We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, average rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Holla

Hotel Holla
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel Holla to your Saves list
Hotel Holla
Boschstraat 104-106, 6211 AZ Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #33 of 40 Maastricht B&B and Inns
The Hague
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location, average rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011

My room was on the 4th floor without lift.

Basic rooms with all necessary facilities, nothing more.
Matrasses are too soft and no wifi available in room.

Breakfast was in my rate included. Again, basic but good.
Coffee and 'fruit' juice are a joke.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    12
    8
    3
    4
See reviews for
2
10
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bunker Hill
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Our stay was great here. At first, we were a little put off by the age of the building and the fact we had to climb stairs to our room. However, we discovered our room to be one of the quietest in the hotel and the stairs were no worse than any other we found all over Europe. We are American travelers and when we walked in the door we expected a fast elevator inside a "cookie cutter" style hotel like the chain type found all over the USA. This hotel is unique and has charm. The employees were wonderful as were the owners. The location is right at the square. Here is a true story: My German cousin came to pick my wife and I up at the hotel. He got confused and could not find the way into the Square area. We were anxiously waiting on him when he phoned us. Esther Holla, saw our distress and asked how she could help. We explained and she left the front desk, walked 6 blocks with me to where my cousin was, and guided him back to our hotel! We will never stay anywhere else when we visit Maastricht.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet one if it is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2011

We came to Maastricht to attend a wedding. On a pretty tight budget but not wanting hostel dorm rooms or accomodation way out of town, we were really please to get a very reasonably priced hotel in such a central location. Warning- breakfast and "city tax" are extras to factor in...
The room itself was basic- right up in the eaves of the hotel it became very stuffy at night, but having the window open made it very noisy, being located on a central bar street. We also had to share a TINY bathroom with other guests- not too much of an issue as they were part of the same wedding party.
The breakfast was really good- proper continental style buffet with meats, cheeses and breads and nice coffee, eaten in the stylish cafe/restaurant. the staff were also really friendly and helpful- they leant me a hairdryer and provided maps and advice on how to get to the wedding venue. All in all, I've stayed in many better places, but for the price in such a central location it would be difficult to beat.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2011

We had not planned on making a stop in Maastricht but found ourselves there... and I'm so glad we did! This charming little city was such a pleasant surprise, and Hotel Holla was a gem located right in the heart of it. We got a great deal on a quad room for the four of us with plenty of space for us and all our stuff. It was simple, but it had everything we needed. We also had a delicious continental breakfast in the morning. But the best part of the experience was the time we spent talking with the couple who owns the hotel. They were so kind to us and gave us great directions and tips for the rest of our trip. Maastricht now has a special place in my heart, and part of that is due to our stay in Hotel Holla.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2011

Hotel Holla in Maastricht was one of the highlights of our trip. Myself and three other girlfriends travelled all over Europe and ended up in Maastricht one night. It turned out to be our favorite city along the way and favorite hotel. Just the ambience when you step into the hotel is hip but comfortable. They have a quaint little restaurant called Cachet with amazing breakfast and coffee. The owners are so genuine and inviting. They gave us tips for what to see in Maastricht as well as in Belgium and Luxembourg. We even bought some friendship bracelets that their dear children had made and were selling. I wish we could have had more than one night here. I definitely look forward to the day when I can come back and stay longer. Don't look anywhere else. Hotel Holla is the place to stay in Maastricht!

Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

We stayed for two nights att his Hotel and it was lovely. Rooms were a bit small but clean, friendly service. Good breakfast and helpful staff at the desk. Price was good for us and we would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2010

Hotel Holla was a nice place to stay for our two nights in Maastricht. Our room at the back of the hotel was comfortable enough, with a wall dividing the smallish sleeping area from the shower and bath and a closet area. The accommodations were nice, if not outstanding.

The service at Holla, however, was exceptional (and delivered with great deadpan humor!). We were there on a weekend, and our first night of sleep was disrupted a little by some shouting at a bar out on the square. The next morning, we asked if they had a fan we might use---partly to help circulate some air, and partly to create some white noise to drown out the bar patrons down the street. While the manager made it seem as if she wasn't sure they'd be able to find a fan, one was waiting for us when we got back to the room in the afternoon. She also was willing to change a large euro bill for us---something we didn't expect and were very grateful for.

There's a restaurant (Cachet) on site, which was a convenient spot to grab lunch (great tostis!) when we first arrived. The breakfast buffet was set up in the restaurant space and featured the usual: bread, sprinkles, cold cuts and assorted cheeses, and some granola, in addition to juice, tea, and coffee. Breakfast was good, but the machine-made coffee was a little bit of a letdown after we had excellent human-made coffee at lunch the day before. Still, the assorted breads were good and fresh, and there was a nice variety of options for anyone.

The Holla is adjacent to one of the main squares in Maastricht, so it's close to other dining and shopping attractions. It's a very good hotel---and I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Holla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Holla

Address: Boschstraat 104-106, 6211 AZ Maastricht, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Holla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Holla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.