We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant hotel on an excellent location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Derlon Hotel Maastricht

Save Saved
You added Derlon Hotel Maastricht to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Derlon Hotel Maastricht
Onze Lieve Vrouweplein 6 | Onze Lieve Vrouweplein 6, Maastricht 6211HD, The Netherlands   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 37 hotels in Maastricht
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“A pleasant hotel on an excellent location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

A pleasant hotel. Nice rooms .Excellent location in the center of Maastricht . Very close to nice shoppingstreets ,restaurants etc Good food ; we enjoyed very much the breakfast and good service
We also liked the bar

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    25
    45
    29
    7
    4
See reviews for
10
51
4
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Essex, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

A lovely hotel, right in the centre on a lovely little square next to a beautiful church. Our room faced the square which was very pretty as the Xmas lights were still up. The room was perfectly clean with all the little touches you would expect. The staff were helpful and spoke very good English. The breakfast was a buffet but there was nothing you could have wanted that wasn't there, from hot food to slices of ham and cheese, different breads, cereals, pastries, champagne and strawberries! The restaurant was on the lower ground floor where you can see the Roman ruins. The hotel was central and it was very easy to walk to various parts of the town including down to the river where we took a very nice boat trip to St. Pietersberg Hill. There is a lovely restaurant at the top of the hill which you should definitely visit. Our stay was too short and I would definitely go back again.

Room Tip: We were in 103 which looks out onto the Square and was opposite the little restaurants. We used two...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Nice hotel conveniently located on a beautiful small square in town centre. Standard rooms and interesting breakfast room located on roman ruins though can also have breakfast in cafe on other side of square, which is very nice and cheaper.
The only lift was often busy or not working properly so we often took the stairs, which was fine as we were on the second floor. Some people at reception were more efficient than others but everyone was on the whole very pleasant. Would recommend it to families who want to have a clean and decent hotel in town centre. Contrary to other reviews our bathroom was totally fine and with a non-see through bandwith - it could be that management took note of previous reviews! My whole rating experience was above-average but not very good - however as the 'good' option only unfortunately doesnt exist on tripadvisor, I chose one notch higher.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Great location. Very close to the shops.

Room was rather small. Was not too impressed with the staff. Was at the front desk ( or should I say side desk) for over five minutes before being acknowledged by the front desk staff who was on the phone.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

right in the heart of Maastricht, parking just a block away, friendly staff and shops and terraces around. What would you desire more? Well we for exaple would have loved a little bit more spectacular room. All very standard, rooms are not very well lit, just mediocre.
We were a little bit dissapointed, but on the other hand we just spent some hours in the hotel, the city called!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stamford, ct
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We have stayed here before, and checked Trip Advisor reviews prior to booking again to make sure that the property has been maintained. I read one recent review saying that the hotel was for "voyeurs", simply because they have frosted glass doors on the bathrooms in the rooms, ostensibly to make the room feel larger--but how wrong that person was to fixate on this very minor attribute. Privacy and quiet as well as service are paramount at this lovely boutique hotel on a wonderful square in the heart of this gem of a city. There are fascinating Roman ruins in the basement, and everyone associated with the hotel aims to please. Before we knew it, our bags were scooped up from our car and brought to the room, with no one standing around waiting for a tip. Every time we came to the lobby/bar area, we were offered assistance, maps, directions, recommendations for restaurants, and anything else we needed. There is water, cookies and candies available in the lobby for the taking, and last, but not least, the rubber duckies in the bathrooms are incredibly adorable. The only slightly negative is that the elevator is very small, and not swift, but everything fit, nonetheless. I can't wait to return to Maastricht and the Derlon.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We finally spent a weekend at the Derlon after years longing for a stay at this hotel. As other people have said the location is unbeatable. Other than that it was a complete disappointment. Let me start with the cleaningness: not great. I'm not particularly picky but when you find black hair on top of the toilet seat and in the bathtub you know someone hasn't been doing their job right. There were also splashes of dried up soap on the tub tiles and to top it all off the celiing fan was covered in dust. Not exactly what you expect in a deluxe room!
Also missing in the bathroom are simple amenities such as a bath cap and a magnifying mirror.
Outside the room the hotel looks like it's in need of some deep cleaning. The carpet on the stairs is plain filthy, overall on the walls are black blotches and the floor of the breakfast room was covered in crumbs and dirt. Even though you sit in de midst of beautiful Roman ruins, it is still disturbing to eat while looking at a dirty floor. The breakfast buffet was also not spectacular (cold croissants, terrible scrambled eggs) but that is unfortunately a given in most hotels.
Finally, if you are planning to sleep in on a weekend morning, forget it! Our room faced the front side (looking on the square) and at 7am on saturday morning we were woken up by a
leafblower right under our windows. After the leafblower came the garbage trucks and then more noise from the people setting up the terraces chairs and tables in the square. There was so much noise that we thought we were sleeping next to an airport!
Sorry Derlon, the black duck in the bathrooom doesn't do it, you gotta get your act together.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Derlon Hotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derlon Hotel Maastricht

Address: Onze Lieve Vrouweplein 6 | Onze Lieve Vrouweplein 6, Maastricht 6211HD, The Netherlands
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 37 hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the hart of the historical city center of Maastricht, located on the beautiful cosy square of 'Onze Lieve Vrouwe' we welcome our guests in an ambiance where history is combined with a touch of design. Derlon Hotel Maastricht is the perfect place for people who adore the good things in life. People who can enjoy the culinary and cultural possibilities which Maastricht has to offer, feel at home at the hospitable Derlon. Stay in one of our luxurious 4-star hotel rooms, enjoy a good cup of coffee, dine in our restaurant, host an event in our unique basement 'Piazza Romana' or arrange a meeting at a very special locatie in the Basilica. It is all possible at Derlon Hotel Maastricht! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Derlon Hotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Derlon Hotel Maastricht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.