets that their dear children had made and were selling. I wish we could have had more than one night here. I definitely look forward to the day when I can come back and stay longer. Don't look anywhere else. Hotel Holla is the place to stay in Maastricht!

Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Holla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holla

Address: Boschstraat 104-106, 6211 AZ Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Holla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Holla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.