We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strange place.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Derlon Hotel Maastricht

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Derlon Hotel Maastricht to your Saves list
Derlon Hotel Maastricht
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Onze Lieve Vrouweplein 6, 6211 HD Maastricht, The Netherlands   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Maastricht
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Strange place.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This hotel is superbly placed, being in a wonderful square and truly central. One can walk everywhere. It purports to be a 5* hotel which is pushing it a bit, to my mind.
Our room, No.307, was in the eves with 2 dormer windows. Either you have them shut and have no fresh air, or you have one open and hear the church bells.....every hour, the full number, and a ding on the half hour. Not too bad, and certainly copeable with. But the floor was not particularly clean and neither was the carpet outside the lift.
The bathroom is the weirdest thing. It had an opaque, translucent glass door, right opposite the bed. The door neither fits tight nor has a lock. If you need to go to the loo on the night and put the light on, it will wake people in bed. There was no extending magnifying, make-up mirror, despite the main room being FILLED with mirrors. And although there were lots of towels, they were all of a mean size; certainly not 5* type towels. The sink unit and hair-drier were just cheap. The bumph said we'd get bathrobes, but they were not apparent. When we went to ask we were told that the management had decided to cancel that 'perk' but if we really wanted them, of course we could have them. And 2, fairly small bath robes duly arrived...not plush things by any means.
We sat outside for lunch and felt the food was expensive for what it was and that the whole hotel was odd. The entrance is through the restaurant and you find the reception desk behind a glass wall at the end of the bar. It was not always manned and we certainly had no idea who was a member of staff and who was just sitting having a chat.
It was a shame because the position of the hotel is fantastic, but it's too odd for me to want to stay there again. My husband's line was that it's a hotel designed by young people, who seem to be going for quirkiness rather than use.

Room Tip: TOp floor overlooking the church rooves is not wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    84
    47
    12
    6
See reviews for
21
109
6
42
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
105 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location, clean rooms, fast wifi connection, clean bathroom, quiet rooms. The breakfast was good, wide selection of food.
Check in was quick. They brought ironing board and iron immediately as I asked. Also, helped me to build the running route on the map.
And there is black duck for bathroom - charming!

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The Derlon Hotel is comfortable and cosy. The staff and reception were very friendly with permanent smiles. The rooms are neat and clean and beds are quite comfortable. The bathroom door though is semi-transparent and has no locking facility (not everybody's cup of tea). TV chanels are very limited especially if you only understand English. The breakfast room is cosy with a nice variety of hot and cold meals. The hotel is perfectly located and walking around the beautiful clean streets of Maastricht was like a dream come true with old buildings and cobbled streets. One has a complete sense of security when walking through the streets - any part of the day or night. Would i go back - yes definitely.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heidelberg, Gauteng, South Africa
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

In the heart of Maastricht is the Derlon Hotel. Friendly staff, cosy, intimate......just nice!!!

We walked and walked and walked and enjoyed the scenery of the buildings and came very tired back and enjoyed nice local cold beer at the hotel.

Hope we can return one day!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Is your relationship feeling stale? Have you been thinking about taking it to the next level? Well, Hotel Derlon in Maastricht is the place for you. Obviously designed for couples who like a bit of toilet action, Hotel Derlon offers rooms which have a transparent glass partition between the bedroom and bathroom so you can watch your partner crimp one off. There's nothing like looking your loved one in the eye as they drop the kids off at the pool to set the pulse racing and make sure your romantic break in the beautiful city of Maastricht one to remember.

So, next time you're in town, don't forget to check-in to Hotel Poolon.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Can recommend this hotel to everyone! Excellent location near bars, restaurants and best shops in Maastricht. Parking nearby. Very nice rooms, good beds. Great price value! Excellent breakfast buffet. I liked the check in counter where you can sit comfortably. it feels like a nice living room. little cakes and a drink at reception at all times. We would love to go again to this beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I loved this hotel - the staff, the location in the square and so central and the food. Everything about it is wonderful and I'd go back in a heartbeat. It was clean, I was welcomed by the staff; they assisted with my luggage, answered questions and were just generally the most pleasant staff I'd encountered on my trip. I ended up eating both lunch and dinner at the hotel as the food was so good and it was great to be able sit outside and eat. Highly recommend it. One thing: it's close to church towers and the church bells that are so lovely during the day aren't throughout the night - small price to pay though. Oh, and in the basement, check out the ruins of the ancient town...cool exhibit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Maastricht hotels
0.4 mi away
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
Kruisherenhotel Maastricht
#2 of 39 in Maastricht
4.5 of 5 stars 428 reviews
0.5 mi away
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
Townhouse Hotel Maastricht
#6 of 39 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 957 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Beaumont
Hotel Beaumont
#4 of 39 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht
Crowne Plaza Hotel Maastricht
#18 of 39 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 417 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hampshire - Designhotel Maastricht
0.4 mi away
Hotel de Pauwenhof
Hotel de Pauwenhof
#17 of 39 in Maastricht
4.0 of 5 stars 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Derlon Hotel Maastricht? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Derlon Hotel Maastricht

Address: Onze Lieve Vrouweplein 6, 6211 HD Maastricht, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Maastricht
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 39 Hotels in Maastricht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Derlon Hotel Maastricht 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The roots of the four star Derlon Hotel Maastricht are directly located on the Onze Lieve Vrouweplein. Did you know there was a lot activity on this charming square during the Roman times already? Hotel guests praise the personal service at Derlon, whose name is an homage to the French chef cook Louis Desiré Derlon. The location of the restaurant and hotel is not easy to beat: just around the corner you can find the stylish Stokstraatkwartier where French-looking streets lead you to the exclusive shops and boutiques in the famous Stokstraat. For a tasty lunch or dinner culinary Maastricht lies at your feet. Culinary delights accompanied by a glass of good wine, for example during fine weather on the terrace of Restaurant Derlon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Derlon Hotel Maastricht reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Derlon Hotel Maastricht, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.